We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“not too bad stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hyatt Regency Austin

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Hyatt Regency Austin to your Saves list
Hyatt Regency Austin
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   208 Barton Springs, Austin, TX 78704 (South Austin)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Double Your Points
Ranked #58 of 191 Hotels in Austin
GreenLeadersBronze level
Austin, Texas
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“not too bad stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2013

My husband and I had a Moonlight Cruise with Lonestar Boat on a Friday evening after 10 pm. Very romantic experience after being married for 28 years, we decided to stay for the night. Our stay was comfortable, and staff are very helpful. Other than the building being old, and parking that needs update ... We'll still recommend this hotel to family and friends.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

780 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    226
    354
    131
    47
    22
See reviews for
108
191
46
310
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (258)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Houston, Texas
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2013

Location on Town Lake is beautiful. Common areas are nice. View from my room is great. Room itself is a dump. This hotel was built in the '80's and it is painfully obvious the bath rooms have never been updated. Yuck. Threadbare towels, no minibar.....all at a bargain price of +$300/night. I could have gotten a lot more for my $$ had I done my TripAdvisor homework.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seguin, Texas
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2013

We stayed at this location to go to the Zak Theatre nearby. The hotel is under construction, but I did not notice any noise - even though they had earplugs on the bedside table. The staff was great. The breakfast buffet was wonderful. I got the bed & breakfast pkg, which was a good value. All the hotels in Austin are expensive if they are near any attractions. The parking was terrible - DO NOT park under any of the trees. I could hardly see out of the windows for all the bird poop! Had to go to the car wash directly from the hotel. We did not pay for parking - when we left there was no one in the booth, the gate opened and I drove out! I figured I wasn't going to go hunting for someone to give the money! I was not impressed with the room - just an average room. It was clean!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HyattSupport, Social Media Mgr at Hyatt Regency Austin, responded to this review, October 9, 2013
Good afternoon and thank you very much for telling us about your recent experience here. It's always such a pleasure to hear that our service and food options were great. As for parking, we are pleased to let you know that our brand new parking garage is opening at the end of the week. Guests can now say, "Goodbye!" to those pesky birds in the outside lot and enjoy the awesomeness that is 700+ covered parking spots. We hope you decide to stay with us again on your next trip to Austin. Have a wonderful day.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2013

The parking situation right now really sucks. The valet is not employed by the Hyatt and they were not pleasant to deal with. I complained to the front desk and I did like their response. The front desk was great all week actually. That being said, I was accused of 'not knowing how valet parking works', had to wait 15 minutes to get my car because the mgr didn't show up for work, and overall had a bad experience. Valet is 24/day and self park is 17/day which seems expensive for Austin.

The rest of the whole needs an update. The carpet, rooms, bathrooms, and hallway seems very 80/90s. The layout of the building makes parts of your room very loud. Like one day the UT cheerleaders were there at like 8am and I could hear them on the 8th floor yelling on the 2nd floor. It wasn't enough to keep me awake but just be aware. They do put ear plugs next to your bed.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Rapids, Michigan
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013

Booked for price (medium) and location for a four night stay to check out Austin. It's a "small" big city and most sites are within walking distance or by city bus ($1 per ride or $2 for 24 hours).

Likes:
-right next to Congress St/Bat Bridge so easy to do that at dusk
-SoCo is directly south in walking distance or by bus
-6th St, Barton Springs restaurant row close by and worth checking out too
-LBJ Library and State Capitol are easy bus rides

Dislikes:
-construction doesn't look close to being done so would suggest avoiding staying here if you have a car
-rooms are fairly up to date but little details (water stain on ceiling in bath, bathroom door appears old and wasn't remodeled) just show it's not top notch
-lobby bar is very noisy at night so you may need to use the earplugs provided
-brunch is okay but $17.50 pp; you have to walk a bit to find other breakfast places.

Had a nice visit with friendly people, safe streets, and good food. It's worth checking out Austin.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013

We stayed here this last weekend for a friend's 50th birthday party, which was a blast! They had a great spot in the hotel for a private party with bar, dance floor, band, etc. The food was good and the drinks were too. We enjoyed the pool as well. The hotel is in a perfect location that was an easy walk down to SOCO restaurants, the trails and downtown for the Pecan Festival. The room was very clean and comfortable. I especially liked that the bed faced the windows for a nice view of downtown and Lady Bird Lake. They are doing construction right now in the parking lot, but we got in and out just fine. I've stayed here several times and it was nice as always. It's a go to hotel in Austin!

Room Tip: It's worth the extra to get a room facing downtown and the lake.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marietta, Georgia
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2013

So close, yet so far... No one thing in particular keeps this hotel from five stars, they just don't quite hit that level on any factor. More like four and a half stars, with some fours, leaving it at a four. Very pleasant attentive staff, desk staff tended to be a little on the hit or miss side. Called the operator for toiletries and towels three times over three days, all delivered very quickly. I know it's not their fault but all the construction around there is a negative. Furniture, fixtures, carpet, paint---all showing just the slightest bit of aging. I'm nitpicking but if you want five stars, there can't be any nits to pick. Definitely would not discourage some one from staying here, as long as they're getting a deal or a corporate rate.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the river side. Otherwise, you're looking at parking lots and construction.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hyatt Regency Austin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Regency Austin

Address: 208 Barton Springs, Austin, TX 78704
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > Austin > South Austin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Luxury Hotel in Austin
#17 Green Hotel in Austin
#41 Romantic Hotel in Austin
#43 Family Hotel in Austin
#45 Business Hotel in Austin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hyatt Regency Austin 4*
Number of rooms: 448
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in downtown Austin on the shores of Lady Bird Lake, the Hyatt Regency Austin is a full service hotel which offers cool, contemporary new guest rooms. Situated along the Hike & Bike trail, the hotel is within walking distance to all of Downtown Austin's major entertainment districts, and 7 miles from Austin Bergstrom International Airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, BookIt.com, Odigeo and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hyatt Regency Austin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Regency Austin Hotel Austin
Austin Hyatt Regency
Hyatt Austin

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hyatt Regency Austin, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.