We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worth the minor issues for the price” 3 of 5 stars
Review of La Quinta Inn Austin Oltorf

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added La Quinta Inn Austin Oltorf to your Saves list
La Quinta Inn Austin Oltorf
2.0 of 5 Motel   |   1603 E Oltorf Blvd, Austin, TX 78741 (South Austin)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #164 of 187 Hotels in Austin
Brooklyn, New York
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Worth the minor issues for the price”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2010

I stayed at this hotel as part of a flight & hotel package, so I really can't complain for the price I paid. There were a few minor issues that I wanted to mention. The room was generally clean (though the hotel could certainly use a fresh coat of paint and some renovations) except there were a few hairs left in the shower. Not a big deal in the larger scheme of things. The major issue I had was that my room had a connecting door and through that or through the very thin walls I was able to hear crystal-clearly my (noisy) neighbors at all hours of th night. Once I was up from that I could also hear the street traffic pretty clearly (the room doors open to the outside), even though my room was one of the most protected from the street. On the plus side I found the staff very friendly every time I needed something and the free breakfast was very good (muffins, fruit, make your own waffles, cereal, etc.).

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

162 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    20
    20
    31
    35
    56
See reviews for
53
26
19
33
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Akron Area
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2010

We stayed here for ACL. A mile walk to SOCO, but you have to cross a highway. The staff are wonderful. Rates were pretty good, but I have had better from La Quinta in the past. Will definitely stay here again for the half marathon in February. Hotel was clean, plenty of parking, we got a great night's sleep. Best deal you can get that includes free internet AND breakfast.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
victoria, tx
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2010

the a/c didn't work and smelled moldy in 1st room. mold on ceiling. minipad on floor. they moved us to another room. where we found condom in the drawer. they charged my card TWICE for this mess. said they would discount the room when i threw a fit . . . which they did not follow through with. in a word, this place SUCKS!!!

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2010

We almost always stay at La Quinta Hotels, and have always been satisfied. However, this hotel was a different story. The place is pretty run down and beat up. The rooms reeked of mold (?). The bathroom door hinges were rusted and were barely keeping the door in place. The bathtub didn't have a stopper. There were bugs in the room: crickets and mosquitoes. This hotel is set in a very bad neighborhood. The local pizza delivery place almost wouldn't deliver to us at first because they thought we were in an apartment complex a block away stating, "we do not deliver there; that area is too dangerous." The homes just behind the hotel played loud, obnoxious music until after midnight on Friday night. We hardly slept, and the hotel refused to refund our money so we could go to another hotel without neighbors that blared their music. Whether or not we could sleep, which is why we bought the room ... was none of their concern. Do not stay here if you want a clean room in a reasonably safe neighborhood and would also like to sleep! I wish I had read these reviews before we booked the hotel.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2010

Room smelled musty. There were several homeless guys out front of hotel and sketchy looking folks hanging around the adjacent neighborhood. The room needs updating (chipped paint, closet won't shut, carpets look old, faded and dirty). High Speed wireless internet is a joke; it hardly stays connected long enought to check email.

Spend another $8 and go to a Hampton inn or Holiday Inn.

I come to Austin often on businees and thought I should save some company $ by staying here. That was a mistake.

THIS IS A DUMP!

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
florida
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2009

The service at the Oltorf La Quinta was good. All staff was helpful and efficient. The Inn itself was a bit dated and although a refrigerator and microwave was expected in the room, it wasn't there. Seemed like an Inn frequented by out of town labor forces

  • Stayed September 2009
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The heart of Texas
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2009

If you stay at the La Quinta, Oltorf, lower your expectations before you go. Desk clerks were friendly and efficient, but that pretty much exhausted the charm of the place. Room was spartan. "One bed" means a double, not queen, as was once the practice. Room was in poor mechanical shape--torn curtain, closet doors that wouldn't close, loose commode seat, shower faucet coming out of the wall. Breakfast is "continental," synonym for high sugar, low-protein. Military guys will understand when I say the price gets you a rack in a fairly convenient location. Maybe that's all that's required for some trips. "La Quinta--another name for Motel 6"

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to La Quinta Inn Austin Oltorf? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Quinta Inn Austin Oltorf

Address: 1603 E Oltorf Blvd, Austin, TX 78741
Location: United States > Texas > Austin > South Austin
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #164 of 187 Hotels in Austin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — La Quinta Inn Austin Oltorf 2*
Number of rooms: 132
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, LaQuinta, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Booking.com and Tingo so you can book your La Quinta Inn Austin Oltorf reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Quinta Inn Austin Oltorf Hotel Austin
Austin La Quinta
La Quinta Austin

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Quinta Inn Austin Oltorf, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.