We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mediocre, 80's Hotel, Great Location” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hyatt Regency Austin

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Hyatt Regency Austin to your Saves list
Hyatt Regency Austin
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   208 Barton Springs, Austin, TX 78704 (South Austin)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Stay More Save More
Ranked #64 of 187 Hotels in Austin
GreenLeadersBronze level
The Woodlands, Texas
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
“Mediocre, 80's Hotel, Great Location”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2012

A terrific location on the water in downtown Austin is tempered by mediocre, bland rooms; tiny, old bathrooms and horrible HDTV reception. As the hotel is 1980's style, the rooms do not have enough electrical outlets for todays traveller. The staff is very pleasant and the room service burger is well above average. Would stay there again due to location, but for over $350 per night it is VERY overpriced and there is absolutley nothing about the facility that warrants that price.

Room Tip: Ask for water view on a lower floor for best views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

697 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    196
    315
    118
    46
    22
See reviews for
100
170
44
264
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (228)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Pittsburgh
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
74 hotel reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2012

I was in Austin for 3 nights, 4 days for business at the University. There were a lot of hotels booked, so honestly this wasn't my first choice, but it worked out real well.

It lived up to Hyatt Regency standards, with quality room, comfortable bed (the TV HD quality could be better). I had a business package special that included breakfast buffet each morning, a shirt laundered each day, free internet, free bottle of water. It was really a good deal, especially the shirt pressing...it was sweet.

The location isn't the greatest if you want to enjoy downtown. You either have to walk across the 1st street or Congress bridge. Maybe a 15 - 20 minute walk depending on where you're going.

The Hyatt workout room lived up to its good standards with cool towels, lots of machines. It is also right next to a great trail and there are tons of people on it.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
Top Contributor
112 reviews 112 reviews
96 hotel reviews
Reviews in 76 cities Reviews in 76 cities
92 helpful votes 92 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2012

Ten Things You Should Know Before You Book:

1. No common area wi-fi. Whomever thought that was a good idea should be fired.
2. Rooms are typical renovated Hyatt. Nothing spectacular.
3. Not enough outlets in the room (but there never are at most older hotels).
4. Food is good and not horribly overpriced.
5. On the shores of Lady Bird Lake so jogging trails, kayaks, Congress Street Bat Bridge are all nearby.
6. Nice fitness center.
7. Well trained staff.
8. Comfortable furniture and bedding.
9. Very clean
10. There are better, less expensive choices available in Austin.

Room Tip: They won't guarantee you a 'view' of the bats departing from the bridge but ask for a ro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HyattSupport, Social Media Mgr at Hyatt Regency Austin, responded to this review, October 8, 2012
Thank you for your recent review. We are glad you enjoy our in-house as well as outside amenities for the hotel! We apologize about the WiFi charges but can assure you that they are in line with our competitors around town. We hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plano, TX
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2012

Very nice hotel, good access to downtown, rather easy to find, but seriously in 2012 you are still charging for Wi-Fi? Even when booked as a business "conference hotel"? Even in the lobby and conference areas? I find this absolutely outrageous!

There is an hourly rate and a daily rate for internet use. The hourly rate is an hour on the clock - not cumulative for the time you actually use.

Their "reason" is that other hotels in Austin charge for Wi-Fi. Well wake up and realize that Austin is supposed to be leading edge - not business adverse. The Hyatt Austin is otherwise a very nice hotel with stylish, updated rooms, nice customer service, and even the conference food was good.

Hyatt e-mailed a survey after the stay and I voiced my disapproval for the internet charge. They responded promptly and said the would credit back the internet charge to my credit card (which hasn't shown up yet on my card). That woudl be very nice, but did not make up for the aggrivation to begin with.

