We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great staff” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Lakeway Resort and Spa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Lakeway Resort and Spa to your Saves list
Lakeway Resort and Spa
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   101 Lakeway Drive, Austin, TX 78734   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Autum Special
Ranked #29 of 187 Hotels in Austin
Oxford, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
“Great staff”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2013 via mobile

I had travelled to Houston from the UK and decided to take a trip to Austin with some family. Originally we had booked for two nights but due to a storm that was meant to hit Austin we had called and cancelled the second night. On arrival tried to check in to be told that reservations had cancelled that night! The receptionist apologised and had it sorted in minutes and checked us in early with no problems.
The rooms are large and comfortable but are in need of the refurbishment that is planned very soon. A small point I would make is that the tea and coffee facilities are great but placed at completely the opposite end of the room to the plug socket needed to boil the kettle.
The first evening we arrived back for happy hour with ten minutes to go. The barman was not in the happiest of moods as he had lost his cork screw and he did not mind sharing this with everyone, consequently we had one drink and left. The next night it was a different bar man and we had a pleasant evening out on the deck, enjoying the view and conversation. This area is only used during happy hour from 5-6pm and I think they are missing out on using this area. It would be a lovely spot to have coffee and pastries during the mornings, or a drink later in the evening without going to Mastersons.
As the storm was going to miss Austin we decided to stay the second night. We ate in Mastersons, the choice is confused I feel but the staff are excellent. We asked for Irish coffees and the end of the meal and once we had explained what it was the waitress went off and 15 mins later they arrived and were lovely, the green shamrock on the top in food colouring made us giggle and was a nice touch.
I have to say there is a concierge (an older gentleman) whose name I have to say I have forgotten, but he is wonderful, so friendly and happy to help and who knows the best place for breakfast.
All in all a lovely couple of relaxing days. Thank you.

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robert K, General Manager at Lakeway Resort and Spa, responded to this review, November 11, 2013
Thank you for your detailed review of Lakeway Resort and Spa. We encourage all our guests to provide feedback so we may continually improve our guest experience. I will review your comments with our staff and I would like to personally invite you back to stay at the resort. Please contact me at bkisker@lakewayresortandspa.com.

Robert Kisker
Regional Director and General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

575 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    275
    155
    86
    33
    26
See reviews for
157
229
16
52
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (158)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Austin, Texas
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2013

I had my wedding at Lakeway Resort & Spa this past September and had the best experience. I arrived with my bridesmaids the evening before the wedding and stayed in the LBJ suite, which was amazing. It was the perfect space for us to get ready in the day of the wedding and had everything we needed for the day of and night before.

Katie Brinkman, the Director of Catering at Lakeway, was my coordinator and she made sure I was well taken care of throughout my entire wedding weekend, down to every last detail. Mike Heyse, who is in charge of AV at the resort, was also wonderful to work with!

I would recommend this location to any bride!!

Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robert K, General Manager at Lakeway Resort and Spa, responded to this review, November 8, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback about your wonderful wedding experience at Lakeway Resort and Spa. We're pleased you enjoyed our resort amenities and excellent service by our staff. We hope you will return for many more years!

Robert Kisker
Regional Director and General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
United States
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2013

Everything was great and the staff were ready to accommodate any request. Other reviews talk about no mini fridge or microwave. All we had to do was ask and within minutes, both were set up in our room. The food was great and we had room service multiple times. The pool area was absolutely beautiful and clean as well. If you have the privilege to meet Richard in valet, consider yourself lucky. He is well informed on the area and as friendly as they come. We loved meeting him and cannot wait to see him again on our visits in the future. My only issue our entire stay was with the spa staff. We are huge spa-goers and would have loved to treat ourselves to massages, manis, pedis, and facials and unfortunately I found the spa staff cold and uninviting. My husband complained and I was given a hand written card offering 10% off of spa services but did not take them up on the offer. Friendliness and common courtesy ie: saying a simple "Hello" go a long way in my book and I will have our spa needs met elsewhere. Otherwise, the hotel is breathtaking as well as affordable and exceeded our expectations. Cannot wait to go back!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robert K, General Manager at Lakeway Resort and Spa, responded to this review, November 7, 2013
Thank you very much for sharing your feedback on your recent stay at Lakeway Resort and Spa. We appreciate the compliments to the resort and to our staff. I’m pleased to read Richard accommodated your needs and stood out for his service. I will share your review with our spa staff and we look forward to your return visit.

Robert Kisker
Regional Director and General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pearland, Texas, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2013

My husband and I had a great stay! Only wish it was more than 1 night! The pool area was very nice with good options for couples and families. We were there in the fall and they had a fire going in the fire pit next to the pool that evening, great surprise! The accommodations were great and the bed was very comfortable. We had great service from Richard and the front desk staff. My only negative was that the bathroom in particular is probably due for an update, but still completely functional. We will definitely be back!

