We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great spot” 5 of 5 stars
Review of La Quinta Inn Austin Oltorf

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save Saved
You added La Quinta Inn Austin Oltorf to your Saves list
La Quinta Inn Austin Oltorf
2.0 of 5 Motel   |   1603 E Oltorf Blvd, Austin, TX 78741 (South Austin)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #160 of 186 Hotels in Austin
Victoria, Texas
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Great spot”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2014

I choose this location because of distance from downtown and what's around it (soco, & other spots) though out Austin.

PROS:
cheap but not too cheap,
Staff friendly and understanding,
Security on site, roving patrol,
Room well kept/clean....beds comfy,
ONE WAY $5 shuttle to downtown,
$5 per-person,
ONE WAY $5 shuttle to the hotel,
Drop off & pick up at (5th,Trinity st.),

CONS:
Limited parking,
Needs more ice points,
Couple more towels in the room

Basically if you need a place to stay and don't want drive dwntwn. This is it ! No complaints at all, this is for party goers and NOT FOR LUXURY STAY.


Stayed July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

155 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    20
    20
    27
    34
    54
See reviews for
52
26
17
31
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Austin, United States
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2014

They were very nice, but tv didn't work right, they didn't come and give us new towels, change trash, etc. after first night. The carpet is in need of a good cleaning. It was very cheap which is great on a budget, but I do remember when LaQuinta's were more up to date and you got more bang for your buck! They need a bit of updating!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with La Quinta

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Midland, United States
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2014

They could never get the cable to work for 4 days. Told I would get a discount on the bill for this, but got none. Manager promised me a large discount for the room because they could not get this fixed, but when I checked out there was no record on a discount being added. So she gave me a little $20 discount for the inconvenience. This was not like the service I have had at any of the other La Quintas I have stayed at. It was close to where I was having meetings and that was great, but the lack of service and the noise make it hard for me to want to stay at this one again. The breakfast area was very disorganized and there was very limited seating to eat breakfast at. Also, the supplies for breakfast were low, such as the OJ and eggs. The other La Quintas I have stayed at had nice large areas for breakfast and had at least one person on duty who took care of the breakfast area. So, overall this could be a nice place to stay but they are going to need to work on some of their service offered.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with La Quinta

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
El Paso, Texas
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2014

My wife and I returned to this property in spite of the bad reviews because we had stayed here before and had an idea what to expect, in that it is an older property. The front desk staff were friendly and checked us in quickly. Our ADA room (just off the elevator) was clean and comfortable. We stayed for 3 nights (July 11, 12, 13) and had no issues with problems like those noted in other reviews (i.e.; loud music, stained sheets, misassigned rooms, etc.). The a/c functioned well and we had no issues to bring to the attention of the staff. It was a nice comfortable stay and we will most likely stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with La Quinta

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durant, Oklahoma
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2014

We came to Austin for a friends wedding. They booked us at la quinta, and I was ok with it because la quinta has a great rep in oklahoma. One; no good parking. It was a pain to park!! Two; the first room we got had standing water in the bath tub and blood on the sheets.. small spots but still blood. So they switxhed us rooms. We thought we were good in this new room until this morning. I was about to sit on my bed and noticed BLOOD again!!! This time on 3 separate pieces!!!! I asked the housekeeping manager if she could give me new bedset and she did. Thw only good thing I have to say about this place is that the lady up front and the housekeeping manager were sweet and quickly handled the issue.. however, I refuse to stay at la quinta again. Also, the mexican food restaurant next door, is awful. Hostess didnt speak english and the food received was still frozen on the inside!!! Overall; I do not like Austin and will never come back. Atleast not to this side of it.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Humble, Texas
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2014

Just there for 20 minutes and it was the worst experience ever,front desk gave me a key to a suite because Im a Elite member,and I walked in on two people doing it!!!Went back to the front desk raising hell and they gave me another key, then my wife and i moved our car and could not get in the doors, went back to front, given new keys to a room that was bad ordered by the maintence guy. Went back to the front desk raising more hell and they gave us a room that the dead lock did'nt work and water was dripping from the second floor and the bed sheets were stained. I highly recommend never to stay there!!! We checked out asap and went down the street.Its a circus there.

Room Tip: We ended up staying at a different location! That would be your best bet!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2014

The accommodations were perfect for the price. The front desk clerk was very knowledgeable, courteous and friendly. When I needed anything and asked for it from the front desk there was no hesitation from the staff.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with La Quinta

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to La Quinta Inn Austin Oltorf? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Quinta Inn Austin Oltorf

Address: 1603 E Oltorf Blvd, Austin, TX 78741
Location: United States > Texas > Austin > South Austin
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #160 of 186 Hotels in Austin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — La Quinta Inn Austin Oltorf 2*
Number of rooms: 132
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, LaQuinta, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Hotels.com and Tingo so you can book your La Quinta Inn Austin Oltorf reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Quinta Inn Austin Oltorf Hotel Austin
Austin La Quinta
La Quinta Austin

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Quinta Inn Austin Oltorf, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.