We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lobby Bar Rip Off” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Omni Austin Hotel Downtown

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Omni Austin Hotel Downtown to your Saves list
Omni Austin Hotel Downtown
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   700 San Jacinto at 8th Street, Austin, TX 78701   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
12% Off! Book Now & Save!
Ranked #26 of 187 Hotels in Austin
Austin, Texas
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Lobby Bar Rip Off”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012

Fun place, but watch out for being over charged at the lobby bar during the F1 race weekend. Went last night and ordered two glasses of wine and one appetizer. When the bill came I was not given an itemized listing, just a total and a place to add gratuity, which I did (20%). When I asked to see why it was so much $43.00. (Two glasses of wine at 12.00 each and the appetizer was around 9.00) I was told it was because an 18% gratuity was already added to the tab. So it cost me $51.00 total and the waiter got a 40% tip. Again the managements expiation was because it is F1 weekend and with all the out of town visitors from Europe staying at the hotel it was easier for them to have the gratuity added to the bill. I was given a complementary glass for wine because I notice this policy. So beware of your bar bill.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GenMgrAustin, General Manager at Omni Austin Hotel Downtown, responded to this review, November 19, 2012
Thank you for your comments regarding you experience at our bar this weekend. I am sorry for the confusion over the added gratuity. Due to the high number of international visitors we added gratuity to our restaurant and bar bills for the Formula 1 event. It is printed on all of the menus and advises if you have questions to ask for a manager and they would remove the amount. I apologize that your server did not bring this to your attention. I do hope you will come and visit us again on your next trip to Austin and hope the rest of your stay was wonderful.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,381 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    688
    403
    150
    87
    53
See reviews for
180
355
82
512
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (214)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012

We loved our stay here. Convenient location, comfortable accommodations, and a wonderful staff who take a personal interest in your needs and preferences. WE got tour suggestions, restaurant recommendations and friendly conversations.

Room Tip: We loved the concierge floor which had great breakfasts and amazing happy hour buffets.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GenMgrAustin, General Manager at Omni Austin Hotel Downtown, responded to this review, November 19, 2012
Thank you for your kind comments regarding the customer service of our staff. We're pleased to hear you also enjoyed our Club Level amenities. We appreciate your feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

The hotel was clean and quiet, which is very important to me. The hotel is in the perfect location for downtown activities and 6th street. I am with another review, I had trouble finding outlets to plug things into, but not a biggie.

My only complaint is that for a 4 star hotel, there were no services for that 4 star price. I would at least expect coffee in the lobby...that is a standard in the industry these days. There was coffee, but you had to pay for it = Starbucks.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GenMgrAustin, General Manager at Omni Austin Hotel Downtown, responded to this review, November 16, 2012
Thank you for your positive feedback regarding your recent visit. I'm sorry you were unable to locate the additional outlets on the nightstand and desk. We do have a complimentary coffee and tea cart located in our lobby until 7am each morning. We appreciate your feedback and your continued patronage.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nowhere
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012

got on priceline for $150/nite. great central location. rooms clean, relatively updated. impossible to find an outlet, had to unplug a light. relatively quiet. self park is &18/day, but they forgot to charge us....

Room Tip: go high to reduce noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GenMgrAustin, General Manager at Omni Austin Hotel Downtown, responded to this review, November 14, 2012
Thank you for your feedback and patronage. We do have 3 additional outlets located on the nightstands and 3 on the desks in each guestroom.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ernestoc
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012 via mobile

We stayed at the omni last weekend and really enjoyed the hotel and Sunday brunch....great location only a block away fron the action. Rooms are newly refurnished. Lots of space and the food was good. Service was good and front desk very helpful. Parking only 18 for self park per night....with a bid online price was great!

Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GenMgrAustin, General Manager at Omni Austin Hotel Downtown, responded to this review, November 12, 2012
We're happy to hear you enjoyed your stay and in particular, our Sunday brunch. We appreciate your feedback and hope you will return next time you visit Austin.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winston Salem, North Carolina
Top Contributor
91 reviews 91 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
205 helpful votes 205 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012

We stayed at the Omni downtown before an event at the State Capitol. The hotel seems to be older, but is still very nice and definitely was convenient for us. It seems like this hotel would also be very convenient for 6th street and such...

The parking garage was a bit difficult to manage with a larger car and parking was $18 per day... steep.

The breakfast buffet was $15 (also steep), but included made-to-order omelets, breakfast pizzas, juices, coffee, etc.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GenMgrAustin, General Manager at Omni Austin Hotel Downtown, responded to this review, November 12, 2012
We appreciate you taking time to post your feedback regarding your recent visit. We're pleased your stay was comfortable and our location convenient for your event at the Capitol. We have just recently completed the renovation of our upper guestroom/suite floors and hope to schedule the renovation of our public space sometime in 2013.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sugar Land, Texas, United States
Top Contributor
91 reviews 91 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012

You can't beat the location of this hotel - walking distance to 6th Street, and with a view of the Capitol. The decor of the lobby is a bit dated, but the service is excellent and the rooms clean and comfortable. The cinnamon rolls can't be beat - seriously, order some cinnamon rolls. :-)

Room Tip: It's a BIG hotel so ask for a room close to the elevator if you're traveling with small chil...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GenMgrAustin, General Manager at Omni Austin Hotel Downtown, responded to this review, November 9, 2012
Thank you for your positive comments regarding our location and cinnamon rolls. We appreciate your patronage and hope you will return very soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Omni Austin Hotel Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Omni Austin Hotel Downtown

Address: 700 San Jacinto at 8th Street, Austin, TX 78701
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > Austin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Luxury Hotel in Austin
#7 Business Hotel in Austin
#14 Romantic Hotel in Austin
#27 Family Hotel in Austin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Omni Austin Hotel Downtown 4*
Number of rooms: 375
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Venere, Cheap Tickets, BookIt.com, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Omni Austin Hotel Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Omni Austin
Austin Omni

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Omni Austin Hotel Downtown, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.