We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointing” 2 of 5 stars
Review of La Quinta Inn Austin Oltorf

Save Saved
You added La Quinta Inn Austin Oltorf to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for rooms, adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
La Quinta Inn Austin Oltorf
2.0 of 5 Motel   |   1603 E Oltorf Blvd, Austin, TX 78741 (South Austin)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #156 of 184 hotels in Austin
Cypress, Texas
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“Disappointing”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013

We've stayed in many La Quinta's over the last few years, mainly because while traveling by car we often have a dog with us and pets are allowed at La Quinta. We've always found them to be perfectly nice and a good value.

This was the exception. We were a party of 8 and had 3 rooms between us. Rooms were all in old section (a mistake) and were in dire need of renovating. Wifi was an advertised feature in all rooms but it was out of service more often than not. Spent lots of time communicating with front desk about Wifi issues. Continental breakfast was adequate.

Price we felt was exceptionally high as well - not a good value.

In the breakfast area of the lobby, in the wall alongside a table, is a major termite infestation. Wall is being eaten away. This was reported to front desk.

The only reason I'm giving this establishment a 2 rather than a 1 is that the staff were all very nice and did their best to help with the various issues, Also, manager gave us a discount due to the constant Wifi problems.

I don't recommend, unless you make sure you get s room in the new section, which I've been told is better.

Room Tip: Make sure you get room in the new section.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

144 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    20
    20
    24
    30
    50
See reviews for
49
25
17
27
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
A TripAdvisor Member
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2013

Has to be the oldest, dirtiest, most outdated La Quinta in the system. On check in one of the rooms was unserviceable as the door had been kicked in and the door facing was missing. The rooms were archaic by La Quinta standards. Our television was broken on Friday night and although we reported it on Saturday morning it was still not working on Saturday night. When I called the front desk I was told to pull out the TV,unplug it and it would reboot itself. Did not work. Toilet flushed poorly and people raised hell all night without anyone doing anything to stop it..

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with La Quinta

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, New York, United States
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

The hotel room was mostly clean, and fairly basic. A lot of the amenities of other nearby hotels were missing, such as a real area to eat the complimentary breakfast. It was just some tables setup in the 'lobby'

The toilet in the bathroom tended to run, and the noise from the PA system outside to scare away the homeless woke me up once or twice one night.

The whole establishment needs a refresh, and other hotels in area were not that much more expensive.

This is not my first choice of a stay when I come back next year, although it was close to the convention center

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, Texas
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013

Stayed there a few nights ago, drove to Austin last minute trip. The motel's parking wasn't full so we figured there was plenty of rooms available. Parked got a room, they only had smoking, big mistake, but was tired and needed a place to rest my eyes. Big mistake... Carpet very dirty, stains all over the room, not just in the entrance. Paint in the room was horrible..Beds were old and crappy. they made so much noise. Bathroom was dirty. Air condition wasn't working properly. We finally got to bed and we could hear the people next door snoring. talk about paper thin walls.. By the time it was getting later in the evening someone parked in front of our door and I imagine was hard of hearing because their radio was so loud it almost peeled the remaining paint off the walls. Then to top it off there was 2 guys outside our door talking so loud that they thought they were out at a bar. They were hard of hearing as well. Dumb people, no respect for anyone it was close to 1 in the morning. We called the front desk but was told there was no security to handle loud people in the parking lot. Will never stay there again. Not worth the money...

Room Tip: shady people, no respect for others.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with La Quinta

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
suburban Connecticut
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

Traveled on business to this hotel recently. Sweet Texas shaped waffles at the continental breakfast were adorable. Beds EXTREMELY COMFORTABLE. Bathroom & Shower could use updating, but working and this is enough. Not sure I'd stay here again without a vehicle (wooo, some long walks were had by all) but it is walking distance to a starbucks. The pool was nice and the plantings on the facility were quite lovely. Irked that when we asked for more towels the front desk staff was not accomodating and sort of gave us the brush-off. I know they were booked to capacity for southby (sxsw) but it seems to me that for $250 a night (or whatever) if I ask for something, you should be willing to provide it.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for rooms, adults
Price Your Stay

Been to La Quinta Inn Austin Oltorf? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Quinta Inn Austin Oltorf

Address: 1603 E Oltorf Blvd, Austin, TX 78741
Location: United States > Texas > Austin > South Austin
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #156 of 184 hotels in Austin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — La Quinta Inn Austin Oltorf 2*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, LaQuinta, Tingo, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your La Quinta Inn Austin Oltorf reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Quinta Inn Austin Oltorf Hotel Austin
Austin La Quinta
La Quinta Austin

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Quinta Inn Austin Oltorf, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

;