We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean and comfortable” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sheraton Austin at the Capitol

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Sheraton Austin at the Capitol to your Saves list
Sheraton Austin at the Capitol
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   701 E. 11th St., Austin, TX 78701   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #83 of 187 Hotels in Austin
GreenLeadersSilver level
Richmond, Texas
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Clean and comfortable”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2014

Hotel was fine for our needs. Nothing fancy or elaborate and for the price maybe you would expect a bit more but it's in a good location and clean. Delicious buffet breakfast and delicious drinks at the bar. The indoor pool was a hit with the kids!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

599 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    155
    196
    156
    67
    25
See reviews for
69
124
36
265
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (121)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2014

My SPG member companion and I had a great time on our recent trip to Austin. Unfortunately, upon return to our club floor room we could hear everything our neighbors were saying! Additionally, our bathroom amenities were not refreshed until our last night or until we called pre-shower.

I was not impressed!

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dave B, General Manager at Sheraton Austin at the Capitol, responded to this review, February 25, 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you for staying with us and providing us with your feedback. We work hard to control the noise levels of other guests inside the hotel, especially on weekends. I am sorry that the loudness of others tarnished your stay with us. I will make sure to share your comments with our managers and staff. I hope you will give us another chance in the future.

Best Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Syo
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2014

Weekend stay . I'm an SPG member, room was small, nothing bad but nothing great. Dated bathroom, shower sub standard. elevator waits. Lobby bar okay. For $229 I expect better.

Hotel needs a facelift. Lobby had a weird smell.

Location is good.

Stayed February 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dave B, General Manager at Sheraton Austin at the Capitol, responded to this review, February 25, 2014
Dan,

Thank you for your business. I am sorry that your stay did not meet your expectations. I believe the smell in the lobby you are speaking of is the Branded Scent that all Sheraton's carry. If you are interested in booking a large room we do offer larger corner rooms and suites to book. I hope you will give us another chance to be your hotel of choice.

All the best,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Queens, New York
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2014

Staff super friendly and hotel met expectations. The experience of history, music, culture was all outside the hotel. Great location. Would def return. We had access to the the lounge and that did give us many conveniences.

Room Tip: Upgrade to Deluxe for lounge access
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2014

I spent 4 nights at the Sheraton Austin at the Capitol, while I was in Austin for a convention.

I purposely decided to book this hotel because I am an spy gold member and among the benefits I was interested in the late checkout.

Although I was happy with the staff always friendly and courteous, (especially the staff at the bar was very friendly, attentive without being intrusive), unfortunately, I cannot say that my stay was satisfactory.

There are things that you expect from 4 star a hotel that were not there. For example:


1. The building seemed a little outdated
2. The Room lacked a refrigerator and a safe, which is a pretty standard configuration nowadays for hotel of this category
3. The water pressure in the bathroom was inconsistent
4. The toilet flush was not functioning properly and I had to fiddle with the handle in order to stop the water
5. There were only 2 drawers in the room. The night tables were basically side tables with no room below the surface
6. There was some issue with the coffee maker (please see the picture attached). The first time I made myself coffee, the water was overflowing from the top of the tray that contains the pod. I informed the front desk about it, and the coffee maker was replaced. However, the second one had the same problem. They replaced it again with no success. My take on this is that the “proudly served” Starbucks pods do not work well with that kind of coffee maker which, because of the copious spilling of water, could become a fire hazard.
7. As a Spg gold member and I asked for an “enhanced” room, which, if available, is one of the benefits of this status. Now, I am not sure I was given one of those “enhanced” rooms because between the marathon and the convention maybe the hotel was completely booked. However, if I was I can only imagine how bad a non-enhanced room is.

All in all, considering the list above, the location (which is just convenient if you need to be close to the expressway) and for the price, I feel I cannot give this hotel a good review.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dave B, General Manager at Sheraton Austin at the Capitol, responded to this review, February 22, 2014
Simone

First let me thank you for being a GOLD SPG Member. Your loyalty and business are greatly appreciated and is what makes our hotels some of the best in the world! I am sorry that the property did not meet your expectations. However, it sounds like the staff did a great job of taking care of you during your stay. We are constantly working to improve the property and update the guest rooms and public areas. We hope our service levels will keep your coming back!

All the best,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Top Contributor
99 reviews 99 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2014

I come to Austin on a regular base, and I do not stay down town unless I have to, the Staff here is friendly, but the hotel is a little outdated. The Hotel is clean and because it near the Capitol, it gets a lot of business. I guess that is why five other hotels are being built now – that will add additional 2500 rooms to the Austin market.

Starwood generally does a good job at keeping their older properties in decent shape, but somehow this one seems to have slipped through the cracks.

I am SPG Platinum and I spend enough time at Starwood hotels to say that this hotel needs honest attention.

Three stars is a fair rating based on a friendly staff, but because the hotel is a bit in need of renovation, I do not think it deserves a four-star review.

Room Tip: Location is downtown, but the Hotel needs some updating.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dave B, General Manager at Sheraton Austin at the Capitol, responded to this review, February 22, 2014
Dear Guest,

We appreciate your feedback and are glad that our staff was the highlight of your stay with us. We did just finish installing brand new 42 in HD TVs in all of our guest rooms along with a complete update of our Wireless Internet Network. We have also recently replaced the lampshades, guest room carpets and desk chairs. There are more exciting updates coming in the near future so we hope you will continue your loyalty as a Starwood Preferred Guest Member.

All the best,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2014

I'm a frequent traveller and stayed at the Sheraton hotel in Austin a few weeks back. I usually don't take time to write reviews but figured I would make an exception for this one. The staff was really amazing (especially Kaleo at the club lounge): they almost made me forget that I was on the road. :-)

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dave B, General Manager at Sheraton Austin at the Capitol, responded to this review, February 20, 2014
Nikita

Thank you for your kind words regarding our Staff. We truly pride ourselves on exceptional guest service. I will make sure to share your comments and commend Kaleo for his exceptional service!

Best Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sheraton Austin at the Capitol? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheraton Austin at the Capitol

Address: 701 E. 11th St., Austin, TX 78701
Location: United States > Texas > Austin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Green Hotel in Austin
#65 Business Hotel in Austin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Sheraton Austin at the Capitol 3.5*
Number of rooms: 361
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Starwood, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, BookIt.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Sheraton Austin at the Capitol reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sheraton Austin
Austin Sheraton

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sheraton Austin at the Capitol, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.