We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay in Austin” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Express & Suites Austin - Sunset Valley

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Holiday Inn Express & Suites Austin - Sunset Valley to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Austin - Sunset Valley
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   4892 US Highway 290 W, Sunset Valley, Austin, TX 78735   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #110 of 186 Hotels in Austin
Santa Fe, New Mexico
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
83 helpful votes 83 helpful votes
“Great place to stay in Austin”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2013

The hotel in undergoing a major renovation, however the staff goes way out of their way to make sure your stay is perfect. Kimberly at the front desk is great. Usually a front desk person is just filling a spot. Kimberly is bright, cheerful and so willing to please. Much kudos to her and this hotel.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

78 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    14
    29
    19
    10
    6
See reviews for
22
18
5
24
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Victoria, Texas
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

Very bad air conditioning, (I stay in HIE for good air conditioning) touchy toilet (took forever to fill), and so, so beds. Also very isolated (could not see sign until right on top of it) with no security. Construction everywhere. Unfriendly staff. I hope they get more resturants (for breakfast) or businesses around them as the only plus was it was close to my son's home.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Austin - Sunset Valley, responded to this review, February 6, 2013
Dear Debi G,

Thank you for your stay and leaving us a review. We take our guest comments very seriously and always strive to provide comfortable and friendly accommodations. We are pleased you liked the convenient location of our hotel. We are sorry sorry you were not fully satisfied with the room accommodation and for any inconvenience caused you during your stay. I appreciate your feedback as this is our best resource for improving our hotel and services to our guests. We welcome any opportunity to improve.

If there is anything we can do to make your next stay more comfortable, please do not hesitate to ask the Manager on Duty.

Sincerely,

Connie D
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2013

Yes, this place is under construction, but it was still a wonderful place. It wasn't perfect. We had a temperamental A/C unit, toilet ran constantly (couldn't hear it unless the door was open), and jerks slamming their door at 4 a.m. 7 TIMES --BUT-- The staff was polite. Our room was clean. The mattress was great and free of bed bugs. Sheets were clean and there was NO hair on my bed or anywhere else. The breakfast was decent. There was a constant presents of police. I got a call shortly after arriving home that I had left my wallet on the bed. They are mailing it to me. I definitely think we will be back. I think they should consider installing a bar.

Room Tip: You do hear highway noise if facing the highway. It wasn't bad, but you could still hear it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2013 via mobile

I would not recommend staying at this hotel at this time. While the room we had was clean, outside in the hall was still under construction. Also there was no Internet and the tv only had one channel. And we were charged full price. The young lady at the desk during the night was pleasant and tried to help with the tv problem but the young man at the desk the next morning was not very helpful when we pointed out that we did not feel like we did not receive full service for the full price we were paying. So I would say not to stay here until construction is finished and they have all the bugs worked out at this site.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Austin - Sunset Valley, responded to this review, January 31, 2013
Dear peastertexas,

Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review about your stay with us. We are hospitality professionals who pride ourselves on delivering world class service. For that reason, I apologize for any inconvenience the ongoing construction may have caused during your stay. As you noted, we are constructing the property and hope you will come back once they have been completed. Again, we wish to thank you for your feedback and hope to see you the next time you travel to our area.

Sincerely,

Krysllin G.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013

At check in, we were informed that there have been numerous break-ins in the parking lot, and since they have no security guards watching the parking lot, not to leave anything in the vehicle. Upon entering the room, we found the chair at the computer desk was ripped and had been taped up. There was hair in the shower. In the morning, we were woken up by construction crews working outside our door and on the floor above us. At check out, we mentioned to Sales Director John Gemperle that, had we known about the construction, we would have stayed elsewhere. He rudely told us that we "should have known" and "should have stayed somewhere else." He then offered to give us "a couple hundred" Priority Club points, which is about enough to buy one song on iTunes. Mr. Gemperle - your burly, unfriendly, and confrontational attitude is deplorable. Having a Director of Sales who alienates customers, and frequent travelers at that, is not a sustainable business plan.

Room Tip: Ask in advance if construction will be going on during your stay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Austin - Sunset Valley, responded to this review, July 14, 2013
Dear Dr M,

Thank you for review of our hotel. We welcome feedback especially from valued guests like you.

I am truly sorry to learn that your stay was negatively affected by the service provided by one of our staff. Our objective is to provide the highest level of service and customer care to each and every guest and I can only offer my sincerest apologies for we failed to meet your expectations.

Your comments are important to the success of our organization, as we rely on you, our guest, to tell us how we are doing and how we can better meet your needs. We hope that you can give us another chance so we can show you what we have done.

Sincerely,

Dhan M
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Charlotte
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2012

This is a typical HIE&S, which is good. You know what you're going to get, or should be getting. We stayed this past weekend (weekend before Thanksgiving) and had a very clean standard guest room. The staff is friendly, the breakfasts were good and always promptly replenished. We were visiting a relative and also attended the first COTA race (good job COTA!). We would stay here again.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clearwater, Florida
Top Contributor
302 reviews 302 reviews
47 hotel reviews
Reviews in 86 cities Reviews in 86 cities
80 helpful votes 80 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012

The hotel itself is very clean and the common areas are well maintained. Staff was very friendly. Location is off by itself and there is no other businesses within walking distance. The room was clean but very basic. Room needs to be updated and furnished better. Furnishings were very sparse. Wireless internet worked very well. Nice tv but no HD service.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Express & Suites Austin - Sunset Valley? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express & Suites Austin - Sunset Valley

Address: 4892 US Highway 290 W, Sunset Valley, Austin, TX 78735
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > Austin
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #110 of 186 Hotels in Austin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express & Suites Austin - Sunset Valley 2.5*
Number of rooms: 99
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Take a Virtual Tour of the hotel.Experience Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Austin-Sunset Valley. Our hotel is minutes away from Austin-Bergstrom International Airport, Downtown, and the 6th Street Entertainment District.Take a visit to the Austin Zoo, Texas State University, Zilker Park, or drop by the Austin Convention Center. Go shopping at Barton Creek Mall or the Brodie Oaks shopping center for your enjoyment! Discover all Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Austin-Sunset Valley has to offer! Visit Austin, TX and stay smart at the Holiday Inn Express Hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com and Tingo so you can book your Holiday Inn Express & Suites Austin - Sunset Valley reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express And Suites Austin - Sunset Valley
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Austin - Sunset Valley Hotel Austin
Holiday Inn Express Austin
Holiday Inn Austin
Austin Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Express & Suites Austin - Sunset Valley, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.