We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great stay in centre of austin” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hyatt Regency Austin

Save Saved
You added Hyatt Regency Austin to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hyatt Regency Austin
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   208 Barton Springs, Austin, TX 78704 (South Austin)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Stay More Save More
Ranked #70 of 183 hotels in Austin
GreenLeadersBronze level
queenstown
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
“great stay in centre of austin”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2013 via mobile

we stayed at the hyatt around the 8th of may and found it an ideal place to explore austin on foot.
just the right position between soco and down town. the staff were very helpfull and friendly. especially Sara on the front desk
who sorted out any requests that we had very quickly. also Richard in the main bar area looked after us very well too. thanks guys.
great coffee shop also. again friendly and helpfull staff

Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

622 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    164
    289
    103
    44
    22
See reviews for
90
146
44
233
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (196)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Marble Falls, Texas
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2013 via mobile

We chose the hotel because of proximity to Long Center which is an easy 5 minute walk. It is also close to South Congress and downtown. Our room was clean, however the AC did not cool correctly. The restaurants menu is very limited but the draw seems to be the bar. It's not the Austin glitterati crowd-seems to be business and conference goers. But even tho it is very dated, the support staff seems to be friendly and capable. And it is quiet, which sometimes is hard to find in Austin-especially in this area. Keep in mind, we were here on a Wednesday nite.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, Texas
Top Contributor
91 reviews 91 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
69 helpful votes 69 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2013

I attended a conference at this hotel. The staff went out of their way to be helpful and courteous. The food was wonderful. Everything was top quality. The view of Austin and Town Lake was beautiful. The location for downtown Austin and sight seeing is perfect.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stavanger
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2013

This was a great find. Unbeatable location with views directly onto Lady Bird Johnson lake and the Austin skyline from the bed. Large comfortable room and exemplary service. The housekeeping was a bit sloppy- bathroom wasnt cleaned properly and some of the breakfast crockery was not exactly spotless but the hotel staff dealt with this very promptly and therefore the hotel merits the five stars. The hotel is ideally located between south congress and downtown with the added bonus of being able to watch the sunset bat flight directly from the bedroom window. Decent breakfast too. Viewwise, this place has the edge over the four seasons or the marriott across the road.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Top Contributor
82 reviews 82 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2013

Great hotel, nice lobby. There was a lot of construction at the time, and the walk to South Congress is ~20 mins. Right on the river with a great running/walking path. Would recommend!! We didn't eat at the hotel because we were there for a wedding, but the service otherwise was fantastic.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albuquerque, NM
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2013

I stayed here for two nights. Very clean rooms, and very quiet. I was on teh 7th floor and while there was construction outside I was not able to hear it. The breakfast buffet was also very good. All the employees at the hotel were super helpful and respectful. I have been to Austin many times and this is the first time I stayed at the Hyatt regency, I will definately be stain here for my next trip.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
95 reviews 95 reviews
54 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2013 via mobile

The good
Location, breakfast service, starbucks in the hotel.
The bad
There is a huge construction site at the hotel. It is very noisy.
I asked for a very quiet room to be able to sleep after a 30 hours journey and a 13 hours time difference. I got rm 533 just near the elevators. I heard all conversations from those taking the elevators as well as the disturbing elevator ring.
All rooms are reachable through a gigantic inner atrium. The bar and ball room are on the ground floor of the atrium. It was full of very very noisy people and the sound was travelling all up to the rooms. To make it worse. We had lots of drunk people on my floor shouting at the elevator.
The room is dark and smelly. The aircon is very load. The standard of the room is very low, this cant be Hyatt standard.
I will try to avoid the hotel next time.

Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HyattSupport, Social Media Mgr at Hyatt Regency Austin, responded to this review, April 30, 2013
Thank you for your feedback. We are happy you chose our hotel for your stay and we are terribly sorry for the problems you encountered. We have reviewed your comments with our staff and assure you the situation has been addressed. If your travels bring you back into Austin we'd love another chance to show you our true Hyatt standards when it comes to our rooms and service.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hyatt Regency Austin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Regency Austin

Address: 208 Barton Springs, Austin, TX 78704
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > Austin > South Austin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 Luxury Hotel in Austin
#20 Green Hotel in Austin
#55 Business Hotel in Austin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hyatt Regency Austin 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in downtown Austin on the shores of Lady Bird Lake, the Hyatt Regency Austin is a full service hotel which offers cool, contemporary new guest rooms. Situated along the Hike & Bike trail, the hotel is within walking distance to all of Downtown Austin's major entertainment districts, and 7 miles from Austin Bergstrom International Airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Travelocity, BookIt.com, Tingo, Hotels.com, BookingOdigeoWL, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Otel and Venere so you can book your Hyatt Regency Austin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Regency Austin Hotel Austin
Austin Hyatt Regency
Hyatt Austin

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hyatt Regency Austin, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.