We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfy beds.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of La Quinta Inn Austin University Area

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save Saved
You added La Quinta Inn Austin University Area to your Saves list
La Quinta Inn Austin University Area
2.5 of 5 Motel   |   5812 I-35 North, Austin, TX 78751 (Hyde Park)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #131 of 184 Hotels in Austin
Round Rock, Texas
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Comfy beds.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2012 via mobile

This isn't the first time I've booked a La Quinta hotel. The beds are very comfy!! The location was AWFUL! Took about an hour to find the place, once we did we spent about another 20 minutes trying to find the right service road. Wouldn't stay again for that reason alone. Aside from that, there were (about 20) dead/dying grasshoppers near the window. We called the front desk and they said this is normal during the summer. Needless to say it made the rest of the night pretty uncomfortable. They didn't bother me too much except I was afraid to walk around. Nonetheless, it was adequate for one night. Breakfast was okay, nothing special.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

112 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    17
    22
    31
    15
    27
See reviews for
34
19
9
28
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
A TripAdvisor Member
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2012

i was almost afraid to stay at this place, because of some of the reviews i had read. but much to my surprise it was a really nice place. the rooms were clean and fresh-smelling. the beds/pillows were very comfortable. the tv was nice. the bathroom was clean. and the complimentary breakfast was nice. the pool was large and clean. i would definitley recommend this room.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with La Quinta

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2012

Great hotel with very friendly staff; valet parking only but the valet's were very friendly and welcoming. Great location toward downtown and UT and the Capitol.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with La Quinta

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
De Leon, TX
1 review
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2012

Our stay was only for one night but it was a decent place to stay at a decent price for Austin. The room we had was on the backside of the hotel but it was clean and comfortable enough. The staff was very friendly at the front desk. It is right off of the interstate though so there is alot of road noise outside and probably on the frontside room (we didn't notice it from our backside room). There are homeless people under the overpasses in the area so probably not the safest area but we didn't have any problems there--we were actually only at the hotel about 8 hours anyway.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denton, Texas, United States
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2012

This is the worst La Quinta I have ever stayed at. The rooms were dirty, and bathroom was disgusting. We would have gone elsewhere if there had been another option. There were gaps around the door, loud drunken shouting in the morning that no one seemed to care about. When we went to breakfast there was nothing out and when we aksed to have more they brought it out in a trash bag (clean I am sure). Then when we complained we got no reponse from Manager. We checked out and they messed up the billing on their end and i got charged multiple times for the room, even though it was meant to be a split payment. After spending all day on the phone and finally annoying customer service enough we got a response. No one offered to comp a room or anything. I am so dissapointed with La Quinta that I will be telling all of my friends and family to never stay at another La Quinta ever.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to La Quinta Inn Austin University Area? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Quinta Inn Austin University Area

Address: 5812 I-35 North, Austin, TX 78751
Location: United States > Texas > Austin > Hyde Park
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #131 of 184 Hotels in Austin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — La Quinta Inn Austin University Area 2.5*
Number of rooms: 122
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located just north of downtown Austin, the La Quinta Inn Austin University Area is only minutes from the Austin Convention Center, Texas State Capitol, Travis County Expo Center, and the University of Texas. Visit Bob Bullock State History Museum, 6th Street and the Wareho...see moreuse District, and the LBJ Presidential Library and Museum. No visit to Austin is complete without seeing the famous Congress Avenue Bats and the Star of Texas Fair and Rodeo. The La Quinta Inn Austin University Area has everything you need for a pleasant stay, including a helpful courteous staff. Spacious guest rooms come with such amenities as a free high-speed Internet access, a hair dryer, coffee maker, voice mail, HBO, movies on-demand, and video games. The hotel has an outdoor swimming pool for your relaxation. Enjoy our Free Bright Side Breakfast every morning. Located near the Highland Mall, just north of downtown Austin at the southwest corner of I-35 and Highway 290. Stay here for the Republic of Texas Biker Rally, Austin City Limits Music Festival, the Austin Film Festival, and the South by Southwest Media Festival ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, LaQuinta, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your La Quinta Inn Austin University Area reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Quinta Inn Austin Highland Mall Hotel Austin
Austin La Quinta
La Quinta Austin

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Quinta Inn Austin University Area, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.