We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Breakfast, Good Burgers” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Fran's Hamburgers - CLOSED

Fran's Hamburgers
1822 South Congress Avenue, Austin, TX
512-444-5738
Menu
Improve this listing
Price range: $5 - $10
Cuisines: American, Hamburgers
Restaurant details
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Good Breakfast, Good Burgers”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2012

I visited both Fran's locations on a recent Austin trip. The burger at the South Congress location was fresh and tasty. Plenty of toppings and a toasted bun. I had breakfast at the Fran's that is just off 290 and east of I 35. Good breakfast with fluffy biscuits.

  • Visited March 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

19 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    6
    7
    3
    3
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Debrecen, Hungary
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Best burger in the world”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2012

It is a time travelling, no question, I mean the place. First I felt being in a movie with those tables, chairs and things on the wall. And here comes the BURGER. Amazing. All the time, same quality, big size and the taste-it makes difference.
Don't miss Fran's once you are in Austin!

Visited August 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, TX
Top Contributor
226 reviews 226 reviews
145 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 86 cities Reviews in 86 cities
322 helpful votes 322 helpful votes
“Old fashioned great burgers”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2012

I've been eating Fran's burgers since the 80s, and they've only gotten better. They have an occasional off day, but then an occasional near-nirvana burger. The place could stand a face-lift these days, it's looking appropriately shabby for a hamburger stand that's been around forever.

Visited September 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Decent burgers”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2012

Burgers were pretty good. Cleanliness is a bit questionable. Decent place for a quick bite to eat.

Visited December 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buda, Texas
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
“Always good”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2011

I have been eating at Fran's since it was Dan's. Same quality, same service, same good food for all these years. Worth a stop, if you haven't tried it.

Visited December 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Fran's Hamburgers also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fran's Hamburgers, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.