We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Value, Great People” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Red Roof Inn Austin North

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Red Roof Inn Austin North to your Saves list
Red Roof Inn Austin North
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   8210 N Interregional Highway 35, Austin, TX 78753   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #142 of 187 Hotels in Austin
Houston, Texas
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great Value, Great People”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2014

one of the least expensive motels in Austin makes Red Roof Inn Austin North a Great Value
the general manager is great, all the people friendly and accommodating, Great People
neighborhood may seem rough but there's never been a problem in the many weeks I've stayed
close to downtown and university, etc.
rooms are clean, linens clean and good shape, nice shampoo and soap and tissues
good wifi, good coffee, good tv reception and selection of channels
loads of outlets for all of our electronic devices
inside is better than outside, generally quiet, plenty of parking

Room Tip: top floor is quietest
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

88 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    16
    16
    17
    9
    30
See reviews for
15
8
13
22
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lubbock, Texas
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2014

We spent two nights at this Red Roof Inn while attending our daughter's school state competition. When we arrived, they were very busy checking in groups of school kids but still got to us fairly quickly. We made a request of a first floor room (a couple of days before we arrived) and were accommodated when we checked in. The manager and front desk crew were very professional and pleasant to deal with. Our room was clean and fairly quiet considering the hotel's proximity to Interstate 35. Although it was designated as a non-smoking room, it was obvious that previous guests had ignored that designation, which was also evidenced by the burn marks from crushed crushed out cigarettes on the wall just outside the door. Still, the smoke wasn't too overpowering and we decided to stay. There was some noise from other guests talking while walking by our door and from someone above us bouncing a golf ball on the floor for a short while. There was coffee in the lobby but no other breakfast. This hotel does not have the amenities many hotels have in this price range but still it was a decent stay at an inexpensive rate.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
redroofnorthaustin, General Manager at Red Roof Inn Austin North, responded to this review, May 4, 2014
Thank you for choosing to stay at the Red roof inn Austin North!

We are happy to hear that your stay was comfortable and accommodating.

We want all of our guests to have a great experience when they stay with us and we want to thank you for sharing yours with the TripAdvisor community! We are working on adding more amenities to the hotel rooms.

We look forward to having you all back on your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, Texas
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2014

we stayed on a few red roof inn becoz we have a dog and few of them was very nice but this red roof inn is one of the worst we stayed...we checked in around 6 pm already and when we went to our room, its not ready yet as if somebody just left and its dirty so we went back to get another room...its a pretty rough area so we really never get out of our room...im hoping that they put some standard on red roof inn coz some of them is very nice but most of them are not.

Room Tip: stay away,find something with the sdame rate but much nicer
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2014

The room was very nice, the location was great, and my overall stay was excellent. Matt the manager was very professional, and very helpful with all my questions about the area and locations of various activities. I highly recommend this location for anyone to stay at.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Windsor, ME
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2014

Having never stayed at a Red Roof Inn, I wasn’t sure what to expect. I’d characterize our eight days at the Red Roof Inn Austin North as satisfactory. They’ve got the basics covered, but amenities are few.

This property is a four-story motel. All rooms are accessed externally via stairs or elevator and outside walkways. A swimming pool is the only common area. There is no breakfast buffet, sitting area, on-premises restaurant, fitness room or laundry room. There’s free coffee/tea and USA Today in the small office, but that’s it.

We booked a Superior King, which was large, plain, and very boxy. The room was very clean, brightly-lit, well-maintained (no grunge of any kind) and adequately furnished. The bed was very comfortable, there were loads of convenient electrical outlets for charging electronics, and everything worked: the many light fixtures, TV, heater & AC (we used them both), coffeemaker, plumbing and fridge. (We didn’t use the microwave.) The room was very quiet and damped down noise from the adjoining unit very well. Instead of carpeting, there was fake-wood floor covering. The overall effect was utilitarian, but not unpleasant.

Although the room was very large, much of the space was an empty expanse in the middle that didn’t serve any purpose - that is, until my wife and I unrolled our yoga mats. The Superior King offers more than enough open area for two people to work out at the same time.

The free wi-fi more or less functioned most of the time (this was during South by Southwest), although the logon procedure was a kludge. Getting hot water was sometimes a challenge. The room had an iron and ironing board, but no hair dryer. And forget about ambience: the RRI Austin North sits on a busy highway service road. Our room faced a dusty lot that was used as a staging area by some sort of landscape materials business. On the plus side, staff was cheerful and attentive.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baton Rouge, Louisiana
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2013

if you're looking for a lot of amenities then this isn't the hotel for you, but for the price it is well worth it the lobby was under construction while I was there but the lady at the front desk was very polite and helpful I stayed for 3 days and didn't have any complaints with the exception that the sign needed to be bigger with the service road being the way it is you really need to see the sign from a distance so you know when to slow down if you pass it (as I did) you have to go another 2 miles to turn around and get back to it

Room Tip: I was on the 3rd floor so the wi-fi wasn't the best maybe closer to the office you might have be...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fayetteville, Arkansas
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2013 via mobile

Red Roof Inn is kind of my goto because I often travel with a dog, and there's never a pet fee nor any hassle staying at a Red Roof Inn with a canine friend. However, it's important to note that not all Red Roofs are created equally in terms of quality. Case in point: Red Roof North Austin. Now, this motel may never have a chance considering the location, but I'm hoping this review will deter a few out-of-towners who are unfamiliar with the area because I consider this motel unsafe. The host at check-in was very nice and helpful, the pool was surprisingly crystal clear and beautiful, but that's where the good ends. There were scurvy fellows hanging around all over the parking lot from dusk til dawn. A bunch of cops showed up at one point to bust somebody, and I remember taking a sigh of relief seeing police in the parking lot. The room itself: the beds are old and disgusting, it's dingy, and just an all around gross vibe from the place. You walk in the room and get that feeling of 'something bad happened here.' My suggestion if you must stay at a Red Roof is to stay at Red Roof Austin South. It's a hike from North Austin but worth it. Trust me please.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
redroofnorthaustin, General Manager at Red Roof Inn Austin North, responded to this review, December 23, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to post comments about your recent stay with us! Please know that we are addressing each and every comment with the utmost of importance. Our main goal is to provide the best in accommodations and service at an excellent value! Please do look us up again next time you are in town and see the progress we have made
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Red Roof Inn Austin North? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Red Roof Inn Austin North

Address: 8210 N Interregional Highway 35, Austin, TX 78753
Location: United States > Texas > Austin
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #142 of 187 Hotels in Austin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Red Roof Inn Austin North 2*
Number of rooms: 141
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just north of the Live Music Capital of the World! Red Roof Austin North is conveniently located off of I-35. Only 5 miles from downtown Austin, the 6th Street Entertainment District, the Univ. of Texas, Lyndon B. Johnson Library, and Lake Austin, this hotel is near many great restaurants.Now offering Red Roof's new Order Inn program, where guests can order delicious food for in-room delivery. This location features an outdoor unheated pool and has an elevator. Experience our complimentary coffeehouse-style coffee and tea and USA Today in the lobby. All rooms offer free WiFi. This location offers “On Command Video” with a selection of free TV channels, pay-to-view premium channels, movies, music and games. One well-behaved family pet per room is welcome. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Red Roof Inn, Hotels.com, BookIt.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Red Roof Inn Austin North reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Red Roof Inn Austin North Hotel Austin
Austin Red Roof Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Red Roof Inn Austin North, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.