We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very accommodating” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Express & Suites Austin - Sunset Valley

Save Saved
You added Holiday Inn Express & Suites Austin - Sunset Valley to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Austin - Sunset Valley
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   4892 US Highway 290 W, Sunset Valley, Austin, TX 78735   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #106 of 183 hotels in Austin
Solomons, Maryland
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Very accommodating”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2013

We stayed here to attend a family wedding the end of April, 2013. For all practical purposes, we just took over the lobby to visit with family. There is a nice long pub-height table that was great to sit at a visit after breakfast time. The staff was very accommodating and gracious. The highways around here take some getting used to. We were there for three days and continued to miss our exit to return to the hotel. Not a major problem, as the next exit was a mile or less away.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

71 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    13
    27
    17
    8
    6
See reviews for
21
17
5
20
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Christchurch, New Zealand
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2013

The location of this hotel was the only reason for staying at this hotel - there is very little accommodation in the area. We stayed at the hotel twice, both times in even numbered rooms. The hotel is an L shape, If wishing for a quieter room the best option would likely be odd numbered rooms X03 - X15 (X - floor number - which are on the backside of the L running parallel to the many roads in front of the hotel), or odd numbered rooms X29 - X43 (which are on the inside of the L running at 90 degrees to the many roads). For our second stay at the hotel we where in room 312, facing the at least 3 roads running directly outside the hotel. Despite being double glazed even with special earplugs the traffic noise was relentless 24/7 (it does abate a bit at night). This was probably the nosiest hotel room I have stayed in since India. That said no interconnecting room doors, and rarely heard the guests in the room next door, probably as could only hear traffic. The hotel was undergoing renovations that I believe are now complete - the single greatest thing that could be done to improve this hotel is to install secondary glazing to the even numbered rooms. The even numbered rooms also have flood lights facing at them at night time, but the curtains are fairly effective in this regard. The rooms have very poor lighting at night - the rooms reassemble living in a cave at night, bathroom lighting is great - desk lighting pathetic (but looks cool!). Despite being tall the desk chair was unable to be adjusted to a good working height in either of the two rooms we stayed in. There is a spread out mall about 10 minutes walk from the hotel, but otherwise a car is needed to go anywhere from this location - something that seems common in all but the CBD of Austin. The breakfast room was very busy at times with not a huge amount of space to sit in. The breakfast selection was average, but did include a small selection of hot food. Wireless internet worked well. Staff were friendly and yummy cookies in a jar at the front desk. The cleaning staff seemed to offer erratic service, towels sometimes replaced, sometimes taken and not replaced.

Room Tip: Choose an odd numbered room if you wish to get relief from the road noise (refer my full review for...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Austin - Sunset Valley, responded to this review, May 22, 2013
Dear Kilmore_12,

Thank you for your feedback. It is nice to hear that you liked the location of our hotel. We strive to accommodate all of our guests and their needs and I am disappointed that we did not meet your expectations with regards to your room accommodations. We are working hard to improve our product and service and we value your feedback.

While we understand that your stay was not 100% satisfactory, we would hope that you would give us another chance to make your stay as best as it can be.

Sincerely,

Connie D
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tustin, California
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2013

I have to admit, after reading some of the reviews I was concerned about staying here, but we were visiting relatives, and this was the closest hotel. I am VERY picky about where we stay, and usually select Westin, Marriott, Loews, etc., but location was important for this trip. Having spent three nights here, I really don't get all the lukewarm reviews. This is what we found:

ROOM: Clean, equipped with all necessities (not luxurious, but certainly comfortable and serviceable), comfortable bed, truly wonderful shower

STAFF: Everyone we dealt with was friendly and helpful. No complaints.

COMPLIMENTARY BREAKFAST: not gourmet, but a large selection with something for everyone. There was a good selection of cereal, breads and pastries, yogurt, juice, and hot selections (bacon, eggs, biscuits and gravy). Would have been nice to have some fresh fruit, but there were always apples (a chocolate chip cookies) available in the lobby.

LOCATION: I don't know why people were concerned about the neighborhood other than the hotel is set apart in a business area, not a hotel or recreational area. Seemed very safe and was quiet. The only location problem we had was that our rental car's GPS couldn't find the hotel. I would recommend you call in advance and get directions.

I would definitely recommend to a friend that they stay here unless they are looking for something romantic or special. When we are back in Austin to visit family, I won't hesitate to book here.

