We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dirty rooms and poor service” 2 of 5 stars
Review of La Quinta Inn Austin Oltorf

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added La Quinta Inn Austin Oltorf to your Saves list
La Quinta Inn Austin Oltorf
2.0 of 5 Motel   |   1603 E Oltorf Blvd, Austin, TX 78741 (South Austin)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #146 of 191 Hotels in Austin
Houston, Texas
Top Contributor
94 reviews 94 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
“Dirty rooms and poor service”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013 via mobile

The "non-smoking" room reeked of cigarettes. The night clerk was asleep, but fortunately the nationwide reservations number answered.
The towels looked and felt like they were 20 years old.
No green space around the motel, except in the area around the pool.
The building overall looked rough.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

188 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    25
    26
    37
    42
    58
See reviews for
59
29
23
43
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
McKinney, Texas
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013

We rented three rooms this past weekend. Front desk was friendly and helpful, but other than having a nice pool, that was pretty much all this hotel going for them. Rooms were clean, but we were in old section of the hotel. Carpets were very stained, toilet was hard to get flushed and tended to continue running after flushing. Where breakfast was concerned, they have this crowded into a very small corner of their lobby with about 2 small tables to sit at. So, they have very little to offer other than make your own waffle, and when each waffle takes 3-4 minutes, and you have 6 or 7 people waiting in line, well...you do the math. And about 2:30 in the morning, we could hear someone yelling "Help" over and over. We were afraid to even open the curtain to see what was going on, but shortly after that, we did hear sirens. We were in Glen Rose a couple of weeks ago and stayed at LaQuinta there. It was great! For what we had to pay however, this hotel is badly in need of a make-over, and I wouldn't recommend it to anyone.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013

roblems i experienced while staying with la quinta oltorf

1. i reserved a room with microwave and refrigerator. i did not get a room with either.

2. AC was not cooling. Very uncomfortable nights. No fans available on premises to help alleviate the heat.

3. Up for 2 nights with kids yelling and partying at all hours of the night into the morning.

4. intoxicated man urinating in the bushes about 10 feet from the property's front door. (mind you, i have children)

5. Clogged toilet

6. Dead insects on bed pillows

7. Badly stained carpets

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with La Quinta

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013

After reading the terrible reviews, one even saying dogs swam in the pool, we stayed here.
We were on a 6 week trip in USA having been in LA,Vegas and SF prior.
Had stayed at 4-5 star hotels but needed to save money for a few nights.
We booked this the day before as there wasn't much around and didn't want to spend to much. Two single woman from Australia. we actually liked it, was cheap and cheerful. Free wifi, we wanted to party, beds were comfortable and not to much nosie.

Room Tip: At the back away near pool from the highway.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2013 via mobile

Where to start?.... There was a weird dorm frig/microwave combo near door but couldn't be pushed against wall because of a large electrical receptacle that was heavily overloaded with four plugs going into one combiner. Carpet was stained, there were a few places where holes in the wall had been patched poorly. Overall not very clean. All this and they charged $139/ night!
We will never stay here again and probably think twice before we ever consider a La Quinta anywhere.

Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2013

It was a king suite w/sofa sleeper. The rooms were large and clean. It was quiet despite being next to the Interstate. The sleeper was easy to deploy. The breakfast was available to 9:30 or later . The location is convenient to UT and the Capitol.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with La Quinta

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to La Quinta Inn Austin Oltorf? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Quinta Inn Austin Oltorf

Address: 1603 E Oltorf Blvd, Austin, TX 78741
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > Austin > South Austin
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #146 of 191 Hotels in Austin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — La Quinta Inn Austin Oltorf 2*
Number of rooms: 132
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, LaQuinta, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your La Quinta Inn Austin Oltorf reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Quinta Inn Austin Oltorf Hotel Austin
Austin La Quinta
La Quinta Austin

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Quinta Inn Austin Oltorf, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.