We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A service oriented hotel that goes out of its' way to please” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Lakeway Resort and Spa

Save Saved
You added Lakeway Resort and Spa to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Lakeway Resort and Spa
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   101 Lakeway Drive, Austin, TX 78734   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Autum Special
Ranked #33 of 184 Hotels in Austin
Houston, Texas
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“A service oriented hotel that goes out of its' way to please”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2012

This is a beautiful hotel on Lake Travis. The breakfasts and cocktail hours are phenomenal. We loved the place even though it was winter and off season.

Very quiet and restful. The rooms are large and have high ceilings making the room feel even larger. Nice decor; comfortable beds. Slde the floor to ceiling window and you have a beautiful panaroma out to the lake..

The staff is always ready and alert, young and energetic.

We loved it and we want to go back in the summer when we can use the outdoor pool and jacuzzi.

Room Tip: All rooms face the lake. The lobby floor (actually located above) has the high ceilings making the r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

544 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    257
    146
    82
    33
    26
See reviews for
153
215
15
48
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (148)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Bedford, Canada
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2012

We almost didn't stay here because of the trip advisor reviews, but decided we liked the idea of being by the lake and the pool looked good. Our plan was just to relax by the pool for a couple of days so felt this would meet our needs. We didn't have high expectations for the room or the resort in general but everything exceeded our expectations. The room was great, it was spacious, airy, lake view. Service was fantastic, and the entire place was very nice. The pool and bar by the pool were great. The restaurant was not bad but there is a restaurant a few minutes away at the Yatch Club that was amazing. In any case I would recommend this place to anyone looking for a bit of a getaway. There were deer on the property one day outside our window. Oh also the coffee/wine bar is great. Their Americano is wonderful.

Room Tip: Ask for a lakeview.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
austin, tx
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2012

The service is great, the grounds are beautiful, the food/wine is delicious.
They went the extra step (since it was our honeymoon) and we had La Marca Prosecco with chocolate covered strawberries waiting for us in our room. (La Marca happens to be one of our favorite sparkling wines). Also, we got free dessert. :-)
We had a couple's massage, which was only ok. I've had better. And, this is one reason for the 4 stars. But, the spa itself was beautiful and clean and had a relaxing & upscale decor. We hung out in our robes in the men's lounge afterwards and had champagne and lunch together, which was probably one of my favorite parts of the 2 days we spent there. (Men cant go into the women's lounge, so i hung out in the men's lounge with him). There are floor to ceiling windows, so it gets lots of light, great view with a balcony, and oversized comfy chairs.
There's a bar lounge perfect for chillin before dinner. The overall decor is traditional and cozy.
The pool was impressive, but it was raining so we didnt get to enjoy it. :-( Maybe next time!
Overall this is a great place if you are looking to kick back without any drama. Its got everything you need for a quick, quiet get-a-way. We had great service, relaxing room, great room service b-fast, 2 delicious restaurants on site, a beautiful spa, gorgeous grounds with multiple pools, hot tub, and its clean!
If you have any questions, please feel free to ask. :)

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, Texas
Top Contributor
88 reviews 88 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2012 via mobile

After reading the reviews we had changed our reservation from 2 nights to 1 but after our stay I wish we had stayed the two. No real complaints. Room was quiet and clean. Bed comfy. Views spectacular. Breakfast was good although bland. Everyone was helpful and pleasant. Happy hour ( free beer/ wine and cheese) a great plus. Pool area good but they were pressure cleaning and it was very noisy. Pool drinks weak and pricey. Overall a nice place but moderately overpriced.

  • Stayed April 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Top Contributor
108 reviews 108 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2012

Stayed at Lakeway for a few nights with friends. It is on the lake (which looks really low) and not close to Austin (approx 30 min drive). There isn't much too near the place, so you need a car and even then, nothing too close.
The staff is super friendly and helpful.
The rooms are just okay, I suppose good if you get a deal (AAA deal gets free breakfast each day, approx $15 for the buffet). The water pressure or shower head is not good - weak. The bathrooms are dated and what i would expect in a random hotel - not a "resort and spa". We stayed on the 1st floor and the balcony faces the lake. I did see some deer in the morning outside the balcony.
Pools are nice, big and there is an adults only pool and kids pool (with water slide). There is a swim up bar as well. Pool is NOT heated, so is 71 degrees or so in March/April. The drinks at the pool are $5 or $6 for a beer and $9 for mixed drinks.
I did a package at the spa. EXTREMELY overpriced! The pedicure is NOT worth $80. And, even though they have two chairs could not schedule my friend and i to get them at the same time. The massage was good, but not worth what they charge. The spa pricing was where i really felt like we were experiencing resort prices without being at a 4/5 star resort.
The breakfast buffet was good (it is in a separate bldg than the rooms, you have a short walk to get there). Big selection including fruit, cereal, pastries, oatmeal, bacon, sausage, french toast, and eggs. I swear the eggs were powdered eggs. On Saturday there was an omelet station (with real eggs!).
Husband played golf. The course was decent, but not worth the $92 price.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lubbock
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2012

