We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hyatt Regency Austin

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Hyatt Regency Austin to your Saves list
Hyatt Regency Austin
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   208 Barton Springs, Austin, TX 78704 (South Austin)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Double Your Points
Ranked #59 of 191 Hotels in Austin
GreenLeadersBronze level
Houston, TX
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great Hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2009

This hotel was great, right on the lake in Austin. Rooms were very nice and clean. Wish we could have stayed longer. Would definitely go back next time I'm in Austin.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

731 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    207
    335
    121
    46
    22
See reviews for
102
182
45
282
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (240)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2009

This hotel was an excellent choice! I went for ACL weekend - and made the reservation last minute that week and they luckily had availability. They upgraded me to a river view room on the 10th floor which was nice. Rooms are clean, standard size (300 sq ft), newly renovated and has everything you need for a pleasant stay - bed is very comfortable. I highly recommend the 3rd floor which has an outdoor shared patio area that overlooks downtown - same view, but the patio is awesome. I loved the service here - everyone was fantastic and super nice. Carlos at the front desk made sure I was taken care of - very sweet, helpful and professional. The room service was great - we enjoyed the Angus burger! There are a few other things that also made my experience positive - the fitness center which was recently renovated was excellent to use - and the fact you can walk right out of the hotel onto the walk/run/hike/bike path at Town Lake is absolutely perfect! The hotels location is right on Town Lake - but walking distance or a fast cab ride to everything including South Congress - which we enjoyed Guero's restaurant - and Jo's coffee - as well as the main downtown areas - Congress, Warehouse District and 4th Street areas in downtown. The pedi-cabs drivers cracked me up to/from the festival - I highly recommend taking them from the hotel, they're great to experience and are fun tour guides! Zax's restaurant next door has a great brunch and outdoor patio area. All in all, I am really pleased with the experience and would go back again! I know that I probably paid a little more than the normal rate but that's what I get for booking last minute and going on a festival weekend. It was worth it.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2009

We stayed at this Hyatt location back in June of 2008 and had a HORRIBLE stay. Mostly because the lack of attention during housekeeping times but also from a couple of the staff that were snotty.

After writing a letter of complaint to the General Manager, we received multiple apologies and an offer to stay at the hotel again with an upgrade to an Executive Suite. So a year later I took them up on the offer.

We stayed in August 2009 and had a FABULOUS stay. The Executive Suite was really nice and roomy. It was a two room suite with a living room, dining area, bar area and an extra bathroom. There was also a typical room with the bed, desk, etc. and the bathroom.

We had a really great stay this time and we will definitely return to this location when we return to Austin.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2009

The actually hotel is a little disappointing - it's obviously been recently renovated with new furniture, but the hotel needs more of a serious overhaul (the structure itself feels very old and dark; the bathrooms are super small, the tile is very dated). That being said, we got a suite for a very reasonable price, and the location is great - very close to downtown and SOCO, and right on the water. The service was very good - even though they have self check-in kiosks, etc., there are plenty of helpful employees to help. The hotel is super family friendly. The gym is fantastic; the pool is not very nice. I would not go out of your way to stay here, but I would not tell you to panic if you had to.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2009

This hotel is a very nice hotel at a very unbelievably low price. However, they make up for it by charging you $10/day for internet, $17 for a breakfast buffet (the cheapest thing on the menu is $12 which doesn't include a $4 beverage) and unless you have a car, your dining choices outside of the hotel are limited (and their restaurants are quite expensive, although the food is pretty good). One thing I also noticed were GIGANTIC cockroaches in the coffee shop (they looked like they could carry a small dog). Most of the staff were extremely nice, but the concierge seemed to be more interested in talking with her co-workers than helping the guests (saying "you need something?" with an exasperated sigh doesn't exactly exude customer service), although to be fair a couple of days later she did allow us to print off our boarding passes (after we wrangled her away from her co-workers).

Make sure that if you stay here, get a room away from the elevators. They make the weirdest sound when they open up (it sounds like a demonic tiger).

The rooms themselves were great. The beds were very comfortable and the room looked well kept.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frisco, Texas
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
49 hotel reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
141 helpful votes 141 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2009

I got this hotel on a weekend for $75 a night on Priceline. I stayed at the Hilton Austin last year (also through Priceline) and liked both for different reasons. I liked the design of the Hyatt rooms better, but the Hilton rooms are bigger. The Hyatt bathroom was pretty small. The Hyatt's location at Town Lake was very nice. Service was good. Room service was also good and not too expensive compared to other hotels. I did not like the $12 a night parking charge to park outside in the Hyatt parking lot. Although that might be an acceptable charge to park in a parking garage, I thought that was an excessive charge for parking outside. Also, like other Hyatts, internet service in the room was not free. T-mobile internet service was $10 a day. Overall, it is a nice hotel, and Hyatt has become my favorite hotel brand.

  • Stayed August 2009
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Corpus Christi, Texas
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2009

Had not stayed here in a few years and was pleasantly surprised how well the hotel had aged. Everything was top notch from the flat screen TV to the comfortable beds. The location is what I like most about the Hyatt Regency. On the south bank of the river you escape the hustle and bustle of downtown Austin yet are right in the middle of everything. The hotel staff were all quite courteous and made our stay enjoyable. The location next to the river made access to bat viewing fabulous. Parking is quite reasonable at $12/night self park. We have always enjoyed our stays at this Hyatt and were not disappointed. I highly recommend this hotel for its location and excellent staff. We were well taken care of.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hyatt Regency Austin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Regency Austin

Address: 208 Barton Springs, Austin, TX 78704
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > Austin > South Austin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Luxury Hotel in Austin
#17 Green Hotel in Austin
#42 Family Hotel in Austin
#44 Romantic Hotel in Austin
#50 Business Hotel in Austin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hyatt Regency Austin 4*
Number of rooms: 448
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in downtown Austin on the shores of Lady Bird Lake, the Hyatt Regency Austin is a full service hotel which offers cool, contemporary new guest rooms. Situated along the Hike & Bike trail, the hotel is within walking distance to all of Downtown Austin's major entertainment districts, and 7 miles from Austin Bergstrom International Airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, BookIt.com, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hyatt Regency Austin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Regency Austin Hotel Austin
Austin Hyatt Regency
Hyatt Austin

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hyatt Regency Austin, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.