We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent follow-up my management” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hyatt Regency Austin

Save Saved
You added Hyatt Regency Austin to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hyatt Regency Austin
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   208 Barton Springs, Austin, TX 78704 (South Austin)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Stay More Save More
Ranked #66 of 184 Hotels in Austin
GreenLeadersBronze level
Saint Louis, Missouri, United States
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Excellent follow-up my management”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2012

I stayed at the Hyatt in Austin for a 3 day seminar, and overall the experience was great. The banquet staff was very attentive and made sure we had everything we needed and requested, even when it was simple as lemons for tea or an extra bottle of water. I was very impressed with the hotel despite the minor issues with room location and keys not working upon arrival and a less than professional clerk who didn't want to extend 1 hour for a late check out request. I completed their online survey after my visit noting the minor incidents and the manager so graciously sent me a personal email apologizing for the minor incidents and comping one night of my stay. That type of service makes you truly feel like a valued customer and I have already booked another stay at a Hyatt in Chicago for an upcoming trip. Great Customer Service, excellent location, very nice people and a true attention to detail.

Room Tip: The hotel is conveniently located downtown on the waterfront. There is a very popular running/walkin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HyattSupport, Social Media Mgr at Hyatt Regency Austin, responded to this review, November 12, 2012
Thank you for your recent review! We are so pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay. Our guest's happiness is always our first priority so it's great to see our follow-up being rewarded. How wonderful that you're off to another Hyatt already. Safe travels!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

652 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    180
    299
    106
    45
    22
See reviews for
93
159
44
243
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (209)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2012

This is the main hotel I stay at in Austin because I have status membership with Hyatt. I would highly recommend looking at other choices.

The wifi is painfully slow, but that's the case at most hotels. The hot breakfast buffet is ridiculously expensive, $17.50. Parking is $14 a day. The view of bat bridge is mediocre, even the receptionist said so herself. The bats fly away from the hotel and at night, it's very hard to see without actually being on the bridge.

Also, bring earplugs because the way the hotel is built, it's very resonant. You can always hear the lobby very loudly, and its especially bad on the lower floors.

The hot water tends to fade in and out, but it always comes back as long as you leave the shower on for long enough; not very eco-friendly. Also, my sheets have some stains on them.

The location however is great. The gorgeous walking path along the river is right outside of the hotel. Great for exercising.

Overall, the amenities are not at all impressive. There are much better hotels that are a reasonable drive north on IH-35. The Doubletree there for example is under $100 a night, with a complimentary cooked to order breakfast buffet and free parking.

Room Tip: Bring earplugs!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HyattSupport, Social Media Mgr at Hyatt Regency Austin, responded to this review, October 29, 2012
Thank you for telling us about your stay with us. We appreciate all of your comments about the hotel. We're surprised to hear you couldn't see the infamous bat bridge from our hotel which is right next door. We understand the issue of noise in an atrium-style hotel which is why we provide complimentary earplugs in the bed stand for sensitive guests. Please accept our sincere apology about your unclean room. Your comfort is always our top priority so we hope you can consider us again for your next Austin venture.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey Shore
Top Contributor
86 reviews 86 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2012

Located on the bank of Lady Bird Lake, the Hyatt is close to both downtown and SoCo, the fun district. The staff are very nice, the facility clean and bright. My room was large and comfortable. TV reception was mixed but all else went well. I do find this open Atrium style of facility where all rooms open off of a tiered central court to be bright and pleasant compared to the traditional dark hall design. At the same time, the floors cried out for live plants since the interior seemed so sterile. Located across from downtown gives the hotel and restaurant a wonderful view and easy access to the lakeside walking path. If the price is competitive, this is an excellent choice to stay at.

