We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Consisent Austin experience” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Embassy Suites Hotel Austin Central

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Embassy Suites Hotel Austin Central to your Saves list
Embassy Suites Hotel Austin Central
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   5901 North I-35, Austin, TX 78723   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
SAVE: Breakfast and WiFi
Ranked #90 of 191 Hotels in Austin
Riverview, Florida
Top Contributor
564 reviews 564 reviews
148 hotel reviews
Reviews in 242 cities Reviews in 242 cities
360 helpful votes 360 helpful votes
“Consisent Austin experience”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2009

Stayed here just for one night on the way into town. It is an older Embassy Suites property but the rooms have been updated and had nice Texas touches. The area is filled with shopping and chain choices for meals. The property and service is everything you expect of an Embassy Suites with the full breakfast.

Stayed July 2008
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMAus, General Manager at Embassy Suites Hotel Austin Central, responded to this review, January 23, 2009
I greatly appreciate you taking the time to review our hotel. Input from our guest's is always communicated to our employees. It is nice to be finished with our renovations and have guests such as you notice how they have been updated.
I certainly hope we have an opportunity to have you visit on a return visit to Austin.

Sincerely,
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

598 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    211
    183
    99
    69
    36
See reviews for
168
80
20
245
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (76)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Gladstone, MO
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2008

I used my Hilton Honors points to stay at the Embassy Suites Austin - Central for the Missouri vs. Texas game. Check-in was easy, even when I couldn't find my authorization sheet.

The hotel room was your normal Embassy Suites. It did have a balcony but you could only fit one person on it. The view was of an apartment complex. Nothing spectacular. I'm sure the other side of the hotel had a great view of the city.

Breakfast was above average. Lots of room to eat and a lot of hot items to choose from the buffet.

The shuttle service was nice as well. They work on tips so we gave the driver $20 to take us to Sixth Street. However, when you call the hotel at 2:30 AM slurry your words to have them send the shuttle, they'll laugh at you. When you tell them that you'll just walk to the hotel, they'll laugh again. Thankfully a friendly city worker gave us a ride back to the hotel. Free of charge.

Overall, the hotel is just fine. The only problem was the remote control on the TV didn't work too well but we were hardly in the room anyways so it didn't matter.

We're coming back in four years to watch MU play UT again. The tailgating at UT is the best in the World.

  • Liked — Free hot breakfast
  • Disliked — TV remote didn't work
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMAus, General Manager at Embassy Suites Hotel Austin Central, responded to this review, November 18, 2008
kcchiefs,
I appreciate the time you took to write your review. I do apologize that our shuttle van does not go past 11:00 PM. That should have been mentioned when they dropped you off. Despite this issue you rated us very highly which I am extremely grateful.

Good luck to Missouri in the Big 12 Championship game, I wish we could get there too!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Worth, Texas
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2008

A group of about 8 stayed at this hotel August 15-17 and really loved it! The rooms are great and the 2nd sink in the bedroom helps alot. Easy and fast check in. The front desk was very nice and helpful. The shuttle took us to 6th street both nights and the driver is SOOO friendly. Evening reception was fun, beer on tap, liquor, and wine all there. No limits, my husband and friends filled the table! The breakfast really hit the spot. I have NOTHING negative to say, we loved this hotel.

  • Liked — free food, drinks
  • Disliked — location from 6th street
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMAus, General Manager at Embassy Suites Hotel Austin Central, responded to this review, November 18, 2008
Heather,
Thank you for such a great review of the hotel and our staff! It is wonderful to hear your positive comments about the staff at the hotel.

I certainly hope we get the chance to host you on your next visit to Austin, TX. I sincerely thank you for taking the time to relay your experiences here at the hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas
Top Contributor
213 reviews 213 reviews
156 hotel reviews
Reviews in 114 cities Reviews in 114 cities
199 helpful votes 199 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2008

How you can you go wrong with an Embassy Suites? This is another great one. It's one of the older ones, but it is very good. The indoor pool and hot tub is great and open til midnight (10-12 for adults only).

