We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“F1 weekend in Austin” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Lakeway Resort and Spa

Save Saved
You added Lakeway Resort and Spa to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Lakeway Resort and Spa
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   101 Lakeway Drive, Austin, TX 78734   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Turn Up The Heat
Ranked #42 of 182 hotels in Austin
New Orleans, Louisiana
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“F1 weekend in Austin”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2013

Was in Austin for F1 weekend. Stayed at hotel because friend made reservation. Property is nice and appears recently redone. Service was good. Only negative was distance from events. Getting a cab to town was an adventure. It never showed, for those attending f1 event, it is a hike from the track. Considering the price for the room, I will pass on this property for next years event. It is just too far out. For those wanting to be in this part of town, it is a nice property and I have recognized that in my rating.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robert K, General Manager at Lakeway Resort and Spa, responded to this review, November 19, 2013
Thank you for your candid feedback. We appreciate the compliments to the resort and hope you will reconsider staying with us in the future.

Robert Kisker
Regional Director and General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

491 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    218
    139
    77
    31
    26
See reviews for
133
200
13
43
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (135)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Austin, Texas
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2013

An excellent venue for a vacation, wedding, special event. The staff goes out of their way to be friendly and most helpful. The Chef prepares delicious meals. The Resort is set up to handle business conventions of any size with their numerous meeting rooms and a large ballroom set with Lake Travis as a backdrop.

I would highly recommend holding your next event there or just go and enjoy for a vacation.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robert K, General Manager at Lakeway Resort and Spa, responded to this review, November 13, 2013
We appreciate your gracious comments regarding the resort as an exceptional venue. I will pass along your compliments to our staff and our chef. We appreciate your business and look forward to your return visit.

Robert Kisker
Regional Director and General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2013

Erin Randell is amazing and very friendly, as well as the entire service crew. We will see you all next November :) I m so glad my family all made it in from Corpus Chrisit and Houston as well as San Marcos. Everyone must check this hotel out as soon as possible. Great food and wonderful room service.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robert K, General Manager at Lakeway Resort and Spa, responded to this review, November 11, 2013
Thank you for the compliments of our staff, food service and resort. We appreciate your return business and look forward to seeing you next November.

Robert Kisker
Regional Director and General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2013 via mobile

I had travelled to Houston from the UK and decided to take a trip to Austin with some family. Originally we had booked for two nights but due to a storm that was meant to hit Austin we had called and cancelled the second night. On arrival tried to check in to be told that reservations had cancelled that night! The receptionist apologised and had it sorted in minutes and checked us in early with no problems.
The rooms are large and comfortable but are in need of the refurbishment that is planned very soon. A small point I would make is that the tea and coffee facilities are great but placed at completely the opposite end of the room to the plug socket needed to boil the kettle.
The first evening we arrived back for happy hour with ten minutes to go. The barman was not in the happiest of moods as he had lost his cork screw and he did not mind sharing this with everyone, consequently we had one drink and left. The next night it was a different bar man and we had a pleasant evening out on the deck, enjoying the view and conversation. This area is only used during happy hour from 5-6pm and I think they are missing out on using this area. It would be a lovely spot to have coffee and pastries during the mornings, or a drink later in the evening without going to Mastersons.
As the storm was going to miss Austin we decided to stay the second night. We ate in Mastersons, the choice is confused I feel but the staff are excellent. We asked for Irish coffees and the end of the meal and once we had explained what it was the waitress went off and 15 mins later they arrived and were lovely, the green shamrock on the top in food colouring made us giggle and was a nice touch.
I have to say there is a concierge (an older gentleman) whose name I have to say I have forgotten, but he is wonderful, so friendly and happy to help and who knows the best place for breakfast.
All in all a lovely couple of relaxing days. Thank you.

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robert K, General Manager at Lakeway Resort and Spa, responded to this review, November 11, 2013
Thank you for your detailed review of Lakeway Resort and Spa. We encourage all our guests to provide feedback so we may continually improve our guest experience. I will review your comments with our staff and I would like to personally invite you back to stay at the resort. Please contact me at bkisker@lakewayresortandspa.com.

