We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Would Definitely Stay Again” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Doubletree by Hilton Hotel Austin

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Doubletree by Hilton Hotel Austin to your Saves list
Doubletree by Hilton Hotel Austin
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   6505 N Interstate 35, Austin, TX 78752-4346   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #65 of 187 Hotels in Austin
GreenLeadersBronze level
San Antonio, Texas
1 review
“Would Definitely Stay Again”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2010

I visited the Double Tree last weekend and I was very much impressed by the the kindness of the staff. The rooms were clean and the kingsize bed was comfortable. The only thing i didnt like was the loud slamming of the doors. The confrence rooms were comfortable and the over all theme of the hotel was to my personal likeing. Loved the location and the will definitely stay again. Keep up the good work Doubletree.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jprendeville, General Manager at Doubletree by Hilton Hotel Austin, responded to this review, August 23, 2010
Thank you very much for the kind feedback, it is greatly appreciated. We love to hear feedback on our great staff and I am delighted that you found the rooms to be clean and comfortable and that you liked our Spanish Colonial motif. I do apologize that you experienced some noise issues and I hope that they did not detract from what appears to have otherwise been an enjoyable stay.

Best Regards,


James Prendeville
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

704 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    255
    227
    145
    52
    25
See reviews for
103
87
45
398
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (93)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Manteno, IL
Top Contributor
98 reviews 98 reviews
91 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
72 helpful votes 72 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2010

I booked this after looking all over for what I thought would be a nice hotel and pool for my kids. lI have stayed at Doubletrees before and they were nice. UGH. I should have known when I walked in the lobby. It was a 1980's spanish style with VERY old furniture. The halls were very old and dingy. The room has some updates, but the majority was in bad shape. The showers were horrible. Mold and hair everywhere. Walls very diry. The old bandaid and used klennex near the bed was the high point. We checked out after the first night and went across the street to the Courtyard. It was VERY clean. Pool was very small and only 3 feet at the deepest. It also was crumbling down around the edges. Very nice courtyard if kept up. This could be a great hotel and probably was in the day. Charged 10 for internet.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jprendeville, General Manager at Doubletree by Hilton Hotel Austin, responded to this review, August 23, 2010
Thanks for writing regarding your recent stay, it appears that we failed to meet very basic expectations and I apologize for that. The Spanish Colonial motif is certainly not to every guest’s taste, most like it a lot but I certainly appreciate your perspective also. However, there is no excuse for the cleanliness concerns you experienced with your guestroom. Simply put, it’s unacceptable and you have my assurance that I have followed up on your concerns.

Again, thanks for the feedback and please feel to reach out to me personally if I can be of further service

Best Regards,

James Prendeville
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
43 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2010

I booked a room at this location through Priceline. While I initially thought I got a favorable rate, I was rather disappointed with the hotel. With any hotel stay, the bed is of primary importance. I found the king bed to be rather uncomfortable; comparable to those I might expect at the adjacent Motel 6. Other disappointing features: hallways smelled of mildew; corridors and bathroom were dimly lit; pool and surrounding lounge area are small; highway noise (though not too noticable when a.c. fan was on); hotel charges for parking. Positive features: sixth floor corner room was quite spacious; excellent business center; easy entry to the highway.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2010

This once grand hotel is now on the cusp of dilapidation. ants in my room on the sixth floor, dirty baseboards, bad repairs, dated rooms with beat up furniture with scuffs and handles missing, tv non-functioning. Was moved to a better room that was too not clean and had mildew in the shower and on the curtains. Lots of defferred repairs and patches that are poorly performed.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Odessa, Texas
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2010

We had family menbers from 70+ to 10, and all had a great time. We found the location one of the best in Austin. Will be my choice of a hotel my next trip to Austin

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jprendeville, General Manager at Doubletree by Hilton Hotel Austin, responded to this review, July 21, 2010
Thank you very much for your kind comments, they are greatly appreciated. I am delighted that your stay was enjoyable and that you found out location to be favorable.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the future and in the meantime, please feel free to reach out to me personally if I can be of further service.

