We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“yikes!!!!!!!!!!! Beware” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Red Roof Inn Austin North

Save Saved
You added Red Roof Inn Austin North to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Red Roof Inn Austin North
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   8210 N Interregional Highway 35, Austin, TX 78753   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #136 of 182 hotels in Austin
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“yikes!!!!!!!!!!! Beware”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2012 via mobile

Man where do I start the loction is not so good the office smells the carpet is dirty and my room stinks. I had to leave because I got sick to my stomach.I guess you get what you pay for. The staff was ok.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

69 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    13
    14
    15
    6
    21
See reviews for
12
5
13
19
Rating summary
  • Location
    3 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Austin, Texas
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2012

Made a last minute trip to what I hear they call "Atx". Unfortunately for a funeral, so didn't get to see much of Austin.
Stayed 2 nights at this location. Clean pool, took a dip and found it cleaner than most hotel pools. This particular location is older. It just needs some TLC on the outside. My room was clean. Staff was beyond friendly and helpful. In particular Jennifer and Carol. Although I saw many different people and all were nice.
I did have to get a different key, mine wouldn't work at first. Hardly call that anything worth complaining about though. I have had that happen in $300 a night hotels.
You can't really walk quickly to any eateries. They have a restaurant on site, but it is closed.
For overall, clean, friendly, cheap and I saw a policeman walking around at night for security. I felt comfortable and safe.

Room Tip: I just got the cheapest and was pleased.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, TX
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2012 via mobile

This hotel is awful! The only bright side was the nice guy who checked us in. The room we were in smelled like urine, we had no towels in our room (not a single one) and overall I wouldn't ever recommend anyone stay here. Ever.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
redroof210, Manager at Red Roof Inn Austin North, responded to this review, May 23, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to let us know how we are doing. I am sorry your room did not meet your expectations. Your feedback is an important teaching tool, and I have already addressed the issue you stated with our Housekeeping staff. Again, I thank you and hope you will give us another chance to be of service to you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2012

I have stayed here before on my regular travels and honestly didn't like the staff. This last time though, there were two new faces that were ACTUALLY professional. I believe the young kid is Dylan and I don't remember the new lady's name. I think she is the new manager. I have continued to stay here even though they weren't very friendly because it is close to my meetings. Recently, I feel like the property is cleaner and I don't see as many "wanderers". I do wish they would get someone operating the restaurant though. It would be beneficial to the customers and the empty building makes it look like the Inn might be closed down too.
It seems like it would be a minor investment to freshen up the property. Some plants and fresh paint make all the difference in the world.
The rooms are clean and comfortable for the price. There are cameras and security at night.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2012 via mobile

On my business stay at Red Roof Inn Austin North, I have been pleasantly surprised at how comfortable I have been while staying for such an extended amount of time. The credit for that goes to the staff. The rooms are clean and stay cleaned by a great housekeeping crew. From the manager Dale to the day clerks Jameylah and Jennifer, the entire staff is always courteous and greets you with a smile. I would recommend the Red Roof Inn Austin North to anyone planning a trip to Austin.

A.P.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Top Contributor
94 reviews 94 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 29, 2012

We have stayed in Austin several times and this time we looked for cheap because we were there not for pleasure but for a family emergency. We just needed less than a week and wanted a clean place to stay no frills needed. This fit the bill. The beds were not great but they were clean. The linens were not high thread count and mine were quite worn but clean. No frig. There was basic coffee and hot water for tea plus microwave at the desk 24 hrs. Our room overlooked the busy highway but the noise was not too bad. There are rooms over parking area but we kept our room as it was fine for us. Of course there is a t.v. with cable. The bathroom had a tub and it was clean. For what we needed, this hotel served us well at a great price.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greensboro, North Carolina
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2012

This was by far the most disgusting hotel I have ever seen. I travel a lot but have never experienced something this gross in a hotel. It's in a very unsafe area just behind the hotel. There were COCKROACHES crawling around in the bathroom. The toilet was used and not cleaned. There are no amenities like an iron or hair dryer. The non-smoking room smelled so much like smoke after just three minutes that all of my clothes smelled of smoke. The carpet was coming off the floor, the furnace was damaged and coming off the wall, and the service at the front desk was terrible. I cannot stress enough to not stay at this hotel. I had to leave after about 5 minutes because I could not imagine sleeping there, in what I can only imagine was unclean sheets with probable bed bugs. Disgusting.

Room Tip: Just don't stay here. And definitely don't stay on the first floor for safety concerns.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
redroof210, General Manager at Red Roof Inn Austin North, responded to this review, March 26, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to leave a review about your recent stay with us. I am very sorry that you did not have a pleasant experience. In regards to the incident you mentioned about our hotel, I would like to assure you this is an issue we take very seriously. I have diligently followed a detailed procedure designed to maximize the prevention of this and of all similar incidents. Once I was notified of your concerns, I immediately reacted by placing the room out of service so it could be inspected and preventative measures have been taken. I appreciate you reviewing your stay and hope you will give our hotel another chance should you happen to be in the area. If you ever have further questions, you can contact me directly at the hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Red Roof Inn Austin North? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Red Roof Inn Austin North

Address: 8210 N Interregional Highway 35, Austin, TX 78753
Location: United States > Texas > Austin
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #136 of 182 hotels in Austin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Red Roof Inn Austin North 2*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just north of the Live Music Capital of the World! Red Roof Austin North is conveniently located off of I-35. Only 5 miles from downtown Austin, the 6th Street Entertainment District, the Univ. of Texas, Lyndon B. Johnson Library, and Lake Austin, this hotel is near many great restaurants.Now offering Red Roof's new Order Inn program, where guests can order delicious food for in-room delivery. This location features an outdoor unheated pool and has an elevator. Experience our complimentary coffeehouse-style coffee and tea and USA Today in the lobby. All rooms offer free WiFi. This location offers “On Command Video” with a selection of free TV channels, pay-to-view premium channels, movies, music and games. One well-behaved family pet per room is welcome. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, BookIt.com, Tingo, Red Roof Inn, Hotels.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Expedia, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Red Roof Inn Austin North reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Red Roof Inn Austin North Hotel Austin
Austin Red Roof Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Red Roof Inn Austin North, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.