We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Construction!!” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Express & Suites Austin - Sunset Valley

Save Saved
You added Holiday Inn Express & Suites Austin - Sunset Valley to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Austin - Sunset Valley
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   4892 US Highway 290 W, Sunset Valley, Austin, TX 78735   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #110 of 184 Hotels in Austin
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Construction!!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2013 via mobile

I would not recommend staying at this hotel at this time. While the room we had was clean, outside in the hall was still under construction. Also there was no Internet and the tv only had one channel. And we were charged full price. The young lady at the desk during the night was pleasant and tried to help with the tv problem but the young man at the desk the next morning was not very helpful when we pointed out that we did not feel like we did not receive full service for the full price we were paying. So I would say not to stay here until construction is finished and they have all the bugs worked out at this site.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Austin - Sunset Valley, responded to this review, January 31, 2013
Dear peastertexas,

Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review about your stay with us. We are hospitality professionals who pride ourselves on delivering world class service. For that reason, I apologize for any inconvenience the ongoing construction may have caused during your stay. As you noted, we are constructing the property and hope you will come back once they have been completed. Again, we wish to thank you for your feedback and hope to see you the next time you travel to our area.

Sincerely,

Krysllin G.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

72 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    13
    27
    18
    8
    6
See reviews for
21
17
5
21
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013

At check in, we were informed that there have been numerous break-ins in the parking lot, and since they have no security guards watching the parking lot, not to leave anything in the vehicle. Upon entering the room, we found the chair at the computer desk was ripped and had been taped up. There was hair in the shower. In the morning, we were woken up by construction crews working outside our door and on the floor above us. At check out, we mentioned to Sales Director John Gemperle that, had we known about the construction, we would have stayed elsewhere. He rudely told us that we "should have known" and "should have stayed somewhere else." He then offered to give us "a couple hundred" Priority Club points, which is about enough to buy one song on iTunes. Mr. Gemperle - your burly, unfriendly, and confrontational attitude is deplorable. Having a Director of Sales who alienates customers, and frequent travelers at that, is not a sustainable business plan.

Room Tip: Ask in advance if construction will be going on during your stay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Austin - Sunset Valley, responded to this review, July 14, 2013
Dear Dr M,

Thank you for review of our hotel. We welcome feedback especially from valued guests like you.

I am truly sorry to learn that your stay was negatively affected by the service provided by one of our staff. Our objective is to provide the highest level of service and customer care to each and every guest and I can only offer my sincerest apologies for we failed to meet your expectations.

Your comments are important to the success of our organization, as we rely on you, our guest, to tell us how we are doing and how we can better meet your needs. We hope that you can give us another chance so we can show you what we have done.

Sincerely,

Dhan M
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Charlotte
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2012

This is a typical HIE&S, which is good. You know what you're going to get, or should be getting. We stayed this past weekend (weekend before Thanksgiving) and had a very clean standard guest room. The staff is friendly, the breakfasts were good and always promptly replenished. We were visiting a relative and also attended the first COTA race (good job COTA!). We would stay here again.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clearwater, Florida
Top Contributor
249 reviews 249 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 76 cities Reviews in 76 cities
74 helpful votes 74 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012

The hotel itself is very clean and the common areas are well maintained. Staff was very friendly. Location is off by itself and there is no other businesses within walking distance. The room was clean but very basic. Room needs to be updated and furnished better. Furnishings were very sparse. Wireless internet worked very well. Nice tv but no HD service.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Franklin Lakes, New Jersey
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012

Very nice place i ejoyed my stay, rooms were clean employees were nice .....stayed here for business ..Gm was kind and always there greeting everyone took on task personally..breakfast was good .... Meating room is a little on the narrow side if your looking to hold a meeting....pools clean...they will be doing some renovation in Dec through Feb on the entire ground floor ..GM told me. So make arangments ?..oh very close to downtown about 6miles..good luck

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2012

Our grandkids live a few miles away so this is our place to stay to see them. The rooms are clean and spacious, bed was good, check in easy, breakfast is good and varied, pool clean. We also attended a convention in Oak Hill last weekend and spread the news at the meeting that it was only a short drive from this IH express and that people should stay at this property next year. So, I guess we are the new advertising committee! :)

Room Tip: We had 337... nice view of the pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Windsor, ME
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2012

Over the years I've found that the Holiday Inn Express & Suites chain strikes a good balance of service, amenities and value. If you're comfortable with this equation, the Sunset Valley HIE&S is a very good place to stay when visiting Austin. This otherwise-glowing recommendation is tarnished by only one minor and one major reservation, which I discuss below.

Three members of my family needed a place to stay while visiting our daughter in South Austin, and this property is the closest major hotel to her home off Lamar Boulevard. The hotel is not actually in Austin; Sunset Valley is a small town nestled inside Austin proper. Still, it was only about a six minute drive to her place, which worked out very well for the various back-and-forths during our 11-day stay.

