We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Better Than We Expected” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Express & Suites Austin - Sunset Valley

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Express & Suites Austin - Sunset Valley to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Austin - Sunset Valley
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   4892 US Highway 290 W, Sunset Valley, Austin, TX 78735   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 10-30%
Ranked #103 of 193 Hotels in Austin
Tustin, California
Level Contributor
14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Better Than We Expected”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2013

I have to admit, after reading some of the reviews I was concerned about staying here, but we were visiting relatives, and this was the closest hotel. I am VERY picky about where we stay, and usually select Westin, Marriott, Loews, etc., but location was important for this trip. Having spent three nights here, I really don't get all the lukewarm reviews. This is what we found:

ROOM: Clean, equipped with all necessities (not luxurious, but certainly comfortable and serviceable), comfortable bed, truly wonderful shower

STAFF: Everyone we dealt with was friendly and helpful. No complaints.

COMPLIMENTARY BREAKFAST: not gourmet, but a large selection with something for everyone. There was a good selection of cereal, breads and pastries, yogurt, juice, and hot selections (bacon, eggs, biscuits and gravy). Would have been nice to have some fresh fruit, but there were always apples (a chocolate chip cookies) available in the lobby.

LOCATION: I don't know why people were concerned about the neighborhood other than the hotel is set apart in a business area, not a hotel or recreational area. Seemed very safe and was quiet. The only location problem we had was that our rental car's GPS couldn't find the hotel. I would recommend you call in advance and get directions.

I would definitely recommend to a friend that they stay here unless they are looking for something romantic or special. When we are back in Austin to visit family, I won't hesitate to book here.

Room Tip: We were on the third floor. Very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TustinTraveler2008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

113 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Princeton, New Jersey
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

We stayed there for 3 days this April. It is in a convenient location, with Ample parking and easy access to 290/71, although it is a few miles from downtown. The rooms are standard HI-X quality and size, so no surprises either good or bad there. The hotel amenities are also fairly standard, but the breakfast buffet is a bit lacking, and there is no onsite restaurant, so plan to eat elsewhere. The kids loved the pool, but did notice there were no towels poolside, so plan on having dripping wet children running through the halls. All in all if I were staying for more than a couple of days, I would look elsewhere.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Captain_Road_Trip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Austin - Sunset Valley, responded to this review, July 10, 2013
Dear Captain_Road_Trip,

Thank you for staying with us and providing us with your valuable feedback. I am pleased you liked the location of our hotel. I apologize for any inconvenience the room conditions may have caused you. Your feedback is very important to us as this assists us in continually improving the facilities we offer to our guests. Once again many thanks for your feedback and we look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Sincerely,

Janice A
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2013

I called and asked all the questions we normally do but this time I learned my lesson!
1. Yes they have a pool but it's outside and not heated.
2. Yes they have a fitness room but it's closed for now.
3. They do not have laundry facilities & had no idea where the closest laundry mat was-thank you google.
4. They do not have shuttle service so if you don't drive be prepared for cab service, (you can not safely walk anywhere from the hotel because of it's location)
5. It would have been nice to know they were undergoing extensive renovations.
Next time we come to Austin we will NOT be staying here.
(The few staff we did encounter were nice but in no way made any effort to help any of our situations)

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kc8qzc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Austin - Sunset Valley, responded to this review, March 9, 2013
Dear Kc8qzc,

Thank you for staying with us and taking the time to leave a review. We strive to provide the best possible service and experience and it is always great to hear from our guests on how we are doing. We are very sorry to read that you experienced inconvenience because we did not meet your expectations. The feedback we receive from our valued guests, like you, enables us to target problem areas and take the necessary actions to ensure similar situations can be avoided in the future. We appreciate the candid feedback we receive and welcome any opportunity to improve.

Thank you for staying with us, and we hope to have an opportunity to serve you again.

Sincerely,

Ferdinand G.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Louis
Level Contributor
73 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2013

We plugged the hotel's address into 3 different GPS devices, and none of them could take us there. We drove up and down and under and up and down and back around at least five times and we not only could we not find it, we couldn't see it.

We were on the 1 and then on 290 and then 360 and then the services roads and in the u-turn lanes and back up a different service road and down onto the highway and exiting and down another service road etc. It took us a solid hour of driving up and turning around and coming back to spot it. One of the problems is that the sign for the hotel is tiny, thin blue lettering up near the roof. Some architect probably thought it was very smart looking, but when you're driving the MOPAC at 70 mph and the service roads at 65 you want to find a big holiday inn sign.

