We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Average- Not 4 stars, but 3.5” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Sheraton Austin at the Capitol

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Sheraton Austin at the Capitol to your Saves list
Sheraton Austin at the Capitol
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   701 E. 11th St., Austin, TX 78701   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #84 of 191 Hotels in Austin
GreenLeadersSilver level
Arlington, Virginia
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Average- Not 4 stars, but 3.5”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2012

This place was fine, and it's best feature is its location, and I sort of think thye know it! The rooms were nice, but small, including the bathrooms. The other facilities were adequate. Internet is expensive and parking was sort of a nightmare. At one point, there were about 30 cars blocked in the parking garage because the automatic exit gate stoped working and wouldn't let anyone out! That took around 10 minutes to resolve, which was frustrating, especially after paying for parking.

Room Tip: The higher your floor, the better your view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

673 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    181
    220
    175
    70
    27
See reviews for
74
132
42
311
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (134)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bahamas
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2012

Our stay at Sheraton was simply wonderful, I stay here for six nights, the hotel was beautiful, check in was simple and quick, the room was clean and spacious. Sixth street is about three blocks away, a wonderful experience. There is also a Wendys and CVS Pharmacy that is about a 20 minute walk. The staff was very helpful with directions. I would stay here again. O the bed was just super!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dallas diva
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2012

We stayed here on way to San Antonio. It was a great relaxing stay. The lounge is a nice touch with 2 hot appetizers cheese plate and veggies in the evening. They have a stocked refrigerator with juice, soda, and water. There was enough so we didn't need to go out to dinner. The breakfast the next morning also had ham and cheese roll ups and wrapped sausage (hot). The guest services where wonderful and they even remembered my birthday with a great gift and a upgrade. Thanks again.

Room Tip: You can get a capital of Texas view. Lounge worth the money for a family.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012 via mobile

We enjoyed our stay here very much. Pool is great, nice and cool! Staff are very helpful and attentive, we are not from the US so needed quite a few pointers, which they were more than happy to help us with. We enjoyed the bar, the lovely waitress Jen was especially lovely! All in all, nothing at all to complain about, except maybe the location was a tad too far out to walk during the day in the heat!! Great experience all round, would recommend.

Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012

Stayed this past weekend for the Texas football game. Hotel was located close to the stadium which made it easy to walk or catch a cab. The 6th street area is also within walking distance. The staff at the hotel, lounge, and restaurant were very friendly and attentive. The breakfast buffet was also pretty good. My only complaint was the reception on certain TV channels (ESPN included) was not very good. All in all I would recommend this hotel to anyone.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steamboat Springs, Colorado
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2012

I stayed at the Sheraton Austin in April during a college reunion. I was staying under a discounted rate and have worked in the front office at a hotel before, so I begrudgingly understood that a full hotel meant that my 6foot+ friend and 6foot2 I would be sharing a king bed. This was pretty much the only kink in a great stay.

I checked in at 11am, so I knew that my room wouldn't be ready when I got there. However, the change in bedding was not explained to me by the person checking me in (who, I believe, was the front office manager). Instead, the poor front desk agent was faced with that task. However, the agent (Erwin?) was great and even gave me club lounge access for the booking change. He was very courteous, and having worked at a front desk I know how difficult those situations can be.

The rooms were quite nice and surprisingly quiet. The location is nice and very close to restaurants and 11th St. However, one thing that surprised me was the large number of homeless people in the area. It didn't make me feel unsafe, but was surprising.

The real jewel of the hotel is the Club Lounge. While the lounge and snacks themselves are nice, the staff (Reba and a young gentleman with glasses whose name escapes me) were incredible. They were always happy to help and gave excellent advice when they assessed what kind of nightlife we sought. They were also both very funny and took part in our mindless banter.

I did eat the buffet breakfast my final morning and was very happy with the options.

In summary, the hotel is nice and the location is good, but the staff makes this hotel a great place to stay.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2012

While the hotel accommodations were very nice, there was one problem. When traveling I like to use the Bibles placed by the Gideons. When I found none in my room I called the front desk and asked for housekeeping to bring me one. Housekeeping said all the Bibles had been removed from the rooms and they did not know why. They said they would see if they could find one. Several hours later they called back and said they could not find one single Bible in the entire hotel.

When making my next reservation I will check with the hotel and make sure they provide this service.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dave B, General Manager at Sheraton Austin at the Capitol, responded to this review, September 1, 2012
Dear Valued Guest,

I am glad that you enjoyed our hotel during your stay. I apologize that we did not have the amenity you requested. I am working with our housekeeping department to ensure that we have a stock of Gideon's Bibles on hand. I hope you will return and I can ensure that this amenity will be available upon your request. Thank you for your feedback!

Warm Regards

You Sheraton Austin Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sheraton Austin at the Capitol? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheraton Austin at the Capitol

Address: 701 E. 11th St., Austin, TX 78701
Location: United States > Texas > Austin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Green Hotel in Austin
#63 Business Hotel in Austin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Sheraton Austin at the Capitol 3.5*
Number of rooms: 361
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, BookIt.com, TripOnline SA, Starwood, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Sheraton Austin at the Capitol reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sheraton Austin
Austin Sheraton

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sheraton Austin at the Capitol, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.