We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Solid middle-of-the-road Hotel” 3 of 5 stars
Review of La Quinta Inn Austin University Area

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added La Quinta Inn Austin University Area to your Saves list
La Quinta Inn Austin University Area
2.5 of 5 Motel   |   5812 I-35 North, Austin, TX 78751 (Hyde Park)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #135 of 191 Hotels in Austin
Fort Worth, Texas
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Solid middle-of-the-road Hotel”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2014

Nothing special or exciting here. Has a pool, which we didn't use. The ice machine worked great. Mattress and pillows were very soft. Maid that cleaned our room did a great job. Clean, no bugs, AC worked and was quiet. Breakfast was all pre-packaged food - no waffle maker or sausage patties. Restaurant in the parking lot that has really good Tex/Mex food. IHOP on the other side of the hotel too. We originally had a reservation at the La Quinta in Toepperwere (San Antonio) but it got to be too late to keep driving and the manager at that La Quinta allowed us to transfer our reservation with no problems.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with La Quinta

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

145 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    20
    33
    40
    22
    30
See reviews for
41
25
11
42
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lake Tapps
Top Contributor
108 reviews 108 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2014

My wife and I travelled to Austin because a world-renowned surgeon practices medicine there. I had been diagnosed with prostate cancer and my doctor in Seattle told me the surgeon in Austin was the best there is.
The LaQuinta was close to the hospital where I had surgery and it turned out to be a very comfortable place. Especially for a person who wasn't feeling particularly comfortable after surgery.
The staff was very accommodating and the hotel and nearby restaurants worked perfectly for us. We stayed a week and would like to come back for a vacation next time.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Katy, United States
2 reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2014

Hotel was okay, but food was very limited and not what I was expecting. No Protein. Bathroom could use a little work as well as the tub was up high and the flooring in it felt slippery. Lots of resturants around the location for better food.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with La Quinta

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2014

This property needs lots of improvements in the building itself. It was not clean to my standards. There were even dead insects under the bed. The area is not the best of Austin, I would try to stay in a better area if you can afford it. It would be worth the extra money to stay in a better area. There were other "guests" working with a car in front of our door doing a lot of noise, smoking, drinking and with loud music. It was not pleasant at all. Honestly I don't even know if they were even guests of the hotel. But I didn't feel safe at all.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with La Quinta

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Texas
2 reviews
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2014 via mobile

it was very horrible I did not enjoy my stay there at all there were people partying all night long smoking marijuana and then there were people working on a vehicle right beside the room I was staying in with the engine out.room was filthy, TV was going off every day that I stayed there.Hole in wall in
bathroom what wires sticking out.The worse La Quinta I ever stayed in.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lawton, United States
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2014

The hotel overall was ok. We stayed with dogs and there were no areas on property to potty the dogs, but grass was available at nearby businesses. Rooms were decent but needed minor cosmetic repairs. They were overall clean and the beds comfortable. Continental breakfast was a letdown as past La Quintas have set the bar high with real foods, this one had cereal and prepackaged waffle sticks.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with La Quinta

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
austin, United States
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2014

Place is old and outdated.. plain and simple. Place sucks.. looks like crap on the outside and inside. Looks nothing like its brochures or online pics. One-woman staff and she moved in two speeds.. slow and stop!! May as well been a flop house for the homeless. Not worth the money I spent.. luckily I'm a Veteran so I'm use to being in poor conditions. Spend some money and fix this place up!!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with La Quinta

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to La Quinta Inn Austin University Area? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Quinta Inn Austin University Area

Address: 5812 I-35 North, Austin, TX 78751
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > Austin > Hyde Park
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #135 of 191 Hotels in Austin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — La Quinta Inn Austin University Area 2.5*
Number of rooms: 122
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located just north of downtown Austin, the La Quinta Inn Austin University Area is only minutes from the Austin Convention Center, Texas State Capitol, Travis County Expo Center, and the University of Texas. Visit Bob Bullock State History Museum, 6th Street and the Wareho...see moreuse District, and the LBJ Presidential Library and Museum. No visit to Austin is complete without seeing the famous Congress Avenue Bats and the Star of Texas Fair and Rodeo. The La Quinta Inn Austin University Area has everything you need for a pleasant stay, including a helpful courteous staff. Spacious guest rooms come with such amenities as a free high-speed Internet access, a hair dryer, coffee maker, voice mail, HBO, movies on-demand, and video games. The hotel has an outdoor swimming pool for your relaxation. Enjoy our Free Bright Side Breakfast every morning. Located near the Highland Mall, just north of downtown Austin at the southwest corner of I-35 and Highway 290. Stay here for the Republic of Texas Biker Rally, Austin City Limits Music Festival, the Austin Film Festival, and the South by Southwest Media Festival ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, LaQuinta, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your La Quinta Inn Austin University Area reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Quinta Inn Austin Highland Mall Hotel Austin
Austin La Quinta
La Quinta Austin

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Quinta Inn Austin University Area, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.