The sunsets over the lake are a treat. I recommend the balcony in the morning. The views of Lake Travis and the hills are lovely. The air is fresh and cool and the quiet is palpable, pierced only by the cheerful calls and coos of various Texas birds...until about 9 a.m. when the motorboats start up.
The kids pool is delightful with fountains and a gradual incline from very shallow to about 3 feet. The waterslide is not tall, but it's fast and a great ride. A good place for families.
Now about those big pans of scrambled eggs in the morning. If they're not powdered, they must add something to make them taste that way. I don't recommend them. The buffet on the weekend is pretty good, with eggs cooked to order. We had mixed reviews for Josey's Restaurant at dinner. The Dr. Pepper quail is a must try and the crab cakes were quite good. The food is pricey. There are other good places to eat nearby. You should try the Grill at Rough Hollow. Not cheap, either, but delicious.

Room Tip: Sitting on the balcony overlooking the lake is quiet, peaceful, delightful. It's worth the extr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2012

From the website, the place looks upscale, but (other than the pool area) it's on par with Holiday Inn, but at basically twice the price. In fact, standard amenities in most hotels, such as a refrigerator and microwave are completely missing! Oh yeah, you can get a refrigerator, but at an added cost. And you need additional sleeping area besides the king size bed? Sure, you can get a rollaway bed, for an extra charge :-( From the minute we stepped into the room, we were disappointed. No refrigerator, no microwave, no sofa, bland furnishings, etc. It was a shame to waste leftover food at local restaurants, and not be able to heat up food we already bought (awfully wasteful). The coffee maker was broken too. For all the extra charges, we figured there would be the usual amentities, but extra (kitchenette, maybe a DVD player). I brought a portable DVD player for the kids, but despite a technical background, I could not get it to play through the TV (it was rigged to block signals I suppose). And luckily we brought an inflatible bed for the kids.

Speaking of kid and family friendliness, there were no night lights in the place (what, they couldn't even scrimp up a few dollars to buy them?!?) So you either had to leave lights on (making it hard to sleep), or go with it being pitch black. We did the latter, and it made for bumping into things trying to go back and forth between the restroom. Also, they had loud live music outside(!) that went until midnight, which also made it hard to sleep. The sounds even from the hallway and surroundings were especially audible.

I guess the place focuses on the "spa" stuff, exercise room, and the pool area. I'm not sure who the target demographic is, but it seems to be wealthy, white singles, or empty nesters, who go to bed late and get up early (so they can hit the exercise room). There was an uppity snooty atmosphere too around the place that we found annoying.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Troy M, General Manager at Lakeway Resort and Spa, responded to this review, March 28, 2012
I am extremely sorry you felt misled by our website and what Lakeway Resort and Spa has to offer. We are continuously upgrading our amenities and accommodations to better serve our guests. We strive for guest satisfaction at the resort and I apologize that no one went out of their way to get a hold of a nightlight for you and your children. I am the most disappointed to learn you left with the impression of an uppity atmosphere as we pride ourselves on outstanding customer service. I’m glad your family enjoyed our beautiful pool area and hope you come back to enjoy our amenities in the future. I sincerely thank you or your feedback, and I hope the opportunity arises that we are able to change your mind concerning our resort.

Sincerely,

Troy Mathews
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Lakeway Resort and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lakeway Resort and Spa

Address: 101 Lakeway Drive, Austin, TX 78734
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > Austin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Luxury Hotel in Austin
#15 Business Hotel in Austin
#21 Family Hotel in Austin
#33 Spa Hotel in Austin
#34 Romantic Hotel in Austin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Lakeway Resort and Spa 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With a commanding view of the Texas Hill Country from the shores of Lake Travis, Four Diamond Award-winning Lakeway Resort and Spa captures the elegance of a world-class destination with contemporary resort amenities. Amenities include heated outdoor pools with lake views, spa, marina, nearby golf and Texas Sailing. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, BookIt.com, Tingo, Reservation Counter, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Venere, Priceline and Otel so you can book your Lakeway Resort and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lakeway Resort Austin
Lakeway Hotel Austin

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lakeway Resort and Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.