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing the lake/downtown. Do not take a room near the elevators, they have a unique a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HyattSupport, Social Media Mgr at Hyatt Regency Austin, responded to this review, October 26, 2012
Thank you for your recent review. A waterside Gem? Now that's a term we will have to steal from you. We're thrilled to hear about your stay and will take your comments into account.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nyc
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2012

The service at this hotel is outstanding. I've traveled all over the world and went to Austin for a family occasion and it necessitated very specific room requests. Both the reservations manager (Daniel) and the Front Desk Manager (Matt) were extraodinarily helpful. Throughout the stay, the rest of the staff were also wonderful.
We loved the location on the lake with all the water activites and trails right at the doorstep. Also, if you have a room facing the water, the views of downtown Austin are fantastic.
The rooms were great-I was told they are larger than that at the Four Seasons. Everyone in our party were extremely satisfied and would return again in a heartbeat.

Room Tip: Get a room that faces the lake-stunning views of Austin at night!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Woodlands, Texas
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2012

A terrific location on the water in downtown Austin is tempered by mediocre, bland rooms; tiny, old bathrooms and horrible HDTV reception. As the hotel is 1980's style, the rooms do not have enough electrical outlets for todays traveller. The staff is very pleasant and the room service burger is well above average. Would stay there again due to location, but for over $350 per night it is VERY overpriced and there is absolutley nothing about the facility that warrants that price.

Room Tip: Ask for water view on a lower floor for best views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
73 hotel reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2012

I was in Austin for 3 nights, 4 days for business at the University. There were a lot of hotels booked, so honestly this wasn't my first choice, but it worked out real well.

It lived up to Hyatt Regency standards, with quality room, comfortable bed (the TV HD quality could be better). I had a business package special that included breakfast buffet each morning, a shirt laundered each day, free internet, free bottle of water. It was really a good deal, especially the shirt pressing...it was sweet.

The location isn't the greatest if you want to enjoy downtown. You either have to walk across the 1st street or Congress bridge. Maybe a 15 - 20 minute walk depending on where you're going.

The Hyatt workout room lived up to its good standards with cool towels, lots of machines. It is also right next to a great trail and there are tons of people on it.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
Top Contributor
100 reviews 100 reviews
87 hotel reviews
Reviews in 70 cities Reviews in 70 cities
84 helpful votes 84 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2012

Ten Things You Should Know Before You Book:

1. No common area wi-fi. Whomever thought that was a good idea should be fired.
2. Rooms are typical renovated Hyatt. Nothing spectacular.
3. Not enough outlets in the room (but there never are at most older hotels).
4. Food is good and not horribly overpriced.
5. On the shores of Lady Bird Lake so jogging trails, kayaks, Congress Street Bat Bridge are all nearby.
6. Nice fitness center.
7. Well trained staff.
8. Comfortable furniture and bedding.
9. Very clean
10. There are better, less expensive choices available in Austin.

Room Tip: They won't guarantee you a 'view' of the bats departing from the bridge but ask for a ro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HyattSupport, Social Media Mgr at Hyatt Regency Austin, responded to this review, October 8, 2012
Thank you for your recent review. We are glad you enjoy our in-house as well as outside amenities for the hotel! We apologize about the WiFi charges but can assure you that they are in line with our competitors around town. We hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hyatt Regency Austin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Regency Austin

Address: 208 Barton Springs, Austin, TX 78704
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > Austin > South Austin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 Luxury Hotel in Austin
#18 Green Hotel in Austin
#43 Romantic Hotel in Austin
#49 Business Hotel in Austin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hyatt Regency Austin 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in downtown Austin on the shores of Lady Bird Lake, the Hyatt Regency Austin is a full service hotel which offers cool, contemporary new guest rooms. Situated along the Hike & Bike trail, the hotel is within walking distance to all of Downtown Austin's major entertainment districts, and 7 miles from Austin Bergstrom International Airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, BookIt.com, Tingo, Priceline, Hotels.com, Reservation Counter, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Otel and Venere so you can book your Hyatt Regency Austin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Regency Austin Hotel Austin
Austin Hyatt Regency
Hyatt Austin

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hyatt Regency Austin, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.