We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“4th of July Getaway” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Embassy Suites by Hilton Austin - Downtown/Town Lake

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Embassy Suites by Hilton Austin - Downtown/Town Lake to your Saves list
Embassy Suites by Hilton Austin - Downtown/Town Lake
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   300 South Congress Avenue, Austin, TX 78704   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #49 of 193 Hotels in Austin
Certificate of Excellence
Cedar Park, United States
1 review
“4th of July Getaway”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2013

We stayed here due to the proximity of the 4th of July fireworks and Austin Symphony Orchestra free performance. It was the perfect location for this! The rooms were very clean, comfortable, and the staff was helpful. The complimentary made-to-order breakfast was a great treat!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service

Review collected in partnership with Embassy Suites Hotels

Helpful?
Thank Niki Kate M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

685 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Sugar Land
Level Contributor
21 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

Stayed here because it was one of the convention hotels. Didn't realize it was nearly a mile from the convention! Not what we were looking for. Front desk person seemed irritated that we wanted to check in. We were there before official check in time so room was not ready, which was fine and understandable. But instead of going ahead and taking my check info and offering to text/call me when room was ready, I was told we couldn't do anything until room was ready and I'd need to come back every little bit to see when room was ready. Really?!?! Not a good start.
Rooms were nice size but beds were not comfortable. Had pre-requested extra towels, had to call and ask once we finally got in the room. Maid service came while we were there, which wasn't a prob. We just asked for bath and beds to be freshened, and extra towels. She acted put out, and did not leave extra towels.
Food was terrible! Managers reception was pitiful! Only beer was two local micro brewery beers. Wine was bad. Snacks were pathetic compared to others Embassy Suites we've stayed in. Breakfast buffet was awful! One person working the hot orders, on a busy Sat morning with a sold out convention, a baseball team, and a wedding party in house. Lines took forever. My son said his omelette tasted like raw egg, no one else ordered one. None cooked-to-order items were nasty looking. I finally found some pastries that were wonderful! Didn't have them the next day. We were afraid to try the actual restaurant after our experience with the other food.
Overall, this is the worst Embassy we've ever stayed in, and will prob not again! Even our teenage boys, who normally love Embassy Suites, said this was awful. Very disappointing!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Micki L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JodySmith, General Manager at Embassy Suites by Hilton Austin - Downtown/Town Lake, responded to this review, July 11, 2013
Please accept my apology for your unsatisfactory experience during your recent stay. Your feedback is very important to me. I am forwarding your information regarding your check in experience as well as housekeeping experience to our staff. My Food and Beverage manager is addressing the comments. Again I am sorry that this was not a great experience for you. My hope is that you will consider staying with us the next time you are in the area.

Jody Smith
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DFW, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

Excellent night sleep in the wonderful beds at this hotel!!! The hotel was clean, super comfortable, quiet rooms and very nice to stay at. Our room was facing downtown Austin so the view was beautiful also. Staff was very helpful too. The breakfast was ok, some of the food wasn't great, but much to choose from!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service

Review collected in partnership with Embassy Suites Hotels

Helpful?
1 Thank Donna C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2013

I attended a convention in Austin s Texas and stayed at the E.Suits (HH). It was indeed an excellent , experience. If it's comfort, safety and courtesy you are seeking when away...I suggest E.S. Additionally, this was my first experience with Embassy Suits. However, it will not be my last.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service

Review collected in partnership with Embassy Suites Hotels

Helpful?
1 Thank Bobby J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grosse Pointe, Michigan
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2013

A nice hotel to stay near attractions, good restaurants, and nice shops. I was there for a wedding in Austin. Staff was very helpful, room was clean and comfortable, and food was good. The buffet breakfast exceeded my expectations with omelettes made to order, and every staff member I encountered was friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service

Review collected in partnership with Embassy Suites Hotels

Helpful?
Thank Artsgal509
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington, TX, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2013

Our family enjoyed a wonderful & relaxing long weekend in Austin, TX. at the Town Lake Embassy Suites. We enjoyed the location and the convenience and accessibility to Austin attractions. This is a definite repeat long weekend stay.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service

Review collected in partnership with Embassy Suites Hotels

Helpful?
Thank John W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, United States
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2013

I would recommend this hotel to anyone staying in Austin. The upper levels offer free snacks and waters. The waters run out, but it is still a nice touch. Free breakfast was good. The bed was comfortable. Zax's restaurant is a really good place to eat in the evening (right across the street).

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service

Review collected in partnership with Embassy Suites Hotels

Helpful?
Thank Anthony C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Austin hotels
South Austin
Hyatt Regency Austin
Hyatt Regency Austin
#36 of 193 in Austin
4.0 of 5 stars 1,145 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hilton Austin
#22 of 193 in Austin
4.0 of 5 stars 910 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Embassy Suites by Hilton Austin - Downtown/Town Lake? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Embassy Suites by Hilton Austin - Downtown/Town Lake

Address: 300 South Congress Avenue, Austin, TX 78704
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > Austin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#23 Romantic Hotel in Austin
#27 Family Hotel in Austin
#38 Business Hotel in Austin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Embassy Suites by Hilton Austin - Downtown/Town Lake 3.5*
Number of rooms: 262
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Hilton Hotels, Priceline, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Embassy Suites by Hilton Austin - Downtown/Town Lake reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Embassy Suites Austin - Downtown/Town Lake Austin Texas Hotel Austin
Austin Embassy Suites
Embassy Suite Austin Downtown

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing