We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location to stay for a UT game” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Ella

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Ella to your Saves list
Hotel Ella
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1900 Rio Grande, Austin, TX 78705 (Formerly Mansion at Judges' Hill) (West Campus)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 187 Hotels in Austin
Arlington, Texas
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Great location to stay for a UT game”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Leave your car with the hotel. Walk to the game and come back and sit on the veranda and have a drink to celebrate your win. Great rooms, good food and great service makes this a special place. Had Thanksgiving dinner there and it was a nice set up for the holiday.

  • Stayed November 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager_Ella, Manager at Hotel Ella, responded to this review, 2 weeks ago
Dear Greg K:

Thank you for your review of Hotel Ella. We are glad to hear that you think our property is a great location to stay for a UT game, and that you got to enjoy a drink to celebrate your win. We pride ourself on our service, so we are pleased that it made Ella a special place for you. Also, thank you for sharing your holiday with us, we are always thankful for guests like you. We hope to have you come back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

144 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    107
    21
    8
    6
    2
See reviews for
25
55
3
35
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Georgetown, Texas
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Awesome experience. Please read the whole review. We checked in to our cute room in the historical part of the hotel. Very pretty. Here is where it gets interesting. We had no cold water in the shower. Kinda need at least a little of that. We called the front desk and in about 2 minutes we had a maintenance guy and the hotel manager in our room. With in a few minutes, they decided to move us to another room so that we would not be inconvenienced. We were promptly moved. Champagne was delivered (free) to our new room. Things happen but I have never seen a response like we received from the Hotel Ella. On a scale of 1 - 10, we experienced a 12. Off the chart!. Bar...excellent. Rooms....perfect. Location...wonderful. Staff....THE BEST. Make sure you stay here.

  • Stayed November 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager_Ella, Manager at Hotel Ella, responded to this review, 2 weeks ago
Dear Paul D:

Thank you so much for your wonderful review of Hotel Ella. We do sincerely apologize for the inconvenience of you having to move rooms, but we are very appreciative of your flexibility. We also appreciate you recognizing our prompt response. We are pleased you had the opportunity to experience our bar and that you enjoyed the location. We hope to welcome you back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Love this hotel, it's atmosphere and it's people! It's a beautiful pillared southern mansion with balconies made for sipping mint juleps!
The valets meet you big smiles and a desire to help! They will drive you to dinner in the hotel car, no finding directions and parking, you get to relax and enjoy! They also remember your name!
Inside it's the warmth you hope for! Sincere smiles again. Big comfy rooms. Great turn down service with fresh water in terrific glass reusable containers, keeping it green! You also get delicious artisan chocolates at night! So good I had to find them and buy some!
In the morning Gabby at the front desk, who is lovely, asks about your sleep and your plans for the day to see if she can help. When you come home she remembers it all and asks how it all went! They all ask because they care! It's like coming home and being looked after by a loving family! It doesn't get any better than that!

  • Stayed November 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager_Ella, Manager at Hotel Ella, responded to this review, 2 weeks ago
Dear Marie V:

Thank you for your rave review of Hotel Ella. We are so glad to hear that you love this hotel, it's atmosphere and it's people. We pride ourself on our service, so we are pleased that you recognized the sincerity of our staff. We are pleased that when you stayed with us you felt like you were coming home and being looked after by a loving family. What a compliment! We hope to welcome you back again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wyoming
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We had a great stay at Hotel Ella. From the start, the staff was wonderful and upgraded us to one of their suites before we even got there. The room was large and comfortable and the bed was great! The toilet was oddly placed, but that's about the only downside to the stay, but it was just weird, not detrimental to the stay. I'd recommend Hotel Ella if you're in the area!

  • Stayed November 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager_Ella, Manager at Hotel Ella, responded to this review, 2 weeks ago
Dear Jeff M:

Thank you for your review and recommendation of Hotel Ella.We are happy to have upgraded you to one of our suites, and we are glad to hear that you found the room to be large and comfortable and that the bed was great. We hope you come back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

