We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great new amenities and friendly staff” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Lakeway Resort and Spa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Lakeway Resort and Spa to your Saves list
Lakeway Resort and Spa
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   101 Lakeway Drive, Austin, TX 78734   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Announcement
New Kid Zone
Ranked #36 of 191 Hotels in Austin
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Irving, Texas
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Great new amenities and friendly staff”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2011

Overall: I had stayed here previously and although the property was (and is!) much nicer than other ones surrounding the lake, its quality wasn't up to par with a 'resort'... but I have returned twice since then, and the staff's attitude and attentiveness has greatly improved. It's obvious that they have added more staff since being taken over at the beginning of 2011, and the staff is finally finding their productivity grooves. Everyone I ran into was very friendly, no matter how early or how late. However, the valet guys, while friendly, could work on being a bit more attentive, especially late at night.

The Room: The rooms are a nice size with a nice flat-panel TV and looks fairly new. The balcony is cool (you should definitely get a room with a balcony) and has a seating area.

Property: The property is very nice. It's awesome how the restaurants, rooms, and pools all have views overlooking the lake and you can see boats go by and it's just nice and relaxing. It's a great setting and the new extras, like happy hour (free wine and beer!!!) Monday-Friday in the early evening is great. I hear they are going to be adding heated pools late this year so that will be a nice addition for the cooler months (I'm one of those crazy people that likes swimming when it's only 45F outside IF the pools are heated.)

Bottom Line: Nicer than any other place I've stayed on Lake Travis. The amenities are great and keep improving, and the staff is a lot friendlier the past few months than they were before. A good staff really makes or breaks a good experience, and my last two visits are definitely making it and not breaking it. Look forward to visiting here again.

Room Tip: The higher the floor, the better. Request a room on the lake side, for sure... and get a balcony! It...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

596 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    283
    162
    87
    36
    28
See reviews for
158
243
17
56
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (163)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2011

We recently returned from a week's vacation in Austin, TX. My family (comprising of two adults, a 9 yr old daughter and a 10 month old daughter) stayed at the Lakeway Resort and Spa Hotel. The general attention at the Hotel from staff was very good and the cleanliness of the Hotel was to a very high standard. The pools were fantastic and perfect for families and couples alike (on account of the Adult only pool with swim up bar). The major drawback of this particular Hotel is as follows: Location - extremely isolated in the Hills with no real facilities around (without having to hop in a car and drive for at least 10-15 minutes). The other fundamental problem is the mediocre menu and restaurant on offer at the Hotel. We dined on two occasions at the Hotel Restaurant and my wife and I were very disappointed, mainly on account of the delay in service, no exaggeration the first night we were kept waiting 45 minutes for a rib-eye steak and the entire restaurant was empty! Then on the second occasion we were kept waiting close to an hour for our entrees and when the steak finally arrived it was over cooked and had to be returned to the kitchen! I fear more attention is needed in the catering side of the Hotel. My wife should know since she is an executive chef :) We discovered a little Gem on our final day a short car ride away called 'Cafe Lago'. Excellent breakfast and excellent service, very friendly indeed! Al in all it was an enjoyable stay but for a report card it would probably received a Grade of B- possibly a C.........

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2011

A considerable dip in the lake due to draught, but still a beautiful view overlooking the lake. The adult only infinity pool was my favorite part of our whole stay! Pool bar is expensive, 1 beer and a bloody mary were $16 before tip. Room was standard, no bells or whistles. Bed was comfy. Dark hallways. Very curteous staff. A wonderful anniversary!

  • Stayed August 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2011

Our room was fantastic, the view was great, the pools were awesome, but best of all, the service was outstanding! I left my swimsuit in the room and the staff mailed it to me within a few days. We were here for a friend's wedding, but we'll definitely be back to vacation!

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lansdale PA USA
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2011

Stayed here for a wedding. Very nice place to stay. The food was good, beds and rooms are nice. Nice views of the lake. The pools are nice. The service was excellent . The water pressure in the shower was weak with no real control over the temp. We would stay there again.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2011

Love this place! It's low key, quiet and off the beaten path. Perfect long weekend getaway overlooking Lake Travis. Though this is an older property, they have updated rooms with modern decor. They did not however update the heating/AC units as they are very noisey. If you are a hard sleeper it won't bother you, but the friends we traveled with hated the unfavorable noises that it made when kicking on all night.

Food is not fabulous, but the pool alone makes up for that. You can always leave the property to eat - or pick up pizza and wine from the strip center 5 min. away.

Spa seems forced into the space as I assume the original hotel didn't have a spa. Services were nice, but you're not going to have a a fully zen experience like you might have at a branded resort.

Overall, the property gets a B+ for what it is. A few things that are not perfect, but beautiful views, low key atmosphere and an amazing pool area that pleases adults and kids alike.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2011

We came to Lakeway Resort and Spa this summer for a couples geraway. Read the reviews, but thought we'd see for ourselves. Overall, not a bad place to stay but the difference between this resort and the others we have been to is the attention to details and service. We had a Jr. Suite that had lots of space, but lacked any comfortable seating, had bucks and scrapes in the furniture and the walls. The bathroom ceiling had been patched, the tile floor was cheap and dated...the only wow in the room was the lakeview.
We spent our days at.the pool. They had a person whose job was to walk the pool and take food and drink orders, bit on each of our three days, no one ever stepped foot near the adult pool or asked to take our order. Staff was nice, just kinda lazy. If you asked they came to your service, but you definitely had to seek them out.
The pools areas are very nice. A large adult pool and a fun family pool area too.
Overall this hotel was fine, just not the level of service and attention to detail that we have received at other area resorts like Hyatt Lost Pines and the Four Seasons.

  • Stayed August 2011
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Lakeway Resort and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lakeway Resort and Spa

Address: 101 Lakeway Drive, Austin, TX 78734
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > Austin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in Austin
#9 Luxury Hotel in Austin
#20 Family Hotel in Austin
#30 Business Hotel in Austin
#33 Romantic Hotel in Austin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Lakeway Resort and Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 168
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With a commanding view of the Texas Hill Country from the shores of Lake Travis, Four Diamond Award-winning Lakeway Resort and Spa captures the elegance of a world-class destination with contemporary resort amenities. Amenities include heated outdoor pools with lake views, spa, marina, nearby golf and Texas Sailing. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, BookIt.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Lakeway Resort and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lakeway Resort Austin
Lakeway Hotel Austin

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lakeway Resort and Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.