We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Austin Awesome” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Omni Austin Hotel Downtown

Save Saved
You added Omni Austin Hotel Downtown to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Omni Austin Hotel Downtown
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   700 San Jacinto at 8th Street, Austin, TX 78701   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
12% Off! Book Now & Save!
Ranked #25 of 182 hotels in Austin
Lubbock, Texas
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Austin Awesome”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2011

This hotel property was the site of a conference and training and I did not expect much. Boy, was I wrong! The staff were friendly, helpful and relaxed from the first contact with parking until I left 4 days later. Our rooms were comfortable, clean and well appointed. Everything worked and we were well stocked with towels, bedding, and other essentials. I have never met such nice and responsive staff. Even the elevators worked well and were fast. We recieved an exceptional rate and usually expect mediocre service but not here. I was glad I stayed. I enjoyed how, during a very busy lunch, the staff were able to seat our group elsewhere (in the bar area) without a lot of hassle. The bartender/server was super - he accomodated us even as we ordered tea & water, I'm not sure I've ever encountered such a nice guy. And, this was not the only example; the whole staff at the front desk were helpful with every issue and SMILED! Horray for the Austin Omni Downtown, we will see you again.

Room Tip: just ask and Join the Select Guest program
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OmniTexasMgr, E-Commerce Manager at Omni Austin Hotel Downtown, responded to this review, June 30, 2011
It is always great to hear such high praise for both the actual hotel itself, but more importantly as it regards to the staff of the hotel. Having great people working in the hotel that ensures that each guest leaves satisfied is the true measure of success. We appreciate the kind words, and hope to see you whenever you return to Austin.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,139 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    552
    341
    122
    78
    46
See reviews for
151
288
71
408
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (182)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Florida
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2011

I went to Austin with 4 of my girlfriends for a girl weekend trip. We wanted to stay downtown and heard the omni pool was the best one downtown so we booked there. All 4 of us thought it was the best service we have had in a very long time!! reasons we loved it....
1) The staff and service was incredible!!!
We wre celebrating a birthday and asked for our beverage to be waiting in the room of champagne. Not only was it waiting, but there were cupcakes that said Happy Birthday on the plate and a card that was actually signed by lots of the staff with personal messages in it. When do you ever get personal messages in a generic card???? The people who realy stood out: The front desk and bellmen waere so nice, the concierge was very kind and personable (Rob King was his name maybe?), my sister's boyfriend sent flowers and more champagne to the room and the guy who brought it up was very funny and nice, and the bartender at the pool was also very nice. The whole staff made you feel like you were old friends and all seemed to love their job. It was just incredible service!!!
2) The hotel lobby scent was ridiculous! :)
3) Great pool and location.
4) Clean and comfy room
5)The loyalty program makes you feel like they know you. Its very unique and special

I will 100% come and stay here again when we come to Austin. In fact, I told my husband we are only staying at Omnis anymore...just in case every stay is as incredible. :)

Room Tip: Sign up for the Omni Loyalty Program!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OmniTexasMgr, E-Commerce Manager at Omni Austin Hotel Downtown, responded to this review, June 30, 2011
Thank you for choosing to stay with us for your birthday, and we are glad to be a part of this special occasion. Thank you for your great comments about the staff, and we will make sure we pass this along to those you mentioned. We hope that we see you soon back in downtown Austin!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2011

Stayed here two nights for a convention.
Pros: Location is central - within walking distance to great bars, restaurants, a gallery, quaint attractions, etc. The security is very good - after 10 pm only guests are allowed access to the guest floors (I was told this was because of the hotel's proximity to 6th St.). The upper-floor guest lounge was very small but had good continental breakfast/snack service. The server there was really friendly and helpful (getting me to-go cups of coffee both mornings there).

Cons: Rooms are small - I had a corner room that supposedly had more square footage but I didn't see a big difference between the regular rooms and this one. The mattress was very soft and needs to be replaced pronto. Lighting was also dark. Decor/furniture seems older and needs to be updated. Also, ask for the rooms facing outside. The hotel is build around a courtyard,and half of the hotel are business offices. My room (on the 13th floor) faced straight into the offices across the courtyard. Talk about a bad view! I had to keep the curtans closed (making the room even darker).

Overall, ok stay for a business trip or if you just need a overnight stay and aren't looking for great amenities/luxuries.

