We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasant property, good value, but... no real pillows?!?!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Austin NW Plaza/Arboretum

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Austin NW Plaza/Arboretum to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Austin NW Plaza/Arboretum
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   8901 Business Park Drive, Austin, TX 78759   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #94 of 187 Hotels in Austin
Houston, TX
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Pleasant property, good value, but... no real pillows?!?!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2011

We stayed at this property over the 4th of July weekend 2011. We got an amazing rate through Priceline, much lower than I would have thought we could get frankly. The property is quite pleasant and looks to have been refreshed within the past few years. Rooms do not have balconies, but face inward to overlook a central enclosed courtyard which includes a pool. The pool also extends to an outdoor patio, connected through a swim-under barrier. We found the pool very refreshing, but the outdoors area has relatively little seating with no bar or food facilities available. The outdoor pool area is walled off, with no view and just a few trees. The restaurant indoors in the central courtyard looked nice and we noticed some good aromas wafting through, but we did not dine there. We would return to the property but would bring our own pillows. They provide only oddly-shaped small square pillows that I have never seen used other than a throw pillow before, and they were terribly uncomfortable. We asked for standard bed pillows but they did not have any. They really need to correct that deficiency as it did not make for a good night's sleep.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dthompson72, General Manager at Holiday Inn Austin NW Plaza/Arboretum, responded to this review, August 29, 2011
We appreciate the kind words as well as the pillow suggestions. I would like to apologize that we did not have pillows at the desk to give; we should always have additional pillows to loan. Rest assured, I will be following up with my team to identify the disconnect. The great news is our team is committed to resolving these issues. I am not sure how much you travel with Holiday Inn, but we have a feature that allows us to create a profile for each guest. I would suggest placing this on your profile the next time you check in. That would give us an opportunity not only to have these pillows for you, but already have them in your room when you arrive.

Thanks again for sharing. Best of luck on your future travels.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

184 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    49
    59
    51
    21
    4
See reviews for
46
28
18
65
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Clearwater, Florida
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2011

Pro:

Front desk staff is excellent - as good as I've seen in a long time
Clean rooms
Good water pressure
Bed and pillows are decent
Lobby area is very nice
Free popcorn in the afternoons
New wifi internet speed is okay
Desk, chair, micro and fridge in room

Con:

A/C is very poor. Temperature will never get below 73 degrees...which is okay I guess, but at night, I prefer it a bit cooler if possible. Thermostat was set to 70 all week and the temp varied on its own from 73 to 75...it's just a poorly designed system.

TV: this is a joke for a hotel that charges $130+ per night. Why are they still using old school 27" Zenith TVs with a cable system that offers only a handful of channels? Sure, you can rent movies over the cable system - $15 each!? I mostly just used my laptop and Netflix...far better selection.

No free breakfast of any kind. There is a restaurant downstairs, but their omelets run $10.99 each and toast is $2.99. Not a huge deal; but why bother with this hotel at all? Just go to a Holiday Inn Express, sleep there for less money and get a free breakfast.

Coffee maker is a 1 cup version. You pour in one cup of water, put the coffee 1 cup container in position and there's your cup. You don't get 2 cups or 3, just one. If you want any more coffee than 1 cup - you have to go downstairs and request more.

Room Tip: Give this one a pass - far better deals available
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dthompson72, General Manager at Holiday Inn Austin NW Plaza/Arboretum, responded to this review, August 29, 2011
Wow; what great feedback! First of all, thank you for recoginizing how clean and friendly our hotel is. We are particulalry proud of this truth...but in the spirit of continuous improvement, we must also address the areas we can get better.

You will be happy to know that we have already addressed some of your concerns. For example, we have just installed brand new, 32" HDTV flat screens, in each of our guest rooms. Although this has been the hottest season on record in Austin, we are seeing areas of our hotel that need to be cooler. This morning I received a Purchase Order approval for five 3 ton AC units to replace older and less efficient units.

Thank you again for calling this to attention. In the event you would like to give us another opportunity to serve you, I would be honored. Feel free to contact me directly.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Worth, Texas
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2011

Stayed here for one night with my wife, and 3 kids. (10, 7 and 2) Room was clean, a little tight on space for that many people, but it was just for the night. Not sure what Holiday Inn is doing with their PILLOW SELECTION they say they have a variety of firm to soft pillows for you to choose from, but they were all awful. And small. Whatever ploy they are using to cover up being pillow aficionados is a hoax. And to top it off, the beds are AWFUL too! Stiff and small! Two FULL sized beds? Queens would have been nicer. But not available. Made for a very unpleasant evening. No breakfast, unless you want overpriced and poorly prepared crap from their restaurant. Parking lot is small and tight as well. Pool was enjoyable.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dthompson72, General Manager at Holiday Inn Austin NW Plaza/Arboretum, responded to this review, August 29, 2011
Thank you for taking the time to write your review. I would like to personally apologize for the experience you had; sounds as if we could have improved your stay with us given the opportunity. We would have loved an opportunity to explain our "Kids Eat Free" promotion that allows children 12 and under to eat free from the kids menu (*restrictions apply), or provided additional options for your pillows.

