We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice place at a good price” 4 of 5 stars
Review of La Quinta Inn Austin South / IH35

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added La Quinta Inn Austin South / IH35 to your Saves list
La Quinta Inn Austin South / IH35
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   4200 I-35 South, Austin, TX 78745-1202   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #120 of 191 Hotels in Austin
Delaware
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“Nice place at a good price”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2012

Ended up staying here through a "name your price" option and at first was a little leery, but ended up being pleasantly surprised. Though it couldn't be guaranteed with my type of reservation, I called the hotel and requested a non-smoking room which I got with no problem. Check in and out was very easy, and the desk clerk was pleasant. Room was very clean, good size and the bedding looked new and fresh. Got lots of channels on the TV as well. Only complaints were that the bathroom was very small and didn't have a fan so it was like a sauna after a shower, towels were small and thin, and the HVAC unit was right next to one of the double beds and blew directly on it. Pool looked decent but we didn't have time to use it. Very short drive to the airport, and a 24 hour IHOP right next door. Place is not fancy, but is very nice for what it is and we'd stay here again when traveling on a budget.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

207 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    40
    59
    52
    29
    27
See reviews for
81
45
17
47
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Antonio, Texas
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

We reserved a couple of rooms for a Saturday night so that I could spend a night in Austin for my birthday with my husband and some friends. There was a home game that night so needless to say, a lot of rooms were booked at hotels closer to downtown. Ended up picking this hotel based on price and location. Was only about a $15 cab fare to downtown- not too bad. You pretty much get what you pay for. This hotel was right off 35 which was convenient for our purposes. There was some late night traffic around the hotel you could hear, but once I was asleep I slept well! Bed was decent... had an in-room AC unit that you could crank down which my husband always appreciates. Check out at 12 is nice for people that like to sleep in. At the end of the day, it is a decent place to rest your head for one night, versus paying over $250 for a hotel in downtown (where you also usually have to pay to park..). I'd stay here again if I needed to!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

My boyfriend and I had stayed at this hotel last year and found it was decent. It is a motel-style place, with the rooms opening to the outdoors. It is clean, but in serious need of an update as it looks very old and run-down.

HOWEVER, we chose to stay here again a week ago, and this time they lost our reservation and we ended up with a smoking room. Not impressed! We were there for a wedding and we were really worried our expensive formal clothes would be ruined by the smoke smell. As soon as we opened the door we were practically knocked over by the smell of stale smoke and overpowering air freshener. It was Halloween weekend so unfortunately we didn't have a choice but to stay there. The room was clean, but dated (and smelly!). Also, the room was oddly laid out so that the TV was off to the side of the bed at an angle. It was only once we went to sleep that the problems really started. There is NO soundproofing at all in this hotel and when our neighbors arrived back to their room at 3 am and proceeded to have an hours long conversation, we could hear EVERY word! They were still chatting away when I got up at 5:30AM to go for a run. Ugh. We spoke to the front desk later the next morning and they told us they would try to switch us to a non-smoking room for that evening but no promises. That never happened. When we went to sleep on night # 2 were once again woken up by our neighbors - this time to the sound of some x-rated activities!

Pros: close to downtown, inexpensive, relatively clean, free breakfast

Cons: lost room reservation, disgusting smoking rooms, no sound-proofing, horribly run front-desk that offered us no recourse for their mistake, and the worst water pressure I have ever encountered in a hotel shower

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2012

Easy access to airport, downtown. Miss eggs and bacon for b-fast, but you really can't complain about their Continental. Nice comfy pillows and mattresses. they've put in new, big widescreen HDTVs, nice to wind down with. Visiting Austin -- give this LQ a try.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with La Quinta

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to La Quinta Inn Austin South / IH35? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Quinta Inn Austin South / IH35

Address: 4200 I-35 South, Austin, TX 78745-1202
Location: United States > Texas > Austin
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #120 of 191 Hotels in Austin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — La Quinta Inn Austin South / IH35 2*
Number of rooms: 130
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Expedia, LaQuinta, Orbitz, Hotwire, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your La Quinta Inn Austin South / IH35 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Quinta Inn Austin i-35 s. Ben White Hotel Austin
La Quinta Austin
Austin La Quinta

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Quinta Inn Austin South / IH35, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.