We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Lake View and Fine Service Right in the City of Austin” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hyatt Regency Austin

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Hyatt Regency Austin to your Saves list
Hyatt Regency Austin
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   208 Barton Springs, Austin, TX 78704 (South Austin)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Stay More Save More
Ranked #64 of 187 Hotels in Austin
GreenLeadersBronze level
Beachwood, Ohio
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Wonderful Lake View and Fine Service Right in the City of Austin”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

Who would have ever expected a wonderful lake view right out of your window? Our room overlooked Lady Bird Lake and we had an amazing lake and skyline view. We were here for a professional conference and we found the staff friendly and helpful in every way. Be sure to sit on the patio overlooking the lake and see the kayakers and other boaters go by. The famous "Bat Bridge" is just a short walk down the path below the hotel. There is great bat viewing from the top and from below the Congress Street Bridge at twilight. We had a great stay!

Room Tip: Try to get a river view room if you can.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

700 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    196
    318
    118
    46
    22
See reviews for
100
170
44
267
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (228)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Arlington, Texas
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

I enjoyed the room and location. It is in walking distance of downtown and a nearby park. The walking path follows the lake shore. Indoor dining. I liked the breakfast. That was the only meal I ate at the hotel.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, California
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

Facilities were nice and folks were polite, but my experience was underwhelming. The young lady at check-in was cheerful and informed me of the walking/running trail around Lady Bird Lake. I recalled that Hyatt Guest Services sometimes included the ability to borrow "workout" clothing, including running shoes. Sure enough the Guest Services directory in my room indicated who to call for the workout gear, unfortunately after being transferred several times and placing a separate followup call, I was told that that "service" was not, and had never been, available; when I referenced the in-room Guest Services book, I was told it was a typo. Otherwise, the room was great, very nicely appointed and comfortable. Views of Lady Bird Lake and DT Austin are pretty cool as well!

  • Stayed April 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Woodlands, Texas
Top Contributor
95 reviews 95 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

We stayed at the Hyatt for my daughters graduation. Perfect location close to St. Ed's, UT, and downtown. We had a wonderful view of the city. The beds were super comfy, and we ate a terrific breakfast on Mothers Day. The outside bar is great for happy hour. Parking is expensive.

I'm a photographer and photographed a couple getting engaged on the trail around the lake. It was easy and convenient to get to from the hotel.

Room Tip: We were right by the elevator and didn't hear a thing. The view is nice.
See more room tips
Green Features: Impressed by the recycling garbage cans in rooms. They use energy efficient A/C and light blubs, the towels were used again if you wanted, tinted windows for better view and non glare. I love that they use local produce and products, that is wonderful and makes you feel like it is good for you.
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Lansing, Michigan
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
77 helpful votes 77 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

Perfectly located within walking distance to restaurant row - downtown Austin - bat cave - lake activities and more! It felt like everything was only a 10 min walk away. I food was amazing and rooms were clean and spacious. My only complaint is that the music from the bar area really carried through the hotel - right into the rooms...and that ANYONE with issues with heights should not have a higher-floor room. I was on the 11th floor and thought I was going to puke every time I left my room (all rooms face inward open area) and I do not have issues with heights. The glass elevators might be a problem for some people too! I would not hesitate to stay here again!

Room Tip: If you are afraid of heights, get a LOWER level room! Try to get a room facing the water too...othe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014 via mobile

Stayed here for Memorial Day weekend. Right off town lake running trails, awesome place to go jogging around town lake. Walking distance to downtown bars and restaurants. Great place to see the bats as well. Didn't eat at the hotel bc their are to many good eats in Austin.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

Although this is an older property and the rooms are on the small side, it is well maintained and updated frequently. You can't beat the views, especially from the rooms overlooking the Austin skyline and Lady Bird Lake. It's great fun watching the canoers and kayakers plying along the Lake, and in the summer months, you can watch the bats as they exit the Congress Avenue Bridge at dusk. Easy walk to the sites of downtown Austin and 6th Street.

Room Tip: Splurge and get one of the balcony river rooms - these are the high floor rooms over the the Lake.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hyatt Regency Austin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Regency Austin

Address: 208 Barton Springs, Austin, TX 78704
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > Austin > South Austin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 Luxury Hotel in Austin
#17 Green Hotel in Austin
#45 Family Hotel in Austin
#47 Romantic Hotel in Austin
#50 Business Hotel in Austin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hyatt Regency Austin 4*
Number of rooms: 448
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in downtown Austin on the shores of Lady Bird Lake, the Hyatt Regency Austin is a full service hotel which offers cool, contemporary new guest rooms. Situated along the Hike & Bike trail, the hotel is within walking distance to all of Downtown Austin's major entertainment districts, and 7 miles from Austin Bergstrom International Airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, BookIt.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hyatt Regency Austin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Regency Austin Hotel Austin
Austin Hyatt Regency
Hyatt Austin

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hyatt Regency Austin, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.