We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Almost perfect stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Embassy Suites Austin - Downtown/Town Lake Austin Texas

Save Saved
You added Embassy Suites Austin - Downtown/Town Lake Austin Texas to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Embassy Suites Austin - Downtown/Town Lake Austin Texas
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   300 South Congress Avenue, Austin, TX 78704 (South Austin)   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Austin Parking Savings
Ranked #38 of 183 hotels in Austin
Charleston, South Carolina
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Almost perfect stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2012

My husband and I recently stayed at the Embassy Suites in downtown Austin. My husband was attending a conference nearby. We chose this hotel rather than the conference hotel for the upgraded free breakfast at Embassy Suites and the few dollars a night more that we paid was worth it.

Embassy Suites made us feel welcome from the time we arrived. There was always flavored water in the lobby on the days when it was warm and coffee on the last day when it turned cool and rainy.

The "made to order" breakfast was just as advertised. Everyone was able to get what they wanted for breakfast and it was constantly being restocked, tables cleared, etc. Happy hour in the evenings was the same.

Our king suite was very spacious and allowed one of us to work while the other one slept uninterrupted. The shower was large and had lots of hot water and good pressure. My only complaint was the cricket in my room - just the luck of the draw.

All things considered, I would definitely stay there again!

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

457 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    183
    170
    61
    30
    13
See reviews for
125
74
26
145
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (77)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hurricane, West Virginia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2012

Stayed 4 nightes Oct. 3-7, 2012. Hotel is in great shape. Rooms are very spacious and updated. Managers special was very good. Did not have a rental car. If you dont mind walking to town which is a decent walk to 6th st. a car is not needed. Hotel shuttle will take you to close by places but not to Airport. Hotel was crowded on weekend which made finding a seat for breakfast very hard. Could add more seating on weekends or when hotel is full. Area resturants are close. I would stay here again and would recommend it to anyone.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swedesboro, New Jersey, United States
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2012

Congress street bridge. Party time watching the bats It felt like tailgating Batman was there and 1. Million bats did not disappoint Then off into the city to the Bat Bar the hotel was great near ev.erything in a small city I highly recommend

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
113 reviews 113 reviews
45 hotel reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
70 helpful votes 70 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2012 via mobile

We spent four nights here and had a great time. Location was perfect: we could either walk everywhere or use the buses which are regular and incredibly cheap at two dollars for 24 hours. The suite was very spacious and lacked for nothing. Very comfortable seats in the living area and the bed was also comfortable. Air con was easy to control and quiet. Structure of the building which had an internal atrium also provided great views. Three lifts were very fast: the hotel was full and we never had to wait long for a lift to arrive or get us to our suite on the seventh floor. There is an efficient coin operated laundry which is very useful if you are on a long vacation. Breakfast was cooked to order by very efficient, pleasant staff, and the happy hour/ managers reception early evening was a good prelude to going out to our evening meal. We noticed that a lot of people seemed to enjoy the food which accompanied the free beer and wine,but we did not need this. The iced water flavoured with fruits available in the lobby was a lovely touch. Housekeeping was excellent and on the one day we got back and our rooms hadn't been done(which was probably due to us being in them in the middle of the day), a phone call to the front desk produced the maid within two minutes. The standard of the in room tea and coffee supplies were excellent. My husband used the pool and tub each day and enjoyed them. We had a great time in Austin and would strongly recommend this hotel.

Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2012

This hotel was ok but not worth the money it had a great location and a very friendly front desk staff but that is about as far as it goes. I stayed on the executive floor and with the exception of a extra desk space and tea and coffee available all day there was nothing special about paying the extra price for staying on this floor,no separate check in or lounge. Two days out of my stay I had to complain to house keeping that my towels were dirty and needed to be replaced and it took most of the day to remove trays discarded from the rooms out of the hallway. Over all the experience wasn't terrible but for the service I will go with a little less expensive hotel next time or something a little more exclusive.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JodySmith, General Manager at Embassy Suites Austin - Downtown/Town Lake Austin Texas, responded to this review, October 19, 2012
Thank you for your feedback and we hope you enjoyed the wedding. We are glad you chose our hotel during your stay in our area and we apologize for the problems you encountered. We have corrected the hallway issues and have addressed the other issues with our housekeepers. We assure you that if you give us another opportunity, you won't be disappointed in the future.

Kind Regards,
Jody Smith
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton NJ
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2012

very clean and recently updated. the daily free breakfast and happy hours were a very nice bonus and hard to come by in most hotels these days. they had more than the 'basics' for both and were very good. the rooms are very big and comfortable. nice, clean bathroom. didn't eat at the hotel restaurant Coopers but the food looked good and they had a great selection of booze. this is a great hotel with nice amenities for the price. the hotel is located right at the end of the South Congress Bridge so it is super close to the downtown area and also the SoCo section. walking distance to both. the Barton Springs area was a little far and not an easy walk. overall the Embassy Suites and Austin were awesome and i will def like to come back and will stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Central Texas
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2012

this is the best place to stay to explore downtown Austin and South Congress. Right off the South Congress Bridge, where the bats live, close to 6th Street. Free breakfast and happy hour, nice people watching lobby. The rooms are big and comfortable. Very affordable, good for groups. We're going back again in November.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Embassy Suites Austin - Downtown/Town Lake Austin Texas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Embassy Suites Austin - Downtown/Town Lake Austin Texas

Address: 300 South Congress Avenue, Austin, TX 78704
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > Austin > South Austin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#21 Family Hotel in Austin
#26 Romantic Hotel in Austin
#34 Business Hotel in Austin
#38 Spa Hotel in Austin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Embassy Suites Austin - Downtown/Town Lake Austin Texas 3.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, Hotels.com, Travelocity, HotelsClick, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL, Priceline and Venere so you can book your Embassy Suites Austin - Downtown/Town Lake Austin Texas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Embassy Suites Austin - Downtown/Town Lake Austin Texas Hotel Austin
Austin Embassy Suites
Embassy Suite Austin Downtown

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Embassy Suites Austin - Downtown/Town Lake Austin Texas, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.