We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great view of river” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hyatt Regency Austin

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Hyatt Regency Austin to your Saves list
Hyatt Regency Austin
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   208 Barton Springs, Austin, TX 78704 (South Austin)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Double Your Points
Ranked #59 of 191 Hotels in Austin
GreenLeadersBronze level
connecticut
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
79 helpful votes 79 helpful votes
“great view of river”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2012

beautiful location in Austin right on the river - great attention to detail.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

788 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    229
    359
    131
    47
    22
See reviews for
108
192
46
316
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (259)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bismarck
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2012

Great location along the recreation trails, near downtown, and the Capitol. Nice accommodations and good food.

  • Stayed January 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Irving, Texas
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2012

Since they remodeled this hotel, it is now one of the best in Austin. The fitness room has been totally remodeled which is a huge plus if you like to get a little exercise. The rooms have been renovated with a very updated look. Unfortunately, they decided to use full beds instead of queen beds and it can be pretty cramp if you are use to sleeping on a king bed. It is so convenient to everything that we wanted to visit while we were in Austin.

Room Tip: Try to stay on the water side because you get a fabulous view of downtown.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, TX
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2012

Although we are from Austin, we had tickets to the New Year's Eve Pops concert at the Palmer Events Center. So, we decided to see if we could find a downtown hotel that was not too high-priced to stay overnight. We wanted to avoid the traffic! The Hyatt Regency had rooms available with an option for an upgrade for a room with windows facing the river and downtown Austin. When we arrived, the desk clerk told us no upgrades were available, but asked if we'd like a higher floor. We agreed to this and were taken to an awesome room with no upgrade fees! Our windows faced both the river and part of downtown. Right across the street was the Events Center and we just walked to our concert. When we got out of the concert at 10:00, there were fireworks right there in front of us. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay and highly recommend this hotel for its amazing service and location. You can easily walk to explore South Congress (SoCo), the hike-and-bike trail, downtown Austin, or ride the cruise boat. Don't miss this gem of a hotel!

Room Tip: Ask for the upgrade to a river or downtown view. You may just get that great view and not pay anyth...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Davidson, North Carolina
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
99 helpful votes 99 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2011

I recently attended a 3 day meeting at the Hyatt and must say it was a great stay.
Because the hotel is on the other side (south) of the Congress bridge, i worried that it would not be easily accessible to the great dining and entertainment places on the north side - i was wrong - those places are easy walks or cheap cab rides.
the hoptrel itself was fresh, clean and offered a great lobby bar where my fellow meeting participants spent A LOT of time. The bartenders were great.
the only drawback/disappointment, which is otherwise a great benefit to the Hyatt location, was that the bats had left the bridge for the winter :(.

Room Tip: get a room on the North side - overlooks the water and the bat cave under the Congress bridge
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
74 helpful votes 74 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2011

No free wifi was a big disappointment.
Service was excellent ( both at Reception and at Breakfast ).
The food was good : well cooked / prepared
I found the room to be too hot but when I turned on the A/C it was quite noisy. Bathroom & toiletries were adequate.
The bed was comfortable : the mattress was supportive but with a soft cover so it didn’t feel hard. Plenty of pillows allowed me to get the right level of support.
A bigger selection of Tea would have been nice, as would the choice of decaf coffee.
Nice to have an iPod doc & iron / ironing board in the room.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wallace, North Carolina
Top Contributor
139 reviews 139 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2011

The Hyatt Regency Austin is what you would expect. Upscale chain w/ good amenities. The only real complaint is that they charge for internet service in the business room. At this price internet services should be included (as they are at most other chain hotels). Location good, right on the water, and about 10 minute walk to 6th avenue.

Room Tip: ask for room facing the water.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hyatt Regency Austin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Regency Austin

Address: 208 Barton Springs, Austin, TX 78704
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > Austin > South Austin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Luxury Hotel in Austin
#17 Green Hotel in Austin
#41 Romantic Hotel in Austin
#41 Business Hotel in Austin
#43 Family Hotel in Austin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hyatt Regency Austin 4*
Number of rooms: 448
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in downtown Austin on the shores of Lady Bird Lake, the Hyatt Regency Austin is a full service hotel which offers cool, contemporary new guest rooms. Situated along the Hike & Bike trail, the hotel is within walking distance to all of Downtown Austin's major entertainment districts, and 7 miles from Austin Bergstrom International Airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotels.com, BookIt.com, Hyatt Hotels Corporation and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Hyatt Regency Austin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Regency Austin Hotel Austin
Austin Hyatt Regency
Hyatt Austin

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hyatt Regency Austin, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.