We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“boutique & beautiful” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Ella

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Ella to your Saves list
Hotel Ella
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1900 Rio Grande, Austin, TX 78705 (Formerly Mansion at Judges' Hill) (West Campus)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #11 of 188 Hotels in Austin
Jersey, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“boutique & beautiful”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I really loved this hotel... it's location, the staff, the rooms, the bar, well all of it really! I stayed in the mansion itself and had a room with doors to the main terrace. The rooms are just what you would expect from a five star luxury group but without being cookie cutter. Great furnishings with a fantastic bathroom, lovely crisp linen with full turndown service. My only small niggle is that I had to move the bedside table closer to the bed so I could use the lamp at night - but that took just a moment to fix! So with all of the above in mind I really enjoyed Austin and am looking forward to returning to the Hotel Ella and it's wonderful team who made my stay so comfortable!

Room Tip: I stayed in the main hotel which was superb. I didn't see the other rooms that are based outside...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2015, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ella_General_Manager, Manager at Hotel Ella, responded to this review, 4 days ago
Dear Richard_T_Hall:

Thank you for your wonderful review of Hotel Ella! We are pleased to hear that you really loved the location, the staff, the rooms, and the bar. We also really appreciate that you mentioned that our rooms meet expectation for a five star luxury group but without being cookie cutter. We are so glad you enjoyed Austin, and we look forward to welcoming you back next time you are in town!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

149 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    109
    23
    9
    6
    2
See reviews for
25
58
3
36
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Dhahran, Saudi Arabia
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

The Hotel Ella is well situated near the University of Texas campus in a well appointed historic mansion with several additions that make it a fabulous hotel to meet most any needs. The valet provided a warm welcome and had my car available when needed, the front desk was extremely helpful and ensured the room was exactly what was required for the stay. Upon arrival, some time was spent in the intimate yet classy bar just off the lobby where all drinks were hand made but a skilled bar tended, creating a pleasant ambiance free of the noise of electrical appliances. The mansion art was splendid, highlighting local artists and celebrities.

The rooms are all very well appointed and restored to a standard appropriate of the historic mansion, with some accessing shared balcony areas which would be fabulous on warmer mornings for breakfast, or evenings for a nice social hour or dinner. Food at the restaurant was exemplary with a very Texas feel to it, particularly the diving poached eggs served over a grits biscuit.

While it was not used due to the cold snap during my stay, the pool area was fabulous and welcoming; while not an athletic pool, it would be ideal to cool down on a hot Texas summer day or simply lounge around whiling away an afternoon with one of the hand-made rink specials from the hotel bar.

Room Tip: The suites are definitely among the best and located in the mansion house itself rather than the add...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ella_General_Manager, Manager at Hotel Ella, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Dear Derek G:

Thank you for your wonderfully written review Hotel Ella. We are so pleased that you found Ella to be a fabulous hotel to meet most any needs. We are also glad that you took notice of the mansion art highlighting local artists and celebrities and that you found the rooms to be very well appointed and restored. We would love to welcome you back to enjoy the shared balcony areas and the pool area when the weather is warmer. We look forward to having you back!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I wanted to experience some of the "old charm" of Austin Texas. This hotel has it! Austin is rapidly growing and all the big hotels are moving in - building sleek modern but
boring rooms. I found this hotel on the Internet. Because it is boutique it is not advertised widely. It is not in the downtown, but buses are nearby. The hotel staff do offer to drive you into town but only at limited tines. The bed was one of the most comfortable I have ever slept in. I wanted a room in the historical section but they did not get that part of my request from the online booking agent. It is best to ring and check this in advance to be sure.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ella_General_Manager, Manager at Hotel Ella, responded to this review, 2 weeks ago
Dear Wendy S:

Thank you for your review of Hotel Ella. We are happy to hear that you found our bed to be one of the most comfortable you have ever slept in and that you found some of the "old charm" of Austin that you were looking for. We apologize that you did not get to stay in the historic section during your initial visit, but we invite you back to stay with us in the mansion. We look forward to welcoming you back!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

My husband and I stole away for a quiet night in a nice hotel. We were not disappointed. There are plenty of niceties such as the crispest sheets ever, upscale toiletries, beautifully appointed very very quiet rooms, luxurious robes, complimentary WSJ, super nice bar with generous happy hour and a yummy little restaurant (see review about Goodall's Nutella creme brûlée). Another plus is the hotel's Escalade that is provided for complimentary drop/pick up anywhere in downtown (was very nice to over imbibe at dinner and not worry about parking/driving).

The downside was that it was raining and we had to exit the hotel to access our room. Also, there's no provisions for coffee/tea in room. The rooms are small but it's like any classic building, you appreciate the character of the space and cozy up to your roommate.

The staff were perfect and the turndown service was a nice surprise with a full ice bucket, water carafe and a yummy chocolate to boot.

Stay at Ella. You'll be glad you did.

Stayed January 2015, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ella_General_Manager, Manager at Hotel Ella, responded to this review, 2 weeks ago
Dear barry b:

Thank you for your review and recommendation of Hotel Ella. We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed the crispest sheets ever, upscale toiletries, and the character of the space. We are glad you had an opportunity to experience our restaurant and that you found the bar to be super nice. We hope you to be able to welcome you back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northumberland, UK
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 weeks ago

Please don't let this review put you off staying at Hotel Ella.