Robert Kisker
Regional Director and General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2013

I had my wedding at Lakeway Resort & Spa this past September and had the best experience. I arrived with my bridesmaids the evening before the wedding and stayed in the LBJ suite, which was amazing. It was the perfect space for us to get ready in the day of the wedding and had everything we needed for the day of and night before.

Katie Brinkman, the Director of Catering at Lakeway, was my coordinator and she made sure I was well taken care of throughout my entire wedding weekend, down to every last detail. Mike Heyse, who is in charge of AV at the resort, was also wonderful to work with!

I would recommend this location to any bride!!

Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robert K, General Manager at Lakeway Resort and Spa, responded to this review, November 8, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback about your wonderful wedding experience at Lakeway Resort and Spa. We're pleased you enjoyed our resort amenities and excellent service by our staff. We hope you will return for many more years!

Robert Kisker
Regional Director and General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois, United States
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2013

Everything was great and the staff were ready to accommodate any request. Other reviews talk about no mini fridge or microwave. All we had to do was ask and within minutes, both were set up in our room. The food was great and we had room service multiple times. The pool area was absolutely beautiful and clean as well. If you have the privilege to meet Richard in valet, consider yourself lucky. He is well informed on the area and as friendly as they come. We loved meeting him and cannot wait to see him again on our visits in the future. My only issue our entire stay was with the spa staff. We are huge spa-goers and would have loved to treat ourselves to massages, manis, pedis, and facials and unfortunately I found the spa staff cold and uninviting. My husband complained and I was given a hand written card offering 10% off of spa services but did not take them up on the offer. Friendliness and common courtesy ie: saying a simple "Hello" go a long way in my book and I will have our spa needs met elsewhere. Otherwise, the hotel is breathtaking as well as affordable and exceeded our expectations. Cannot wait to go back!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robert K, General Manager at Lakeway Resort and Spa, responded to this review, November 7, 2013
Thank you very much for sharing your feedback on your recent stay at Lakeway Resort and Spa. We appreciate the compliments to the resort and to our staff. I’m pleased to read Richard accommodated your needs and stood out for his service. I will share your review with our spa staff and we look forward to your return visit.

Robert Kisker
Regional Director and General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pearland, Texas, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2013

My husband and I had a great stay! Only wish it was more than 1 night! The pool area was very nice with good options for couples and families. We were there in the fall and they had a fire going in the fire pit next to the pool that evening, great surprise! The accommodations were great and the bed was very comfortable. We had great service from Richard and the front desk staff. My only negative was that the bathroom in particular is probably due for an update, but still completely functional. We will definitely be back!

Room Tip: Lakeside rooms have a nice view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robert K, General Manager at Lakeway Resort and Spa, responded to this review, November 6, 2013
Thank you for your feedback of your recent stay. We appreciate the compliments to the resort, the pool complex & fire pit and our staff. We will update the guest rooms including the bathroom later this year and we look forward to your return visit.

Robert Kisker
Regional Director and General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Lakeway Resort and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lakeway Resort and Spa

Address: 101 Lakeway Drive, Austin, TX 78734
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > Austin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Spa Hotel in Austin
#10 Luxury Hotel in Austin
#20 Business Hotel in Austin
#31 Family Hotel in Austin
#33 Romantic Hotel in Austin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Lakeway Resort and Spa 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With a commanding view of the Texas Hill Country from the shores of Lake Travis, Four Diamond Award-winning Lakeway Resort and Spa captures the elegance of a world-class destination with contemporary resort amenities. Amenities include heated outdoor pools with lake views, spa, marina, nearby golf and Texas Sailing. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Booking.com, Amex, BookIt.com, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Venere, Agoda and Otel so you can book your Lakeway Resort and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lakeway Resort Austin
Lakeway Hotel Austin

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lakeway Resort and Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.