The breakfast is excellent with the typical Embassy omelettes and other goodies. And, don't forget the evening reception. The television has limited channels. Wireless works well, but have to pay if not a higher level of HiltonHHonors membership.

This hotel is pretty close to downtown. The Texas Land and Cattle restaurant across the street is great and reasonably priced (much more so than the hotel restaurant).

I recommend this hotel, especially if you can get a great rate.

  • Liked — Great breakfast
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Potomac Falls, Virginia
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2008

The breakfast is practically a Frühstück - best hotel breakfast I've ever had in the US! The cook was friendly, fast, and great....the food variety was awesome (eggs any style, pancakes, sausage, bacon, hash browns, cereals, breads, donuts, yogurt, juices of all kinds), plenty of seating and IT'S ALL FREE.

My kids particularly loved the indoor pool, with depths ranging from 3' to 7'. They were in it for hours. It's all nicely landscaped and housekeeping comes and collects used towels and puts out fresh ones on a regular basis.

The kids also had a blast on the glass elevators. There are 4 of them all facing the atrium. Our room, 718, was one down from the elevator and so, it was really convenient (and not loud).

The rooms have both a city view and an atrium view, which is nice; there were two completely separate rooms - one BR with a king bed & a LR with a work desk / eating table. The kitchenette had a microwave, coffee maker, mini frig and a deep sink, with granite counter tops.

The bathroom was TINY, but the shower head had GREAT, WONDERFUL, PERFECT water pressure. Also, the toiletry amenities were minimal, but adequate for our stay.

Let's see -- there's koi in the atrium pond. Kids loved that. There's also a manager's reception. More for munchie foods, than appetizer type foods. They had nachos, cheese & jalepenos, popcorn, goldfish, with sodas.

There are 2 tvs and 2 phones in the suite. Kid friendly channels include "Cartoon Network" and Nickelodeon. Nintendo is offered for $6.95 per hour on the tv.

There's an additional sink in the bedroom, which comes in handy for putting on make up or brushing teeth.

Walgreens and Target close-by, but hard to reach on foot (bc of fences and busy road skirting route). If you're driving, it's just around the block, then. There's incredibly easy access to both north & south I-35 and SH290.

BTW, we got in for a group, government, block rate of $85/night. Exceptional value. Will stay here again.

  • Liked — Cooked to order free breakfast
  • Disliked — my kids looking over the metal railings on each floor!
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2008

I usually am very happy with Embassy Suites, and this one is no exception. It's not quite as nice as some of the more recently built or remodeled ESs, so I am only giving it 4 stars. It has been remodeled recently, but it still shows some signs of its age here and there. Plus, there was a huge, ugly piece of electrical conduit in one corner of the room that had been recently installed. The a/c emitted an annoying high-pitched whine from time to time. Other than these complaints, it was clean, comfortable and very well decorated with modern amenities, including granite counter tops and modern fixtures.

As always, the free breakfast was excellent. Even though the hotel was crowded the weekend we stayed there, the breakfast service was still very efficient and smooth.

It has a nice indoor pool and hot tub, but it was pretty crowded the weekend we stayed there.

  • Stayed August 2008, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, California
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2008

I was there recently for a convention. Having breakfast included was great. Friendly staff and clean rooms. The bathroom was tiny compared to the bedroom/living room area, but can't complain since there is a living room area. Worked out great for four people, especially since there's a pull out couch in the living room.

Only complaint is flies were all over the restaurant during our lunch. It was bad.

Otherwise, clean and safe. I would stay there again if I was there for business. Not much else in the area.

  • Liked — Clean and safe
  • Disliked — Location
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Embassy Suites Hotel Austin Central? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Embassy Suites Hotel Austin Central

Address: 5901 North I-35, Austin, TX 78723
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > Austin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#59 Business Hotel in Austin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Embassy Suites Hotel Austin Central 3*
Number of rooms: 260
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels, Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com and getaroom.com so you can book your Embassy Suites Hotel Austin Central reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Austin Embassy Suites
Embassy Suites Austin

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Embassy Suites Hotel Austin Central, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.