The staff who deal with the cars and luggage were great, you only can do concierge parking here. We checked in at reception and were taken to our room which was very small, the sink was in the room as not enough room in the bathroom to put it, a free standing clothes rail to hang your clothes on. There was a stocked mini fridge but no coffee/tea facilities, there is a coffee station in the morning at the bottom of the stairs which was very nice. I had asked for a quite room, we got a room and the view was a wall and if you peered to the right you could see bins. The fittings could be a better quality, this also extends to the bedroom, the bed was small but linens and pillows were excellent quality. They need to do some work on the small but important details - there was plaster spot on the wall that must have covered a hole over the sink unit which they hadn't bothered painting, there was a plank of wood behind the bed which extended from behind the bedhead and was nailed into the wall, strange and very unattractive. Unfortunately the servicing of the room was a joke - the day after we arrived we left the room at 10am and put the very nice leather "Please Service My Room" on the door, we came back at 5pm (7 hours later) and the room had not been serviced, I went to reception and explained that the room hadn't been serviced asked for additional bath towels as we had to get ready for our supper reservations, they arrived 10 minutes later. When we were ready we rang reception to say we were going out and please could the room be done. When we got back they seem to think that only one person was staying in the room as they had only done the Turn Down Service for one (same as the night before but at least on the night before they had left 2 chocolates) one bottle of water and one chocolate, disappointing. We didn't get a paper in the morning, we were given no information on the pool or the coffee station. The building is beautiful, the products in the bathroom are lovely. At £150.00 a night, I, unfortunately, would not stay here again.

  • Stayed December 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ella_General_Manager, Manager at Hotel Ella, responded to this review, 2 weeks ago
Dear howie603:

Thank you for taking the time to review Hotel Ella and for appreciating the front staff who deal with the cars and luggage. We apologize for failing to exceed your expectations with the quality of service and comfort of your room. We are continually enhancing our service and amenities to improve the overall experience. We hope to welcome you back to experience these improvements first hand.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington, Texas
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2014

Leave your car with the hotel. Walk to the game and come back and sit on the veranda and have a drink to celebrate your win. Great rooms, good food and great service makes this a special place. Had Thanksgiving dinner there and it was a nice set up for the holiday.

  • Stayed November 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager_Ella, Manager at Hotel Ella, responded to this review, December 4, 2014
Dear Greg K:

Thank you for your review of Hotel Ella. We are glad to hear that you think our property is a great location to stay for a UT game, and that you got to enjoy a drink to celebrate your win. We pride ourself on our service, so we are pleased that it made Ella a special place for you. Also, thank you for sharing your holiday with us, we are always thankful for guests like you. We hope to have you come back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Georgetown, Texas
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2014

Awesome experience. Please read the whole review. We checked in to our cute room in the historical part of the hotel. Very pretty. Here is where it gets interesting. We had no cold water in the shower. Kinda need at least a little of that. We called the front desk and in about 2 minutes we had a maintenance guy and the hotel manager in our room. With in a few minutes, they decided to move us to another room so that we would not be inconvenienced. We were promptly moved. Champagne was delivered (free) to our new room. Things happen but I have never seen a response like we received from the Hotel Ella. On a scale of 1 - 10, we experienced a 12. Off the chart!. Bar...excellent. Rooms....perfect. Location...wonderful. Staff....THE BEST. Make sure you stay here.

  • Stayed November 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager_Ella, Manager at Hotel Ella, responded to this review, December 4, 2014
Dear Paul D:

Thank you so much for your wonderful review of Hotel Ella. We do sincerely apologize for the inconvenience of you having to move rooms, but we are very appreciative of your flexibility. We also appreciate you recognizing our prompt response. We are pleased you had the opportunity to experience our bar and that you enjoyed the location. We hope to welcome you back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Ella? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Ella

Address: 1900 Rio Grande, Austin, TX 78705 (Formerly Mansion at Judges' Hill)
Location: United States > Texas > Austin > West Campus
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Austin
#4 Luxury Hotel in Austin
#8 Family Hotel in Austin
#14 Romantic Hotel in Austin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Ella 4*
Number of rooms: 47
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located near the heart of downtown Austin and within walking distance of the University of Texas, Hotel Ella is a stylish boutique hotel housed in the historic Goodall Wooten House, one of Austin's original landmark estates. Constructed in 1900, the Greek revival-style mansion underwent an extensive renovation in 2013, and now offers a picture-perfect setting for vacations, staycations, weddings, meetings and more. With 47 guest rooms, a cabana-lined pool, and a wrap-around veranda overlooking our front lawn, Hotel Ella features beautifully designed outdoor and indoor spaces-including a recently renovated ballroom-that will add timelessness and simple elegance to any event. In true Texan style, guests will be treated to a superior level of personalized service and exceptional dining during their stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Ella reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mansion At Judges` Hill Hotel Austin
Mansion At Judges Hill Austin

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Ella, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.