We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Express & Suites Austin - Sunset Valley to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Austin - Sunset Valley
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   4892 US Highway 290 W, Sunset Valley, Austin, TX 78735   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 10-30%
Ranked #103 of 193 Hotels in Austin
Victoria, Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Unusally Bad”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

Very bad air conditioning, (I stay in HIE for good air conditioning) touchy toilet (took forever to fill), and so, so beds. Also very isolated (could not see sign until right on top of it) with no security. Construction everywhere. Unfriendly staff. I hope they get more resturants (for breakfast) or businesses around them as the only plus was it was close to my son's home.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Debi G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Austin - Sunset Valley, responded to this review, February 5, 2013
Dear Debi G,

Thank you for your stay and leaving us a review. We take our guest comments very seriously and always strive to provide comfortable and friendly accommodations. We are pleased you liked the convenient location of our hotel. We are sorry sorry you were not fully satisfied with the room accommodation and for any inconvenience caused you during your stay. I appreciate your feedback as this is our best resource for improving our hotel and services to our guests. We welcome any opportunity to improve.

If there is anything we can do to make your next stay more comfortable, please do not hesitate to ask the Manager on Duty.

Sincerely,

Connie D
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

113 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2013

Yes, this place is under construction, but it was still a wonderful place. It wasn't perfect. We had a temperamental A/C unit, toilet ran constantly (couldn't hear it unless the door was open), and jerks slamming their door at 4 a.m. 7 TIMES --BUT-- The staff was polite. Our room was clean. The mattress was great and free of bed bugs. Sheets were clean and there was NO hair on my bed or anywhere else. The breakfast was decent. There was a constant presents of police. I got a call shortly after arriving home that I had left my wallet on the bed. They are mailing it to me. I definitely think we will be back. I think they should consider installing a bar.

Room Tip: You do hear highway noise if facing the highway. It wasn't bad, but you could still hear it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tracirenea27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
39 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2013 via mobile

I would not recommend staying at this hotel at this time. While the room we had was clean, outside in the hall was still under construction. Also there was no Internet and the tv only had one channel. And we were charged full price. The young lady at the desk during the night was pleasant and tried to help with the tv problem but the young man at the desk the next morning was not very helpful when we pointed out that we did not feel like we did not receive full service for the full price we were paying. So I would say not to stay here until construction is finished and they have all the bugs worked out at this site.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank peastertexas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Austin - Sunset Valley, responded to this review, January 30, 2013
Dear peastertexas,

Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review about your stay with us. We are hospitality professionals who pride ourselves on delivering world class service. For that reason, I apologize for any inconvenience the ongoing construction may have caused during your stay. As you noted, we are constructing the property and hope you will come back once they have been completed. Again, we wish to thank you for your feedback and hope to see you the next time you travel to our area.

Sincerely,

Krysllin G.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013

At check in, we were informed that there have been numerous break-ins in the parking lot, and since they have no security guards watching the parking lot, not to leave anything in the vehicle. Upon entering the room, we found the chair at the computer desk was ripped and had been taped up. There was hair in the shower. In the morning, we were woken up by construction crews working outside our door and on the floor above us. At check out, we mentioned to Sales Director John Gemperle that, had we known about the construction, we would have stayed elsewhere. He rudely told us that we "should have known" and "should have stayed somewhere else." He then offered to give us "a couple hundred" Priority Club points, which is about enough to buy one song on iTunes. Mr. Gemperle - your burly, unfriendly, and confrontational attitude is deplorable. Having a Director of Sales who alienates customers, and frequent travelers at that, is not a sustainable business plan.

Room Tip: Ask in advance if construction will be going on during your stay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Dr M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Austin - Sunset Valley, responded to this review, July 14, 2013
Dear Dr M,

Thank you for review of our hotel. We welcome feedback especially from valued guests like you.

I am truly sorry to learn that your stay was negatively affected by the service provided by one of our staff. Our objective is to provide the highest level of service and customer care to each and every guest and I can only offer my sincerest apologies for we failed to meet your expectations.

Your comments are important to the success of our organization, as we rely on you, our guest, to tell us how we are doing and how we can better meet your needs. We hope that you can give us another chance so we can show you what we have done.

Sincerely,

Dhan M
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Charlotte
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2012

This is a typical HIE&S, which is good. You know what you're going to get, or should be getting. We stayed this past weekend (weekend before Thanksgiving) and had a very clean standard guest room. The staff is friendly, the breakfasts were good and always promptly replenished. We were visiting a relative and also attended the first COTA race (good job COTA!). We would stay here again.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Nancy A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clearwater, Florida
Level Contributor
604 reviews
80 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 144 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012

The hotel itself is very clean and the common areas are well maintained. Staff was very friendly. Location is off by itself and there is no other businesses within walking distance. The room was clean but very basic. Room needs to be updated and furnished better. Furnishings were very sparse. Wireless internet worked very well. Nice tv but no HD service.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mark0076
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Franklin Lakes, New Jersey
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2012

Very nice place i ejoyed my stay, rooms were clean employees were nice .....stayed here for business ..Gm was kind and always there greeting everyone took on task personally..breakfast was good .... Meating room is a little on the narrow side if your looking to hold a meeting....pools clean...they will be doing some renovation in Dec through Feb on the entire ground floor ..GM told me. So make arangments ?..oh very close to downtown about 6miles..good luck

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jeffrey C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Austin hotels
0.5 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Austin Southwest at Mopac
0.8 mi away
Extended Stay America - Austin - Southwest
4.3 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Austin City Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Austin Airport
3.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Austin South
5.3 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Austin at The University/Capitol
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express & Suites Austin - Sunset Valley? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express & Suites Austin - Sunset Valley

Address: 4892 US Highway 290 W, Sunset Valley, Austin, TX 78735
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > Austin
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #103 of 193 Hotels in Austin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express & Suites Austin - Sunset Valley 2.5*
Number of rooms: 99
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Take a Virtual Tour of the hotel.Experience Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Austin-Sunset Valley. Our hotel is minutes away from Austin-Bergstrom International Airport, Downtown, and the 6th Street Entertainment District.Take a visit to the Austin Zoo, Texas State University, Zilker Park, or drop by the Austin Convention Center. Go shopping at Barton Creek Mall or the Brodie Oaks shopping center for your enjoyment! Discover all Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Austin-Sunset Valley has to offer! Visit Austin, TX and stay smart at the Holiday Inn Express Hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, IHG, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Holiday Inn Express & Suites Austin - Sunset Valley reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Austin - Sunset Valley Hotel Austin
Holiday Inn Express And Suites Austin - Sunset Valley
Holiday Inn Express Austin
Holiday Inn Austin
Austin Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing