We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Good Stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Austin NW Plaza/Arboretum

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Austin NW Plaza/Arboretum to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Austin NW Plaza/Arboretum
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   8901 Business Park Drive, Austin, TX 78759   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 10-30%
Ranked #113 of 191 Hotels in Austin
Fort Worth, Texas
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“Very Good Stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013

3 nights and no problems. Clean and comfy rooms but expensive dining with unpleasant wait staff. Eat elsewhere if at all possible. Front desk and housekeeping were all a pleasure to deal with. You gotta know your way around to get in and out of here.

Room Tip: Noise from the hallways and the indoor patio was very loud. Get a room opposite the atrium.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

199 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    50
    61
    53
    23
    12
See reviews for
48
30
18
74
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Costa Rica
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013

Decent quality for the business traveler. However, the onsite restaurant is not good - below Denny's caliber. Breakfast was lousy and the chicken fried steak was not good at all. Even the coffee was poor. I found a Whole Foods about one mile away and they have a decent salad bar with lots of healthy choices, chicken, steak, places to sit and eat. But again - the staff is great and the place is clean and well run. I will stay there again. If management is reading this review - guys, trust me, you need to bring your restaurant food quality up to snuff. There are plenty of decent chefs looking for jobs now and you can pretty easily fix this problem.

Room Tip: Have stayed here several times and my rooms have always been good. I ran a speedtest.net and the wi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2013

My husband and I were looking for a hotel in the Arboretum area to stay in bc we had plans with friends in the area. This hotel was a close cab ride to where we were meeting them. I booked a sports package that included a $25 voucher for Legends, their on-site sports bar. We figured we'd grab dinner before going out.
We checked in a little after 5 pm. We almost missed the entrance to the hotel, so be sure and keep an eye out once you see the Holiday Inn signage.
We requested a ground floor room, but we advised that if we took the room we'd been given, we'd have a fridge in our room bc we are members of their rewards program so we opted to stay on the fouth floor as assigned. The hotel looks like an older property from the outside and it does still need some updating, but the grounds were clean and well-kept. We made our way to our room and started to "inspect" it. I am in the hospitality industry, so I like to look around the enitre property. Elevators were clean. Hallways looked vaccummed and dusted. Even the tables and plants were clean. The room look updated as far as furniture, but the walls and ceiling looked to be from the 80/90s. It had a nice big king bed with two pillow labeled with hard and soft tags. Both pillows felt the same to my husband and I, and we didn't bother using them. The appliances looked and worked fine. The microwave in the room had a turn knob on it, and we didn't use it to see if it had any issues. Fridge was slightly larger than what I'm used to seeing on properties, so that was nice. The bathroom area was spacious enough for both of us to use as we got ready to go out. I did notice a lot of dust on the fan in the toilet/tub area and the filter/cover needed to be cleaned, but other than that, clean bath and toilet. Towels were plentiful. The bed was nice to sleep on.
Legends was fine. Usual fare for a sports bar and not too busy for a Thursday night. Lots of NBA action on what seemed like endless screens. Good beer selection.
Front desk staff was friendly and helpful with questions we asked. We didn't stay here long enough to try out any of the other facilities or explore more of the property. We will probably stay there again next time we have obligations in that part of Austin.

Room Tip: Be sure and join the rewards program for extra bonuses like a free in-room fridge and complimentary...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Austin NW Plaza/Arboretum, responded to this review, September 10, 2014
Dear MingaLou,

We strive to give great and impressive service to all of our guests and it makes us happy to read we exceeded your expectations. We look forward to welcoming you back to our establishment. Once again thank you for the wonderful and kind words of praise.