Best Regards,

James Prendeville
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, TX
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2010

The good, Ok , so the staff tries their best, and they were extremely helpful. There is a cute inner courtyard and pool.... That's about it for this place. The bad, they now charge for parking and internet so add $20 extra dollars per day to your rate! The whole property is run down, its old and in dire need of a renovation. The rooms look like they were the location for a new years party in 1985, and have not been cleaned since. I took off my shoes and walked around the room only to find the soles of my feet blackend from all the filth on the carpet! I spent the rest of my stay tip toeing around the room and trying not to touch any of the furniture. Dont forget to get your tetanus shot before staying here.... better safe than sorry!

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jprendeville, General Manager at Doubletree by Hilton Hotel Austin, responded to this review, July 19, 2010
Thank you very much for taking the time to give us your feedback. I sincerely appreciate the kind comments regarding our Staff, Courtyard and Pool. We are very proud of our staff and consider ourselves to be very fortunate to have a team of employees as focused on our guests as they are.

The vast majority of the guestrooms at the hotel were renovated in 2005/2006 and we generally get very positive feedback from our guests on these rooms. There is a small pocket of rooms on the upper floor that are slated for renovation and it appears that you may have stayed in one of those. Fortunately, we are moving forward with a complete renovation of these rooms beginning in August 2010.

Having said that, although the rooms are a little older, our very high cleanliness standards throughout the hotel are uniform and I sincerely regret that you did not experience us at our best in that regard. Please be assured that I have shared your comments with our Executive Housekeeper and they will be addressed.

Thanks again for taking the time to write regarding your stay and please feel free to reach out to me personally if I can be of further service.

Best Regards,

James Prendeville
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
baton rouge
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2010

The hotel is OK, but not as good I imagined for a typical "Double Tree Hotel". Bed and everything on bed is very comfortable. They have a very good way to be conservative and environmentally friendly. But Something very unsatisfying: Rug is dirty. TV is at a very wired position, 90 degree angle away from the bed......; AND when we were packing up after three day's stay, we shockingly found the door to the front porch is unlocked! (which I suppose should be checked by whoever cleaned the room before we check in). I'm completely terrified by this. Our room is such a public place to all the people in the hotel! But when I called the front desk about this, she simply said "ok, just close it". NO apology, nothing at all. Or I'm expecting too much from this place. Or I'm supposed to check EVERYTHING before I check in.
Anyway, not recommended, will not go there again.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jprendeville, General Manager at Doubletree by Hilton Hotel Austin, responded to this review, July 3, 2010
Thank you very much for taking the time to provide us with feedback on your recent stay. I do appreciate the kind words regarding our beds and recycling efforts at the hotel, we are very proud of both.

I was obviously concerned that the patio door to your room was unlocked. Approximately one third of our rooms at the hotel have patio doors that open to our inner Courtyard. The locks on these doors are designed to be self locking when the door is closed. In other words, if the door is closed from the outside, it is not possible to re-enter the room from the patio. In addition, the doors are equipped with two secondary locking devices in the form of a chain and a latch. Our policy at the hotel is that the chain and latch are supposed to be engaged for all rooms and I apologize that this was not the case in your room. However, please be assured that in spite of this, it should not be possible to access the room form the patio due to the self-locking main lock.

Having said that, I will be personally following up with our housekeeping department to ensure that checking these locks on a daily basis remains a focus.

Thanks again for the comments and please feel free to reach out to me personally if I can be of further assistance.

Best regards,
James Prendeville
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Doubletree by Hilton Hotel Austin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Doubletree by Hilton Hotel Austin

Address: 6505 N Interstate 35, Austin, TX 78752-4346
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > Austin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#18 Green Hotel in Austin
#40 Business Hotel in Austin
#46 Family Hotel in Austin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Doubletree by Hilton Hotel Austin 3.5*
Number of rooms: 344
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Austin, centrally located at the intersection of IH-35 North and Highway 290 East. Situated between the downtown business district and the Austin Arboretum, the DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Austin is just 20 minutes from Austin Bergstrom International Airport and five minutes from downtown Austin. Our elegant Spanish Colonial-style hotel is minutes from the best shopping, dining and entertainment Austin has to offer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hilton Hotels, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Agoda, Booking.com and Tingo so you can book your Doubletree by Hilton Hotel Austin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doubletree By Hilton Austin Hotel Austin
Doubletree Austin
Austin Doubletree

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Doubletree by Hilton Hotel Austin, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.