Either way, please know that our guests come first. While we are not always perfect, we do work extremely hard to resolve any concerns anyone might have during their stay. Feel free to call me directly should you look at returning anytime soon. We would love an opportunity to make it right.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2011

The hotel is a bit difficult to get to. However, my GPS led me safely there. The surrounding area is nice, woodsy with several convenient local retail/restaurants nearby.

My only complaint was that I could not get the internet to work in my room. Which, if you are a business traveler is very important.

They do not have wifi and the room cable for the internet didn't work. When I complained they said I could call AT&T. I don't feel that this is my job.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dthompson72, General Manager at Holiday Inn Austin NW Plaza/Arboretum, responded to this review, July 11, 2011
Thank you for taking the time to post your review. We heard the need for wireless internet and are thrilled to announce that today, we began installing a brand new WiFi System throughout our hotel. It is scheduled to be complete on Friday 7/15. We hope to see you soon to let us know what you think of our new internet.

Donn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2011

This is the 2nd worst hotel I have stayed in. The photos on the website make the hotel rooms look nice, but the room we were in was dark and drab. They only had two lamps with low wattage bulbs in them. The furniture was nice and so were the bed linens but we laughed when our little girl asked what is that on the table. She was pointing at the old tube style tv. She has only seen a flat screen. The carpet looked a little dirty and stained so did the paint on the walls. The bathroom is in need of a renovation bad. Under the sink was dirty and a wall cover was open. There is only WI-Fi in the lobby area and not in the rooms. The restaruant needs new furniture, it looked dated. The food was ok but did not like being charged $2.25 for coffee and it's not Starbucks quality. It is hard to get to the hotel and I am glad I had GPS. The only nice thing about the hotel was the staff.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2011

The internet connection is practically non-existent, rendering you completely unable to perform any work requiring internet on the premises. And don't even think that you might be able to enjoy a cold drink by the pool and unwind- The hotel rents the pool out a instructor who provides swimming lessons for small children. The parents and children completely overtake the pool area- there is no seating left for guests and it is impossible to swim or relax. And that cold drink- forget it! The bar was practically empty but it still took the bartender to forever to even acknowledge our existence. Terribly disappointed and wish we could relocate for the rest of our trip.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dthompson72, General Manager at Holiday Inn Austin NW Plaza/Arboretum, responded to this review, May 11, 2011
Thank you for taking the time to give us feedback on your recent experience. First, we would like to tell you that we are sincerely sorry that this is the experince we delivered. Our goal is to provide a great hotel and restaurant experience every day and every stay. We admittedly missed the mark for you and want to make it right. Please contact me directly at 512-634-3201 to give our team the opportunity to do that.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2011

I was expecting the worst after winning this on Priceline. But was pleasantly surprised. In terms of location, just read the review below on October 16 and follow those directions, and you'll get there with no problems.

The room was clean, and the hotel less than half full on Thursday and Friday nights, other than a minor league hockey team staying there. Decent sports bar attached to the hotel, with the cheapest beers I've had in a while.

Great staff, too. There was a problem with the hotel pool when we went to use it, so we used the hot tub instead. The manager saw and insisted on buying us breakfast the next morning.

All in all, it's a 3* Holiday Inn on Priceline and well worth it.

Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Austin NW Plaza/Arboretum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Austin NW Plaza/Arboretum

Address: 8901 Business Park Drive, Austin, TX 78759
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > Austin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#75 Business Hotel in Austin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Austin NW Plaza/Arboretum 3*
Number of rooms: 194
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in the scenic hills of Austin, and located near some of Austin's greatest shopping and attractions - luxury and convenience await you at the Holiday Inn Hotel Northwest Plaza / Arboretum Area. Located in the Austin Arboretum Area at the intersection of MoPac (Loop 1) at Hwy. 183 (Research Blvd.) Northwest Austin's choice for full service accommodations. Our Garden Atrium atmosphere affords each visitor the opportunity to relax, unwind and allow our service-oriented staff to take care of your every need. Enjoy our recently renewed hotel & guest rooms and flexible meeting space. Experience the difference of our award winning service in either The Park Restaurant or Legend's Sports Bar and Grill which features over 30 TVs, pool and more. Our resort-style indoor/outdoor heated pool, hot tub, 24 hour fitness center offer a great way to unwind and relax. Whether you are here for a business trip or just spending quality time with the family we'll have everything you need to make it an enjoyable stay. For your convenience, we offer a business center that is available at your leisure 24 hours a day and express video checkout. The building is equipped with HSIA access in all guest rooms and complimentary WiFi access in the public spaces. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Travelocity, Agoda, BookIt.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Holiday Inn Austin NW Plaza/Arboretum reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Austin Nw Plaza/Arboretum Hotel Austin
Holiday Inn Arboretum
Austin Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Austin NW Plaza/Arboretum, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.