Sincerely,

Orlando A.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
edinburg, texas
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

you get bite in bed by fleas or bed bugs or whatever the heck bite me. :(

dont get me wrong, it is a decent hotel with great friendly staff, but the sheets were just not clean.

as soon as i layed down i felt itchy, got up to see my entire leg broken out in a rash, then found multiple bites on my back and stomach. :(

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dthompson72, General Manager at Holiday Inn Austin NW Plaza/Arboretum, responded to this review, February 5, 2013
Wow, thank you so much for letting us know about your issue. We continue to maintain our pest contract and have no confirmed issues. We have also checked our laundry detergent calibrations to ensure they are correct and not causing allergic reactions. Please keep us posted and we look forward to serving you on your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Odessa, Texas
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

Our room was clean and comfortable, and had lots of space. The common areas of the hotel were nice, and inviting. The pool looked like lots of fun.
We could hear people walking in the hall and the doors to other rooms slamming. However, I turned the ac/heating unit fan to auto and it created enough white noise to drowned the rest out. We were able to sleep late without being woke up.
The bathroom needed lots of work, it was not updated to match the rest of the room. The bathroom was clean, but the tile made it feel dated and dirty. The bathroom is really the only reason for the average rating. If it were updated I would have no problem giving a higher rating!
Nice helpful staff, great price! Good location, even if it is a little hard to get to. We would stay again.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Austin NW Plaza/Arboretum, responded to this review, July 31, 2013
Dear MandyGandy,

Thank you for staying with us and providing us with your valuable feedback. It is delightful to know that our rooms were comfortable enough for your needs and found the ambiance of our property to be inviting. I apologize that you weren't completely satisfied with the condition of our bathroom facility.

Despite this, I do hope you will return to stay with us again at some future date when you can be assured of our very best attention.

Sincerely,

Pam G
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
westtexas
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012 via mobile

Staff wAs very friendly and helpful. The room was very clean. The bed was very comfortable. Pool and hot tub area was nice and clean also. Everything worked, no construction. Lots of shopping and restaurants close.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2012

The issue is that every time the door close shut, it creates a loud noise....BANG...very uncomforable loud noise. Imagine you got sporadic BANG BANG throughout the night. The location is abit inconvenient to access, if you were coming from the east side of the hotel, you will need a U turn and then drive through couple sub division streets.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dthompson72, General Manager at Holiday Inn Austin NW Plaza/Arboretum, responded to this review, December 26, 2012
Please accept our most sincere apologies for the noise you experienced during your recent stay. I trust our staff was able to resolve your issue quickly and we would love the opportunity to make it up to you. I will be sure to share this experience with my team so we can be better in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Austin NW Plaza/Arboretum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Austin NW Plaza/Arboretum

Address: 8901 Business Park Drive, Austin, TX 78759
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > Austin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #113 of 191 Hotels in Austin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Austin NW Plaza/Arboretum 3*
Number of rooms: 194
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in the scenic hills of Austin, and located near some of Austin's greatest shopping and attractions - luxury and convenience await you at the Holiday Inn Hotel Northwest Plaza / Arboretum Area. Located in the Austin Arboretum Area at the intersection of MoPac (Loop 1) at Hwy. 183 (Research Blvd.) Northwest Austin's choice for full service accommodations. Our Garden Atrium atmosphere affords each visitor the opportunity to relax, unwind and allow our service-oriented staff to take care of your every need. Enjoy our recently renewed hotel & guest rooms and flexible meeting space. Experience the difference of our award winning service in either The Park Restaurant or Legend's Sports Bar and Grill which features over 30 TVs, pool and more. Our resort-style indoor/outdoor heated pool, hot tub, 24 hour fitness center offer a great way to unwind and relax. Whether you are here for a business trip or just spending quality time with the family we'll have everything you need to make it an enjoyable stay. For your convenience, we offer a business center that is available at your leisure 24 hours a day and express video checkout. The building is equipped with HSIA access in all guest rooms and complimentary WiFi access in the public spaces. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Travelocity, Booking.com, BookIt.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline and Expedia so you can book your Holiday Inn Austin NW Plaza/Arboretum reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Austin Nw Plaza/Arboretum Hotel Austin
Holiday Inn Arboretum
Austin Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Austin NW Plaza/Arboretum, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.