We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hyatt Regency Austin

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Hyatt Regency Austin to your Saves list
Hyatt Regency Austin
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   208 Barton Springs, Austin, TX 78704 (South Austin)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Double Your Points
Ranked #53 of 191 Hotels in Austin
GreenLeadersBronze level
Houston, Texas
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Very nice”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2010

We got this hotel on priceline for an extended road trip at the last minute and got a rate of $69!!!!!!! It was a fantastic deal. This is a 5 star hotel, right on the lake with full amenities. Other than the walls were a little thin and we could hear people talking in the hallway, it was a great deal. The family went swimming the next morning in the pool which is outdoors and sits on the lake. Would have rather had an indoor pool, but it was nice. Don't order coffee for the Perks Cafe on the 1st floor, they claim to be a Starbucks, but they didn't even know what a Mocha Frappuccino. It was gross to say the least. The hotel is current, very trendy and staff was friendly. They don't offer any complimentary drinks or anything like like, but they had room service, a restaurant, and a bar. Parking was free which is always a plus! Wish we could have had a room with two queens instead of 2 doubles though. We crammed 5 people in the room. Three adults and two children. The double was a little crammed for two adults and a toddler.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

824 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    251
    367
    135
    47
    24
See reviews for
115
200
46
333
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (261)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2010

The hotel has check in/out kiosk which is great for speed but terrible if you want to provide good service. We didn't speak with anyone upon arrival.
During our four day stay we stopped by the concierge table several times for suggestions. I found her very inexperienced and she didn't have very good suggestions. We used Yelp Mobile most of the time and had great success with that.
The housekeeping team was friendly and the maintenance was night although they couldn't fix the Ipod dock. He came up to our room and fiddled around with it, didn't fix it, looked at me and said- "it should be working..." I just told him to not worry about it after that realizing that he wasn't going to be fixing it any time soon.
The bar staff were great- we had "happy hour" a few times and loved sitting at the bar chatting with the staff.
Overall I would come back again but will be getting my suggestions on what to do elsewhere.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, DC
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2010

I stayed at this hotel overnight on a business trip and am glad I did. The room was on an upper floor and had a balcony, which was definitely worth the extra price. The views of Lady Bird Lake and downtown Austin beyond it are great. The location was also very good--just a few blocks (about 8) from 6th Street and the heart of downtown. Definitely walkable (but for the 101 degree heat on the day I was there). Some guidebooks stressed as a top site the bats of the Congress Street Bridge and the balcony looked directly out on the bridge--less than a block or so away. But be warned, although I hung around the balcony for hours waiting for the bats (they were supposed to come out at sunset), I never say any. A slight disappointment.

The room was clean, large, and the bed was comfortable. I liked the clean, crisp style--typical of Hyatt hotels. The soaring atrium and glass elevators were also nice--a signature style for Hyatt Regencies that I always enjoy.

There were a good range of things to order from room service and my dinner was particularly good. Prices were reasonable. I also enjoyed a nice pre-dinner drink in the lobby bar and it was very nice. Good views out the windows (again, too hot to sit out on the terrace) and service was quick and friendly. The SW restaurant ( think that was the name of the lobby restaurant) looked like a nice place for breakfast, but I was running late and regret that I didn't have a chance to try it.

I used the valet parking and the staff was very quick in getting the cars. I called from my room and it was always waiting for me (which is not true in every hotel I've stayed at). Service in all areas was good. Check in and check out were quick (of course, that could be because there were no long lines) and every staff person I ran into was friendly but professional.

This hotel met all my expectations and would definitely stay here again on my next trip to Austin.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
63 hotel reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
86 helpful votes 86 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2010

The Hyatt Austin is a fine hotel. It's not as nice as the Four Seasons, but nicer than the Stephen F. Austin Intercontinental (I've stayed at both previously). Hotel is completely renovated; nice flat screens, comfortable beds. Very small rooms and bathrooms have a single sink and old-school tile. Elevators are neat glass elevators and the atrium is a nice Hyatt Regency throwback. The lobby bar was hopping with a neat outside deck on the river where some good live music was playing. The food at the Southwest Bistro in the hotel was passable though I would skip in favor of Austin's many fine restaurants (not worth wasting a meal there in this great dining town). I like the location; somewhat out of the downtown madness of 6th Street but just over the bridge. Would return again.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
80 helpful votes 80 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2010

I was very pleased with the hotel especially since I got a great price at the last minute. My room was very attractive and comfotable as was the atrium and all public areas. Free newspapers and iced lemon water in the lobby.

Location was over the bridge technically in south Austin, but walkable (over the bridge) to downtown.

I was not offended by extra charges for internet, parking etc. since that seems to be customary with hotels at this level. Free internet would have been nice though. $10 a night is a little steep.

I was impressed that there was a recent model coffee maker and fine coffee in the room. This is such a great convenience, and it's always a letdown to check into a room and not find one.

My biggest disappointment was that the pool was full of large bugs - thousands of them. I believe they were all dead and not harmful, but it was unpleasant to see them and swim among them. Somebody really should go through the pool with a net every few hours and make an attempt to clean them out even if it's a losing battle.

It makes you wonder how clean and properly cared for the pool is otherwise. In hot summer in Texas, a pool is important, and this one was disappointing for the reasons I stated.

Also, there is no real pedestrian entrance. You need to walk through an endless parking lot in the hot sun to finally reach the entrance. Perhaps that's why that ice water cooler is strategically located just inside the door. By the time you get there, you really need it.

All in all - a really nice hotel if you can get it at a reasonabl rate, but deal with that pool.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2010

Rooms are comfortable. I got a view of the river, which was great.
Location is good, right next to the "bat bridge", walking distance to downtown and the shops&restaurants on S. Congress Ave.
But I don't think this hotel is good value. The restaurant and the coffee stand in the hotel are over-priced, taking advantage of the fact that there are no other breakfast options near by. Charging $3.5 for a cup of regular coffee at the restaurant and $4 for a croissant at the coffee-stand is a rip-off. And they charge $10 a day for wireless internet.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2010

Great location and access to downtown restaurants and activities. You have to pay for extras. Parking a car is $25 and a motorcycle is $12. Internet is also an extra, costing you $10 per 24 hours. Breakfast looks wonderful spread out in buffet fashion but it'll cost you minimum $17. each. The staff is great but possibly over does their presence. It would be nice for staff to be a little more obscure in their service. Use the concierge-he was very helpful with recommendations for restaurants.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Hyatt Regency Austin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Regency Austin

Address: 208 Barton Springs, Austin, TX 78704
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > Austin > South Austin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Luxury Hotel in Austin
#15 Green Hotel in Austin
#36 Business Hotel in Austin
#36 Family Hotel in Austin
#39 Romantic Hotel in Austin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hyatt Regency Austin 4*
Number of rooms: 448
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in downtown Austin on the shores of Lady Bird Lake, the Hyatt Regency Austin is a full service hotel which offers cool, contemporary new guest rooms. Situated along the Hike & Bike trail, the hotel is within walking distance to all of Downtown Austin's major entertainment districts, and 7 miles from Austin Bergstrom International Airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Booking.com, BookIt.com and Jetsetter so you can book your Hyatt Regency Austin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Regency Austin Hotel Austin
Austin Hyatt Regency
Hyatt Austin

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hyatt Regency Austin, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.