Room Tip: We were on the third floor. Very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Princeton, New Jersey
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

We stayed there for 3 days this April. It is in a convenient location, with Ample parking and easy access to 290/71, although it is a few miles from downtown. The rooms are standard HI-X quality and size, so no surprises either good or bad there. The hotel amenities are also fairly standard, but the breakfast buffet is a bit lacking, and there is no onsite restaurant, so plan to eat elsewhere. The kids loved the pool, but did notice there were no towels poolside, so plan on having dripping wet children running through the halls. All in all if I were staying for more than a couple of days, I would look elsewhere.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Austin - Sunset Valley, responded to this review, July 10, 2013
Dear Captain_Road_Trip,

Thank you for staying with us and providing us with your valuable feedback. I am pleased you liked the location of our hotel. I apologize for any inconvenience the room conditions may have caused you. Your feedback is very important to us as this assists us in continually improving the facilities we offer to our guests. Once again many thanks for your feedback and we look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Sincerely,

Janice A
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2013 via mobile

I called and asked all the questions we normally do but this time I learned my lesson!
1. Yes they have a pool but it's outside and not heated.
2. Yes they have a fitness room but it's closed for now.
3. They do not have laundry facilities & had no idea where the closest laundry mat was-thank you google.
4. They do not have shuttle service so if you don't drive be prepared for cab service, (you can not safely walk anywhere from the hotel because of it's location)
5. It would have been nice to know they were undergoing extensive renovations.
Next time we come to Austin we will NOT be staying here.
(The few staff we did encounter were nice but in no way made any effort to help any of our situations)

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Austin - Sunset Valley, responded to this review, March 10, 2013
Dear Kc8qzc,

Thank you for staying with us and taking the time to leave a review. We strive to provide the best possible service and experience and it is always great to hear from our guests on how we are doing. We are very sorry to read that you experienced inconvenience because we did not meet your expectations. The feedback we receive from our valued guests, like you, enables us to target problem areas and take the necessary actions to ensure similar situations can be avoided in the future. We appreciate the candid feedback we receive and welcome any opportunity to improve.

Thank you for staying with us, and we hope to have an opportunity to serve you again.

Sincerely,

Ferdinand G.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Louis
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2013

We plugged the hotel's address into 3 different GPS devices, and none of them could take us there. We drove up and down and under and up and down and back around at least five times and we not only could we not find it, we couldn't see it.

We were on the 1 and then on 290 and then 360 and then the services roads and in the u-turn lanes and back up a different service road and down onto the highway and exiting and down another service road etc. It took us a solid hour of driving up and turning around and coming back to spot it. One of the problems is that the sign for the hotel is tiny, thin blue lettering up near the roof. Some architect probably thought it was very smart looking, but when you're driving the MOPAC at 70 mph and the service roads at 65 you want to find a big holiday inn sign.

The hotel is standard. It's fine. But I'd never stay there again. Well, I couldn't stay there again. I still don't understand how to get there.

Room Tip: Go to LaQuinta. It's much easier to locate.
See more room tips
Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Austin - Sunset Valley, responded to this review, July 16, 2013
Dear I_Notice_Everything,

Thank you for your review of our hotel regarding your stay. You feedback is very important to us as this is our primary source in improving guest services.

I deeply regret that you didn't find our location to be convenient and sorry to hear that you had a hard time finding us. Please accept our sincerest apologies for any inconvenience and dissatisfaction this has caused you.

Rest assured that your comments will be reviewed by the hotel's management team and will be used to reconsider improvements. We all hope that you will still give us the chance to welcome you back and allow us to redeem your faith in our hotel.

Sincerely,

Dhan M
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Fe, New Mexico
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
70 helpful votes 70 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2013

The hotel in undergoing a major renovation, however the staff goes way out of their way to make sure your stay is perfect. Kimberly at the front desk is great. Usually a front desk person is just filling a spot. Kimberly is bright, cheerful and so willing to please. Much kudos to her and this hotel.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Holiday Inn Express & Suites Austin - Sunset Valley? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express & Suites Austin - Sunset Valley

Address: 4892 US Highway 290 W, Sunset Valley, Austin, TX 78735
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > Austin
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #106 of 183 hotels in Austin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express & Suites Austin - Sunset Valley 2.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Take a Virtual Tour of the hotel.Experience Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Austin-Sunset Valley. Our hotel is minutes away from Austin-Bergstrom International Airport, Downtown, and the 6th Street Entertainment District.Take a visit to the Austin Zoo, Texas State University, Zilker Park, or drop by the Austin Convention Center. Go shopping at Barton Creek Mall or the Brodie Oaks shopping center for your enjoyment! Discover all Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Austin-Sunset Valley has to offer! Visit Austin, TX and stay smart at the Holiday Inn Express Hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Orbitz, Tingo, Travelocity, Hotels.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Holiday Inn Express & Suites Austin - Sunset Valley reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Austin - Sunset Valley Hotel Austin
Holiday Inn Express And Suites Austin - Sunset Valley
Holiday Inn Express Austin
Holiday Inn Austin
Austin Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Express & Suites Austin - Sunset Valley, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.