The hotel is standard. It's fine. But I'd never stay there again. Well, I couldn't stay there again. I still don't understand how to get there.

Room Tip: Go to LaQuinta. It's much easier to locate.
See more room tips
Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank I_Notice_Everything
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Austin - Sunset Valley, responded to this review, July 15, 2013
Dear I_Notice_Everything,

Thank you for your review of our hotel regarding your stay. You feedback is very important to us as this is our primary source in improving guest services.

I deeply regret that you didn't find our location to be convenient and sorry to hear that you had a hard time finding us. Please accept our sincerest apologies for any inconvenience and dissatisfaction this has caused you.

Rest assured that your comments will be reviewed by the hotel's management team and will be used to reconsider improvements. We all hope that you will still give us the chance to welcome you back and allow us to redeem your faith in our hotel.

Sincerely,

Dhan M
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Fe, New Mexico
Level Contributor
111 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2013

The hotel in undergoing a major renovation, however the staff goes way out of their way to make sure your stay is perfect. Kimberly at the front desk is great. Usually a front desk person is just filling a spot. Kimberly is bright, cheerful and so willing to please. Much kudos to her and this hotel.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jackc1212
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

Very bad air conditioning, (I stay in HIE for good air conditioning) touchy toilet (took forever to fill), and so, so beds. Also very isolated (could not see sign until right on top of it) with no security. Construction everywhere. Unfriendly staff. I hope they get more resturants (for breakfast) or businesses around them as the only plus was it was close to my son's home.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Debi G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Austin - Sunset Valley, responded to this review, February 5, 2013
Dear Debi G,

Thank you for your stay and leaving us a review. We take our guest comments very seriously and always strive to provide comfortable and friendly accommodations. We are pleased you liked the convenient location of our hotel. We are sorry sorry you were not fully satisfied with the room accommodation and for any inconvenience caused you during your stay. I appreciate your feedback as this is our best resource for improving our hotel and services to our guests. We welcome any opportunity to improve.

If there is anything we can do to make your next stay more comfortable, please do not hesitate to ask the Manager on Duty.

Sincerely,

Connie D
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2013

Yes, this place is under construction, but it was still a wonderful place. It wasn't perfect. We had a temperamental A/C unit, toilet ran constantly (couldn't hear it unless the door was open), and jerks slamming their door at 4 a.m. 7 TIMES --BUT-- The staff was polite. Our room was clean. The mattress was great and free of bed bugs. Sheets were clean and there was NO hair on my bed or anywhere else. The breakfast was decent. There was a constant presents of police. I got a call shortly after arriving home that I had left my wallet on the bed. They are mailing it to me. I definitely think we will be back. I think they should consider installing a bar.

Room Tip: You do hear highway noise if facing the highway. It wasn't bad, but you could still hear it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tracirenea27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Austin hotels
0.5 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Austin Southwest at Mopac
0.8 mi away
Extended Stay America - Austin - Southwest
4.3 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Austin City Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Austin Airport
3.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Austin South
5.3 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Austin at The University/Capitol
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express & Suites Austin - Sunset Valley? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express & Suites Austin - Sunset Valley

Address: 4892 US Highway 290 W, Sunset Valley, Austin, TX 78735
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > Austin
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #103 of 193 Hotels in Austin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express & Suites Austin - Sunset Valley 2.5*
Number of rooms: 99
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Take a Virtual Tour of the hotel.Experience Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Austin-Sunset Valley. Our hotel is minutes away from Austin-Bergstrom International Airport, Downtown, and the 6th Street Entertainment District.Take a visit to the Austin Zoo, Texas State University, Zilker Park, or drop by the Austin Convention Center. Go shopping at Barton Creek Mall or the Brodie Oaks shopping center for your enjoyment! Discover all Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Austin-Sunset Valley has to offer! Visit Austin, TX and stay smart at the Holiday Inn Express Hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, IHG, Priceline, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Holiday Inn Express & Suites Austin - Sunset Valley reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Austin - Sunset Valley Hotel Austin
Holiday Inn Express And Suites Austin - Sunset Valley
Holiday Inn Express Austin
Holiday Inn Austin
Austin Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing