We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Location, location, location.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hyatt Regency Austin

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Hyatt Regency Austin to your Saves list
Hyatt Regency Austin
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   208 Barton Springs, Austin, TX 78704 (South Austin)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Double Your Points
Ranked #55 of 191 Hotels in Austin
GreenLeadersBronze level
Marble Falls, Texas
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Location, location, location.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2013

We chose the hotel because of proximity to Long Center which is an easy 5 minute walk. It is also close to South Congress and downtown. Our room was clean, however the AC did not cool correctly. The restaurants menu is very limited but the draw seems to be the bar. It's not the Austin glitterati crowd-seems to be business and conference goers. But even tho it is very dated, the support staff seems to be friendly and capable. And it is quiet, which sometimes is hard to find in Austin-especially in this area. Keep in mind, we were here on a Wednesday nite.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

805 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    241
    362
    132
    47
    23
See reviews for
109
195
46
328
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (260)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Antonio, Texas
Top Contributor
112 reviews 112 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
96 helpful votes 96 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2013

I attended a conference at this hotel. The staff went out of their way to be helpful and courteous. The food was wonderful. Everything was top quality. The view of Austin and Town Lake was beautiful. The location for downtown Austin and sight seeing is perfect.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stavanger
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2013

This was a great find. Unbeatable location with views directly onto Lady Bird Johnson lake and the Austin skyline from the bed. Large comfortable room and exemplary service. The housekeeping was a bit sloppy- bathroom wasnt cleaned properly and some of the breakfast crockery was not exactly spotless but the hotel staff dealt with this very promptly and therefore the hotel merits the five stars. The hotel is ideally located between south congress and downtown with the added bonus of being able to watch the sunset bat flight directly from the bedroom window. Decent breakfast too. Viewwise, this place has the edge over the four seasons or the marriott across the road.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Top Contributor
88 reviews 88 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2013

Great hotel, nice lobby. There was a lot of construction at the time, and the walk to South Congress is ~20 mins. Right on the river with a great running/walking path. Would recommend!! We didn't eat at the hotel because we were there for a wedding, but the service otherwise was fantastic.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albuquerque, NM
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2013

I stayed here for two nights. Very clean rooms, and very quiet. I was on teh 7th floor and while there was construction outside I was not able to hear it. The breakfast buffet was also very good. All the employees at the hotel were super helpful and respectful. I have been to Austin many times and this is the first time I stayed at the Hyatt regency, I will definately be stain here for my next trip.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
109 reviews 109 reviews
62 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
82 helpful votes 82 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2013 via mobile

The good
Location, breakfast service, starbucks in the hotel.
The bad
There is a huge construction site at the hotel. It is very noisy.
I asked for a very quiet room to be able to sleep after a 30 hours journey and a 13 hours time difference. I got rm 533 just near the elevators. I heard all conversations from those taking the elevators as well as the disturbing elevator ring.
All rooms are reachable through a gigantic inner atrium. The bar and ball room are on the ground floor of the atrium. It was full of very very noisy people and the sound was travelling all up to the rooms. To make it worse. We had lots of drunk people on my floor shouting at the elevator.
The room is dark and smelly. The aircon is very load. The standard of the room is very low, this cant be Hyatt standard.
I will try to avoid the hotel next time.

Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HyattSupport, Social Media Mgr at Hyatt Regency Austin, responded to this review, April 30, 2013
Thank you for your feedback. We are happy you chose our hotel for your stay and we are terribly sorry for the problems you encountered. We have reviewed your comments with our staff and assure you the situation has been addressed. If your travels bring you back into Austin we'd love another chance to show you our true Hyatt standards when it comes to our rooms and service.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013

I spent a week at this hotel while working and looking at real estate. I thought the hotel had a warm and inviting atmosphere with a decent level of activity most evenings. I was given a room on a high floor facing the city with stunning views of the lake as well. It was very clean with a nice scent. There was some elevator noise near the bathroom but wasn't an issue deeper inside the room. A buffet breakfast was included with my room which I found to be decent and efficient. The pool alongside the lake with a view of downtown Austin was a nice bonus...although no poolside service was a bummer. The gym was surprisingly nice for a hotel of this type, plus you have direct access to the footpath along Town Lake for decent jog. The food was not so great, but this is Austin and you should be eating most of your meals in the fantastic restaurants

Room Tip: make sure to ask for a high floor facing the city
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Hyatt Regency Austin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Regency Austin

Address: 208 Barton Springs, Austin, TX 78704
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > Austin > South Austin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 Luxury Hotel in Austin
#16 Green Hotel in Austin
#34 Business Hotel in Austin
#40 Romantic Hotel in Austin
#41 Family Hotel in Austin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hyatt Regency Austin 4*
Number of rooms: 448
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in downtown Austin on the shores of Lady Bird Lake, the Hyatt Regency Austin is a full service hotel which offers cool, contemporary new guest rooms. Situated along the Hike & Bike trail, the hotel is within walking distance to all of Downtown Austin's major entertainment districts, and 7 miles from Austin Bergstrom International Airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Odigeo and BookIt.com so you can book your Hyatt Regency Austin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Regency Austin Hotel Austin
Austin Hyatt Regency
Hyatt Austin

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hyatt Regency Austin, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.