This is a charming inn located just a few blocks from the State Capitol, Texas History Museum and the Unitversity of Texas. Despite a downtown location it retains the ambience of a bygone era. It was easy to find and, during our visit, there was plenty of parking. What a pity, then, that our stay was spoiled by what appeared to be non-existent management and/or awful policies.
Our first problem was bright floodliglts shining on our room all night. If you are going to light a building this way, then you need proper balckout curtains. Our second problem related to climate control - during our stay we experinced very wide swings in temperature - one day was surprisingly humid and warm, the next had freezing temperatures - something that is common in Austin in winter. The roooms had no individual airconditioning controls.
Then the "breakfast" really was dreadful. The food selection criteria seems to be the quality of the preservatives. Packaged bakery products put out the night before. No butter - only an artificial long life hydrogenated substitute of some kind. As for the coffee - it sent us scampering out to one of Austin's many excellent coffee shops. You can do better at Days Inn.
Let it be said that there was a charming and helpful maid working in the inn and the rooom was spotlessly clean. But where was the management? We saw nobody in four days. The office was closed when we arrrived around 6.15 pm and closed again when we left around 10.00 am. A notice invited us to contact a number when the office was closed but the person answering was unable to access the information we needed - it was clear they were nowhere near the inn in what for most people are normal business hours.
This establishment has fantastic potential, but it will remain just that - potential - until the owners start treating it as a business rather than a hobby.
Perhaps we were unlucky as the place has many good reviews? However, you are rolling the dice when you book this property.
Get a room at the back of the inn where you don't have to put up with floodlights all night.
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
January 24, 2013
We are sorry you did not get a chance to meet the management Mr. Robins. We hope that future guests will read our website and be aware that we are considered a self service hotel and should not be compared to a full service hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
We do not see ourselves as being dreadful, but hard working folks and like all, require a break once and awhile to be with friends and family, especially over the holiday. Our low season is around the holidays and unfortunately this was when your visit took place. We are on duty 24/7, monitor a large area and wear many hats and cannot be everywhere our guests are in fact, most prefer we are not. Like other larger hotels who have front desks, we should possibly hire a staff member to stand somewhere 24/7 in case our guests pass by and have a question, however, this would be cost prohibitive for a 12 room boutique hotel such as ours. We are not quite sure what it is that could not be answered for you and are sorry if you were not satisfied with your service.
You are correct, weather in Austin is sometimes very unpredictable. Controlling the temperature is different when you stay in a less modern facilitated hotel. When you book a room in a 100 year old house it must be understood that walls would have to be torn up to place thermostats and controls in every room, we believe this would destroy the ambiance of this quaint vintage boutique hotel and would also be astronomically expensive to implement. We have done our best offering both AC and heating centrally in all four buildings.
Also, if we had known the light was shining in your window we would have been happy to instruct you on operating the blinds, so that you could sleep without the light. We have now also, moved the light in another direction for future guests, thank you for informing us of this issue.
Being in service the past 17 years, we have found that most guests enjoy our coffee, but do understand everyone’s preference is different. Our low rates reflect no breakfast, however, we continue to offer our guests, not only FREE parking and Wi-Fi, but also a full continental breakfast with fresh fruits, bakery goods, hot coffee, hard boiled eggs, at least four choices of cereals including homemade granola, a refrigerator full of different yogurts, fresh milk, cream, juices, etc.
Perhaps if you were looking for a perfect environment and no ambiance and what you might think is a better breakfast, maybe booking somewhere such as Days Inn would have been a better fit for you.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.