Though convenient to South Austin, the hotel's location is also the minor reservation mentioned above. It sits on the Route 290 West service road. If you're a walker, like my wife, the immediate vicinity isn't hospitable for a stroll, although there are ample sidewalks and the area is not dangerous. However, if you walk (or drive) to the large mall on Brodie Lane adjacent to the Route 290 East service road, you'll find a lovely landscaped walking trail that runs alongside the mall through a lightly wooded area and from there into the Sunset Valley Nature Area and an additional two miles of trails.

Our room was a spacious, U-shaped three-person suite which perfectly met our needs. The entryway/foyer was lined with a microwave, fridge, kitchen counter and small sink. The foyer led into a sitting area with two tables of varying heights. Turn left, and you pass through the secondary sleeping area that is furnished with a convertible sofa, coffee table, armoire and TV. Continue past a dividing half-wall and you're into the master bedroom area in the second leg of the "U," with its own furnishings and TV. There's enough open space in the foyer to put down two yoga mats. The suite was tastefully decorated, in very good condition (other than a large stain on the carpet), and everything worked: no slow drains, inoperable light fixtures, or the like. There was no noise from the adjoining room. Housekeeping was top-notch and is available 'til 4:00 p.m. daily. There were plenty of electrical outlets, although the outlet multiplier I brought along gave me more flexibility with respect to what got plugged in where. Be aware that that there are no coin-operated washers and driers in this hotel, a curious omission.

Wireless internet is available throughout the facility. Our room also had a jack for an ethernet cable. The wireless signal was robust, i.e., four bars on my Macbook's airport icon everywhere I went. Although prior reviewers reported extremely poky internet speeds, throughput was a consistent 3.75 - 3.80 mbps down and about 1.00 - 1.10 mbps up throughout our stay. The wired and wireless speeds were identical.

The breakfast dining room is open as a comfortable sitting area 24/7. The included continental breakfast was ample with some slight variation day-to-day. Lowfat/no fat choices were available. Nice touches include the 24-hour fruit bowl and cookie jar, free coffee into the evening, free copies of USA Today, and a very reasonably-priced assortment of candies, snacks and sodas at the front desk. The business center had two publicly-available PCs and working printers. The pool was attractive. All the hallways and public areas were fresh, new and clean. Front desk staff was courteous, friendly and professional. Checkout was automatic (good if you're in a rush). There was plenty of clean, well-lit parking for our rental car. The posted price for a hotel shuttle to Austin-Bergstrom Airport was $17, which struck me as kind of high.

Other than breakfast service, there is no restaurant in the hotel. This is true, I believe, of HIE&S generally and is an observation, not a criticism. An Indian restaurant was renovating a satellite building on the hotel grounds, but it opened the day we left so we didn't get to try it. There is plenty of dining nearby, but the convenience of a full-service restaurant next door will be welcome.

The one bugaboo - the "major reservation" noted at the beginning of this review - is the fitness room. It's small and pretty minimal, containing only three major pieces of equipment: a home-quality Proform treadmill, an institutional quality Schwinn recumbent bike, and an institutional-quality Precor elliptical trainer. The problem is, only the treadmill was fully operational. The bike's display and electronics were totally nonfunctional, and the incline function of the elliptical was unavailable due to a low battery level. I reported the situation to front desk staff twice early on during our stay, but nothing got fixed. Luckily for me, very few other guests seemed to use the fitness room, so I had the treadmill (or elliptical) whenever I wanted it. This was the only glaring deficiency in an otherwise fine facility.

Room Tip: The room-specific comments above pertain to Suite 320, on the top floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Express & Suites Austin - Sunset Valley? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express & Suites Austin - Sunset Valley

Address: 4892 US Highway 290 W, Sunset Valley, Austin, TX 78735
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > Austin
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #110 of 184 Hotels in Austin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express & Suites Austin - Sunset Valley 2.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Take a Virtual Tour of the hotel.Experience Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Austin-Sunset Valley. Our hotel is minutes away from Austin-Bergstrom International Airport, Downtown, and the 6th Street Entertainment District.Take a visit to the Austin Zoo, Texas State University, Zilker Park, or drop by the Austin Convention Center. Go shopping at Barton Creek Mall or the Brodie Oaks shopping center for your enjoyment! Discover all Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Austin-Sunset Valley has to offer! Visit Austin, TX and stay smart at the Holiday Inn Express Hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Tingo, Orbitz, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Agoda and Venere so you can book your Holiday Inn Express & Suites Austin - Sunset Valley reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Austin - Sunset Valley Hotel Austin
Holiday Inn Express And Suites Austin - Sunset Valley
Holiday Inn Express Austin
Holiday Inn Austin
Austin Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Express & Suites Austin - Sunset Valley, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.