We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean and spacious but not much comfort” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Austin NW Plaza/Arboretum

Save Saved
You added Holiday Inn Austin NW Plaza/Arboretum to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Holiday Inn Austin NW Plaza/Arboretum
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   8901 Business Park Drive, Austin, TX 78759   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #85 of 184 Hotels in Austin
Ventura, California
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Clean and spacious but not much comfort”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013

I recently spent 3 nights at this hotel for a business trip. While the hotel was clean and relatively modern, and my room was certainly spacious, it lacked a feeling of warmth or cosiness. The wireless internet connection was excellent and connected quickly and easily and the wake up call worked great. The breakfast was disappointing. They had a good selection but the food was not very appetizing. I commented to a co-worker that even the bread looked sad.I will probably stay here again because it's location and price are convenient for my regular business travel but I won't be regarding it as a great home away from home.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Austin NW Plaza/Arboretum, responded to this review, October 3, 2013
Dear Lynluke,

Thank you for your review regarding your recent visit at our hotel and for providing us with your valuable feedback. I am pleased to read that you have noticed the cleanliness of our rooms. I am truly sorry to hear that the breakfast served during your travel did not live up to your expectations. I have taken note and wish to thank you for all your valuable comments. These are of great importance to us and allow us to monitor and improve our service continually.

Once again, thank you for staying and we all hope to have an opportunity to serve you again on your next future visit.

Sincerely,

Janice A
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

172 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    48
    56
    45
    19
    4
See reviews for
42
27
17
62
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Austin, Texas
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

Karis, who works at the customer service desk , goes above and beyond the customer service norm. Everytime I was greeted by her (and witnessed other greetings) , she made every effort in remembering your name, accomodating your needs and always had a way of making you smile each morning she greeted you. Karis will make your stay at the Holiday Inn arboretum as comforting as she possibly can. Big Kudos to Karis and IHG for hiring her!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southlake, Texas
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2013 via mobile

When you walk into the hotel lobby, the smell of the indoor pool overwhelms you. Hotel room appears nice. Our beds were so bad that even though we prepaid two nights thru priceline, we checked out of the hotel after the first night. I've never done that before.

Restaurant breakfast service was extremely slow. 2 waiters. 4 tables. 70 minutes to get eggs and a check.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dthompson72, General Manager at Holiday Inn Austin NW Plaza/Arboretum, responded to this review, August 26, 2013
lovegoose,

Thank you for taking the time to provide your feedback. I would like to apologize for the experience you had. While we are very proud of the level of service and quality of product at our hotel, we very obviously missed the mark for you. I will be certain to review this note with my executive team so we can look at your room...we do have some options available for guests that prefer a softer or more firm mattress.

I would love the opportunity to better demonstrate our hotel's commitment to our guests. We would be honored if you would consider a second chance. If so, please reach out to me directly.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Granbury, Texas
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2013

I used Priceline's Name Your Price feature to book an Austin hotel. We were in a group of 8, visiting Austin for my father-in-law's 86th birthday. When this Holiday Inn came up as the place Priceline had booked for me, I called Priceline and spent a good 15 minutes on the phone trying to get out of the reservation. My assumption was that a Holiday Inn would be mediocre at best.

But as it turned out, we were very pleasantly surprised. The rooms were good-sized, clean and modern. The hotel is built around a large inner atrium with an attractive indoor pool and restaurant. The gym is surprisingly well-equipped. The staff was efficient and friendly, and was happy to give us a late check-out.

I wish breakfast had been included in the room rate, but other than that we were very happy with the hotel, and will definitely plan to stay there again.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mexico
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2013

This hotel had a great service, very kid friendly, very clean. We loved the complimentary evening popcorn. We really loved this Arboretum area but guess you definitely need a car to move around. The pool has water toys for the kids and you can swin either indoors or outdoors.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Texas
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2013

From the moment I walked in the door I entered a great experience. The front desk staff at all shifts are awesome and friendly. My room was great. Even with an older property they had
redone the bathroom and there was fresh and clean tile, an updated decor color. Don't forget to take advantage of the free coffee in the lobby, they offer chocolate chips and whipped cream to put in your coffee as you head out for the day.
I'll come back here.

Room Tip: Try to get one of the rooms with the big windows on the corner.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2013

Im very impressed with the overall hotel but the customer service by far stands out. Tammy in the dining room was exceptional. She is what every hotel needs she remembered my breakfast order after just one time she waived and said hi in the hallways and made me feel very at home. David in the dining/ legend bar also showed superior customer service. I will definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Austin NW Plaza/Arboretum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Austin NW Plaza/Arboretum

Address: 8901 Business Park Drive, Austin, TX 78759
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > Austin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#70 Business Hotel in Austin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Austin NW Plaza/Arboretum 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in the scenic hills of Austin, and located near some of Austin's greatest shopping and attractions - luxury and convenience await you at the Holiday Inn Hotel Northwest Plaza / Arboretum Area. Located in the Austin Arboretum Area at the intersection of MoPac (Loop 1) at Hwy. 183 (Research Blvd.) Northwest Austin's choice for full service accommodations. Our Garden Atrium atmosphere affords each visitor the opportunity to relax, unwind and allow our service-oriented staff to take care of your every need. Enjoy our recently renewed hotel & guest rooms and flexible meeting space. Experience the difference of our award winning service in either The Park Restaurant or Legend's Sports Bar and Grill which features over 30 TVs, pool and more. Our resort-style indoor/outdoor heated pool, hot tub, 24 hour fitness center offer a great way to unwind and relax. Whether you are here for a business trip or just spending quality time with the family we'll have everything you need to make it an enjoyable stay. For your convenience, we offer a business center that is available at your leisure 24 hours a day and express video checkout. The building is equipped with HSIA access in all guest rooms and complimentary WiFi access in the public spaces. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, BookIt.com, Orbitz, Tingo, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Venere and Otel so you can book your Holiday Inn Austin NW Plaza/Arboretum reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Austin Nw Plaza/Arboretum Hotel Austin
Holiday Inn Arboretum
Austin Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Austin NW Plaza/Arboretum, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.