Room Tip: Get a room facing outside.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OmniTexasMgr, E-Commerce Manager at Omni Austin Hotel Downtown, responded to this review, June 24, 2011
Thank you very much for your review of the hotel, and we are glad that your stay was overall positive, including great interactions with our staff. We are finishing up our renovation to ensure that each room is upgraded to a high standard. Many of our guests do also enjoy the interior atrium view as these rooms can be slightly quieter versus those on the exterior of the building. We hope that when you return to Austin you are able to come back and see us again. Thank you and Safe Travels!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lafayette, Louisiana
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2011

We were there on business/pleasure, and had no idea the ROT bike rally was also taking place that same weekend. Our hotel staff, from bellman to check-in, to conceirge to restaurant manager were all fantastic! We were given a room on the 10th floor so we could escape the motorcycle noise along with a pair of earplugs (that we really didn't need). We were given great tips for restaurants and had a wonderful time. We even stopped to watch the motorcycle parade downtown on Friday night! I told the hotel desk that I hadn't been that relaxed in a while!!

Room Tip: Sign up for their rewards program
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OmniTexasMgr, E-Commerce Manager at Omni Austin Hotel Downtown, responded to this review, June 17, 2011
Thank you for the great words regarding the staff. This is the pride of our hotel, and we are always glad to hear them recognized. We hope you come back to visit whenever your travels bring you to Austin.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belton, Texas
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2011

Stayed here for a convention. Walking distance to the convention center and close to 6th street where all the nightlife happens. Nice accommodations but ask for an exterior room.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2011

Despite the mess of construction in downtown Austin, the Omni was pretty easy to get in and out of and was centrally located.

Check-in took less then 2 minutes and was a breeze. The front desk receptionist was very helpful, polite, and friendly. Exactly what you want after spending a long time traveling.

We self-parked and took our bags up the elevator to a beautiful room. The distinction was the high ceilings. The room foot print wasn’t bigger but, with the high ceilings, it felt much bigger.

We were on the 13th floor so we were able to take advantage of the hospitality area on the 14th. The appetizers and drinks were pretty good. The seating area was a bit small but people seemed to sense this so they rotated in and out. After all, this is not supposed to be dinner! Breakfast the next morning was the same. Food was good and plentiful. My 7 and 9 year olds go after smoked salmon like two Alaskan bears waking from hibernation. They had their fill of some pretty good salmon!

I roamed around the lobby that night. There was a pretty good crowd at the bar even though we were in the midst of downtown Austin. Not crowded enough to feel uncomfortable and not sparse enough to make you feel like a barfly. For a nice hotel like the Omni, I would have expected more then two labels of Port available.

I also checked out the roof top swimming pool. There is a reason there are no pictures of it on their website. I realize it is a roof top pool but it is small. Not really Texas sized! The seating area around the pool is also a bit on the small size. It’s not really a pool area that I would spend a lot of time in.

Check-out the next morning was easy.

Great place to stay. We’ll go back!

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OmniTexasMgr, E-Commerce Manager at Omni Austin Hotel Downtown, responded to this review, June 17, 2011
We are glad to hear that you had a great stay with us! It is amazing how a high ceiling can make a room feel so much more spacious. We are glad to hear you enjoyed the amenities that come with our Omni Club rooms, and hope that you will stop by whenever you are in Austin. Thank you and Safe Travels!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
us south
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2011

The Omni Dowtown has a fine location, walking disticne to University of Texas, State Capital, Congess Avnue and Town Lake. The real difference here is the kind and freindly staff, though. I've stayed at the Omni Downotown many times and have always received friendly greetings and great service from everyone from the doorpersons to the front desk staff, to those who take care of the housekeeping. a welcoming place.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Omni Austin Hotel Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Omni Austin Hotel Downtown

Address: 700 San Jacinto at 8th Street, Austin, TX 78701
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > Austin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Luxury Hotel in Austin
#8 Business Hotel in Austin
#15 Romantic Hotel in Austin
#25 Family Hotel in Austin
#25 Spa Hotel in Austin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Omni Austin Hotel Downtown 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Amex, Venere, Tingo, TripOnline SA, Otel, BookIt.com, Despegar.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Omni Austin Hotel Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Omni Austin
Austin Omni

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Omni Austin Hotel Downtown, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.