We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Omni Austin Hotel Downtown

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Omni Austin Hotel Downtown to your Saves list
Omni Austin Hotel Downtown
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   700 San Jacinto at 8th Street, Austin, TX 78701   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
12% Off! Book Now & Save!
Ranked #36 of 191 Hotels in Austin
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
21 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Great Location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

The hotel was clean and quiet, which is very important to me. The hotel is in the perfect location for downtown activities and 6th street. I am with another review, I had trouble finding outlets to plug things into, but not a biggie.

My only complaint is that for a 4 star hotel, there were no services for that 4 star price. I would at least expect coffee in the lobby...that is a standard in the industry these days. There was coffee, but you had to pay for it = Starbucks.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GenMgrAustin, General Manager at Omni Austin Hotel Downtown, responded to this review, November 16, 2012
Thank you for your positive feedback regarding your recent visit. I'm sorry you were unable to locate the additional outlets on the nightstand and desk. We do have a complimentary coffee and tea cart located in our lobby until 7am each morning. We appreciate your feedback and your continued patronage.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,727 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    852
    509
    185
    112
    69
See reviews for
223
446
94
654
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (252)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
nowhere
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012

got on priceline for $150/nite. great central location. rooms clean, relatively updated. impossible to find an outlet, had to unplug a light. relatively quiet. self park is &18/day, but they forgot to charge us....

Room Tip: go high to reduce noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GenMgrAustin, General Manager at Omni Austin Hotel Downtown, responded to this review, November 14, 2012
Thank you for your feedback and patronage. We do have 3 additional outlets located on the nightstands and 3 on the desks in each guestroom.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ernestoc
Level Contributor
73 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012 via mobile

We stayed at the omni last weekend and really enjoyed the hotel and Sunday brunch....great location only a block away fron the action. Rooms are newly refurnished. Lots of space and the food was good. Service was good and front desk very helpful. Parking only 18 for self park per night....with a bid online price was great!

Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GenMgrAustin, General Manager at Omni Austin Hotel Downtown, responded to this review, November 12, 2012
We're happy to hear you enjoyed your stay and in particular, our Sunday brunch. We appreciate your feedback and hope you will return next time you visit Austin.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
103 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012

We stayed at the Omni downtown before an event at the State Capitol. The hotel seems to be older, but is still very nice and definitely was convenient for us. It seems like this hotel would also be very convenient for 6th street and such...

The parking garage was a bit difficult to manage with a larger car and parking was $18 per day... steep.

The breakfast buffet was $15 (also steep), but included made-to-order omelets, breakfast pizzas, juices, coffee, etc.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GenMgrAustin, General Manager at Omni Austin Hotel Downtown, responded to this review, November 12, 2012
We appreciate you taking time to post your feedback regarding your recent visit. We're pleased your stay was comfortable and our location convenient for your event at the Capitol. We have just recently completed the renovation of our upper guestroom/suite floors and hope to schedule the renovation of our public space sometime in 2013.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sugar Land, Texas, United States
Level Contributor
119 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012

You can't beat the location of this hotel - walking distance to 6th Street, and with a view of the Capitol. The decor of the lobby is a bit dated, but the service is excellent and the rooms clean and comfortable. The cinnamon rolls can't be beat - seriously, order some cinnamon rolls. :-)

Room Tip: It's a BIG hotel so ask for a room close to the elevator if you're traveling with small chil...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GenMgrAustin, General Manager at Omni Austin Hotel Downtown, responded to this review, November 9, 2012
Thank you for your positive comments regarding our location and cinnamon rolls. We appreciate your patronage and hope you will return very soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new mexico
Level Contributor
22 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012

I went to Austin for a wedding, and stayed at the Omni because this is where the wedding activities were hosted. It was a brief stay, but very pleasant. The hotel is beautiful and well maintained. It is really unique!! The staff was friendly and helpful and did whatever they could to make our stay a good one. They offered a few different packages a day before our arrival...we got the local beer/chips and salsa package which was a great price for what you pay for. Highly recommended. This is delivered to your room when you request it. The rooms were comfortable and very clean, it was quiet and we never heard any noise from neighbors. The weather was unusually cold when we were there, so we didn't get to swim. However, I wanted to check out the pool so went out searching. It was a strange path to take to get there, we found the door to the pool up a stair well at the end of a hallway. It was small but pretty, gorgeous view at night as it is a rooftop pool. One last thing I would like to mention is the hotel smelled soooo good!! I wish I knew what they used to make it smell this way!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GenMgrAustin, General Manager at Omni Austin Hotel Downtown, responded to this review, November 9, 2012
We're pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay and in particular, the Microbrew package. We do have several scent machines throughout the hotel and change the scent out seasonally. Thank you for your feedback!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seneca, South Carolina
Level Contributor
140 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2012

Stayed 3 nights recently for large wedding group. Service and staff were EXCELLENT! Hotel is spacious, comfy, modern and clean. Every contact we had with staff, from check in, food service and concierge was outstanding. Very friendly and professional. Rooms were comfy and clean, with large clean bathroom. Well located downtown, easy walking distance to everything in town.
Would stay here again!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GenMgrAustin, General Manager at Omni Austin Hotel Downtown, responded to this review, November 8, 2012
Thank you so much for the kind comments regarding the customer service of our staff, location and accommodations. We will be sharing your feedback internally and thank you for taking the time to post the details of your experience at our hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Austin hotels
0.1 mi away
InterContinental Stephen F. Austin
0.3 mi away
Hyatt Place Austin Downtown
0.1 mi away
The Driskill
The Driskill
#34 of 191 in Austin
4.0 of 5 stars 1,083 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
W Austin
W Austin
#16 of 191 in Austin
4.5 of 5 stars 942 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hilton Austin
Hilton Austin
#23 of 191 in Austin
4.0 of 5 stars 699 reviews
0.5 mi away
Radisson Hotel & Suites Austin Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Omni Austin Hotel Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Omni Austin Hotel Downtown

Address: 700 San Jacinto at 8th Street, Austin, TX 78701
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > Austin
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Business Hotel in Austin
#11 Luxury Hotel in Austin
#24 Romantic Hotel in Austin
#25 Family Hotel in Austin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Omni Austin Hotel Downtown 4*
Number of rooms: 375
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Omni Hotels & Resorts, Hotwire, Priceline, Hotels.com and Jetsetter so you can book your Omni Austin Hotel Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Omni Austin
Austin Omni

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Omni Austin Hotel Downtown, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.