Room Tip: Lakeside rooms have a nice view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robert K, General Manager at Lakeway Resort and Spa, responded to this review, November 6, 2013
Thank you for your feedback of your recent stay. We appreciate the compliments to the resort, the pool complex & fire pit and our staff. We will update the guest rooms including the bathroom later this year and we look forward to your return visit.

Robert Kisker
Regional Director and General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2013

The hotel and restaurant staff were very friendly willing to help with any thing you needed. Francis
is a very friendly and helpful host.
It was nice to have the Restaurant on the premises for convenient dinners and breakfast...very tranquil, relaxing setting.
The Jr. Suite was just perfect and the view magnificent! Coming down from Alaska, the heated pools were just a bonus as well!!!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robert K, General Manager at Lakeway Resort and Spa, responded to this review, November 4, 2013
Thank you for the compliments to the resort and Masterson’s Steakhouse. I am pleased to read you enjoyed the atmosphere in the restaurant and the friendly staff. We look forward to your return visit.

Robert Kisker
Regional Director and General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wheeling
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2013

Located on a scenic waterway for recreational boating, spectacular pools with water slide and water polo areas, accommodating spa with body message and private lockers, four star restaurant, adequate parking, and large -- over-sized -- rooms with a view of Lake Travis. Staff was friendly, accommodations were clean and the happy hour each evening was enjoyable.

Room Tip: Definitely request a lake view room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robert K, General Manager at Lakeway Resort and Spa, responded to this review, November 1, 2013
Thank you for the incredible review of Lakeway Resort and Spa. I’m pleased to read you enjoyed our popular resort amenities including the pools, San Saba Spa and Masterson’s. I will pass along your compliments to our staff and I’d like to personally invite you back to the resort. Please contact me at bkisker@lakewayresortandspa.com.

Robert Kisker
Regional Director and General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, Texas
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2013

I have been fighting throat cancer for over 6 months now (chemo & radiation). I am thru with all the sessions and now recovering. God has blessed me well to get this far. Last week as was able to get to the Texas coast for 6 days and had a great time. I had to leave my wife at home because she was working. This week she had off and was going to meet me at the coast, fishing was not to good so she told me to come home. She wanted to go to Austin for 2 days. She looked on line and found Lakeway resorts and the price was right so she booked it. We drove to Austin with ease and found the resort with no problem. The first pleasant ordeal was the valet that met me when we drove in an elderly gentleman, I told him my story and we both agreed that God was taking care of both of us ( he had 5 stints put in last year as is doing well and loves working for this resort). My wife checked in with ease and also we checked in early. They told us about the beer and wine party on floor #3 and that was exciting for both of us. The first thing we did was admire the views and then with this great Texas weather we decided to take a dip in the pools. The heated pools were fabulous and the hot tub was an extra bonus but what a view. Everybody (staff) we talked to was just great, courteous, kind and answered every question. At 5 we went to the little party and that was great bartender was super. (This was the first alcoholic beverage I have had in 8 months and it was tasty) I had to take a picture of the beer over looking the great view of the lake in the back ground and send it to friends. Rooms were spacious and very comfy, next time we will go for a lake view, there's something about Texas and being on the water. Austin had severe weather last night but it did not effect anything. This morning I got a cup of complimentary coffee and Austin paper and sat on the back porch on the 3rd floor and enjoyed the fantastic view and great weather. Everybody ( staff) I ran into on my way to the porch had a smile on their face and told me good morning. Check out was very easy I was helped by a manager and a staff member, the experience was pleasant. I can not say enough about the experience and the staff members, one word excellent. I will be telling my friends and family about the resort. We are already planning our next stay at Lakeway resorts. I guess I have another word fabulous. We did not have a chance to visit the resturaunt, but heard great things about it from other guest. That was another thing your guest are wonderful too, everybody was so nice and wanted to share their stories too. Just a testament to y'all. Can't wait to visit again. Thank you. Mark W. Henke

Room Tip: book a lake view and go during the week.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robert K, General Manager at Lakeway Resort and Spa, responded to this review, November 1, 2013
We are overwhelmed by your review of the resort. Thank you very much for your kind words of our staff and management. It is our goal to provide superior customer service to all our guests and it is such a pleasure to read your positive feedback. We welcome you and your wife back anytime. Please email me so I may personally thank you bkisker@lakewayresortandspa.com.

Robert Kisker
Regional Director and General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Lakeway Resort and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lakeway Resort and Spa

Address: 101 Lakeway Drive, Austin, TX 78734
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > Austin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Austin
#8 Luxury Hotel in Austin
#19 Business Hotel in Austin
#20 Family Hotel in Austin
#28 Romantic Hotel in Austin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Lakeway Resort and Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 168
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With a commanding view of the Texas Hill Country from the shores of Lake Travis, Four Diamond Award-winning Lakeway Resort and Spa captures the elegance of a world-class destination with contemporary resort amenities. Amenities include heated outdoor pools with lake views, spa, marina, nearby golf and Texas Sailing. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, BookIt.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Lakeway Resort and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lakeway Resort Austin
Lakeway Hotel Austin

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lakeway Resort and Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.