Room Tip: I was fortunate enough to have an upper level, corner room with a nice view of the lake/bridge.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HyattSupport, Social Media Mgr at Hyatt Regency Austin, responded to this review, October 8, 2012
Hello and thank you for your review, your comments are very important to us. Please accept our sincere apology that we were unable to provide you with the quality of amenities and service you deserved during your anniversary stay. We can assure you that we do a quarterly competitive analysis and that our pricing structure is in line with other downtown full service hotels. Please contact us if you did not receive your credit back. Have a wonderful day.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

This hotel is ordinary compared to what I normally woud reserve in Austin. It does have a great location, however, there was nothing memorable about it. I normally stay @ the San Jose or the Kinder Modern (great!)- Unfortunately they were totally booked.
My most memorable thought concerning my stay was:
1) TV remote did not work & they never brought me another after requesting it
2) NO shampoo or conditioner (they did finally bring me some)
3) A $3 bottle of water on the bath vanity.....come on, cheapskates...get real! For $300/night, I have to pay for a cheap brand of H2O.......forget it
Won't be back

Room Tip: book @ The San Jose or the Kinder
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HyattSupport, Social Media Mgr at Hyatt Regency Austin, responded to this review, September 27, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write a review on your recent stay with us. We apologize that we did not meet expectations and we are actively working with our housekeeping and engineering departments to ensure everything is stocked and properly functioning. We appreciate your comments and we hope you'll give us another try soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2012

The hotel is in a great location if you want to be close to downtown with easy access to I-35E. It is also right on town lake so you can go kayaking/jogging/etc. right from the hotel! In addition to having a solid location they also have a pretty solid gym and restaurants. I've stayed here 2 times before and even though it's not the Four Seasons / Ritz, it's a great deal for the price! Speaking of price...read my tips below on how I book there all the time for only $100 a night!

I have always been able to get the rooms for about $100 a night by using Priceline! Just select downtown hotels in Austin and 4 Star or better, then BID $100 a night! Boom! If you don't get it try again at $120 a night. I've never not won at $100 a night but I hear around graduation and when there are home town football games it can get more crowded in Austin. Hope the review helps!

Room Tip: I have always been able to get the rooms for about $100 a night by using Priceline! Just select dow...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spicewood, Texas
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
89 helpful votes 89 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2012 via mobile

As frequent leisure travelers we've stayed in many four star properties. When we first rolled into the porte cochere we were underwhelmed to the point of concern. Once we stepped inside our disappointment turned into excitement. With the exception of the pool this hotel meets all the criteria for a four star property. The staff is well trained and friendly and the rooms are everything you would expect including high quality bedding. The rooms facing north have unbelieveable views of Lady Bird lake, Congress Street bridge and skyline of downtown Austin . The fitness center is large, well equipped and has high end equipment. To walk out the back door and be able to walk or run around the lake is an experience rarely found in a hotel stay. The independenly owned and operated water activities right out the back door give this hotel more of a resort feel than you normally find. We had a fantastic 26th wedding anniversary here and hope to return soon. Maybe by then they will have given the pool area the makeover it desperately needs.

Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HyattSupport, Social Media Mgr at Hyatt Regency Austin, responded to this review, September 14, 2012
Hello and thank you so much for you're lovely review! We're glad to hear you took advantage of the 24/hr gym and amazing trail on Lady Bird Lake. We hope to see you two back here for your 27th anniversary, congratulations!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hyatt Regency Austin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Regency Austin

Address: 208 Barton Springs, Austin, TX 78704
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > Austin > South Austin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 Luxury Hotel in Austin
#17 Green Hotel in Austin
#44 Family Hotel in Austin
#48 Romantic Hotel in Austin
#48 Business Hotel in Austin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hyatt Regency Austin 4*
Number of rooms: 448
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in downtown Austin on the shores of Lady Bird Lake, the Hyatt Regency Austin is a full service hotel which offers cool, contemporary new guest rooms. Situated along the Hike & Bike trail, the hotel is within walking distance to all of Downtown Austin's major entertainment districts, and 7 miles from Austin Bergstrom International Airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, BookIt.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hyatt Regency Austin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Regency Austin Hotel Austin
Austin Hyatt Regency
Hyatt Austin

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hyatt Regency Austin, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.