My husband and I stayed at the Hotel Ella for three nights for our wedding anniversary.
Ella is a beautiful, elegant hotel and everything I would expect from Small Leading Hotel.
The staff are accommodating and friendly, the breakfast menu delicious, and the whole hotel spotlessly clean and tidy.
I would love to give this a five star rating but there are three key reasons I haven't.
Firstly, the location. While pleasantly out of central downtown (but still within walking distance) the hotel grounds are sandwiched between two taller buildings, one of which is currently a building site, just down the road from the likes of Dominos Pizza and taco joints. Not the most genteel of locations.
Secondly, the size of our room. We had booked a junior suite for the best part of $400 a night (excl taxes) and it was small with an absolutely minuscule bathroom - just a small bath with shower over it, and toilet so cramped it was impossible not to bang your elbows on the toilet roll holder! The wash basin was outside of the bathroom in the bedroom area. Yes, it had a tiny little terrace overlooking the pool, but I did not feel that the room justified the title "junior suite".
Finally, we had not been informed upon booking or arrival that we would be sharing the hotel with a wedding party for the weekend. While we sat in the small, peaceful bar enjoying a glass of wine on our first afternoon, the entire wedding party trooped into the bar and the bride and groom held court and gave a speech to their guests - with us sitting right in the middle. How embarrassing. We also had to complain to the hotel reception about the late noise on the night after the wedding.
The hotel manager we spoke to did everything possible to put it right and we were grateful for that, but, as the hotel is small and boutique, potentially hotel management may wish to consider requiring wedding parties to exclusively book the hotel to avoid disruption to other guests in future - or at the very least to inform other guests with reservations in case they would prefer to reconsider their booking.

Stayed November 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager_Ella, Manager at Hotel Ella, responded to this review, 2 weeks ago
Dear Freya S:

Thank you for your review of Hotel Ella. We are glad you chose to share your special anniversary with us. Thank you for acknowledging our accommodating and friendly staff, delicious breakfast menu, and our spotlessly clean and tidy property.

We do apologize for the inconvenience of the next door building site, we are pleased to announce that it should be completed in the next few months. We are sorry to hear that the size of your suite did not exceed your expectation and that the wedding party interrupted your stay with us. We would like to invite you back to experience one of our mansion suites at a time that we do not have a wedding booked, which may be more to your liking.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2014

Excellent place to stay in Austin. Highly recommended. Very friendly, welcoming and conveniently located from the airport and downtown. The building and rooms have character and the food and drink is also very good.

  • Stayed November 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager_Ella, Manager at Hotel Ella, responded to this review, 2 weeks ago
Dear Andy B:

Thank you for your review and high recommendation of Hotel Ella. We are pleased to hear that you found our property to be very friendly, welcoming, and conveniently located. We are also glad that you had a chance to try some food and drink while you were here. We would love to welcome you back sometime soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2014

We had a lovely weekend at Hotel Ella. The staff is very friendly and helpful, and the location is great if you are attending a UT function or want to be around campus. The atmosphere is so nice, historic and a little grand. Happy hour is great - half off drinks from 4-7 every day (excluding bottles of wine, and that's important to note). But - it certainly is no value. The room we had was small, no closet, and a view of the white wall of the building 10 feet away. It was a football weekend in Austin, so we paid premium dollar to stay there. Overall it's a nice place to stay but we feel like we overpaid for what we got.

Room Tip: I would ask for a room with a view, if possible
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager_Ella, Manager at Hotel Ella, responded to this review, November 12, 2014
Dear hopeful-ga-traveler:

Thank you for your review of Hotel Ella. We are pleased to hear that you had a lovely weekend. We are glad that you found the staff to be very friendly and helpful, and we are glad that you enjoyed the nice, historic and grand atmosphere. We apologize that your room did not exceed your expectations. We would love for you to join us again and try out one of our mansion suites or garden terrace suites that may be more to your liking.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Ella? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Ella

Address: 1900 Rio Grande, Austin, TX 78705 (Formerly Mansion at Judges' Hill)
Location: United States > Texas > Austin > West Campus
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Austin
#4 Business Hotel in Austin
#8 Family Hotel in Austin
#10 Romantic Hotel in Austin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Ella 4*
Number of rooms: 47
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located near the heart of downtown Austin and within walking distance of the University of Texas, Hotel Ella is a stylish boutique hotel housed in the historic Goodall Wooten House, one of Austin's original landmark estates. Constructed in 1900, the Greek revival-style mansion underwent an extensive renovation in 2013, and now offers a picture-perfect setting for vacations, staycations, weddings, meetings and more. With 47 guest rooms, a cabana-lined pool, and a wrap-around veranda overlooking our front lawn, Hotel Ella features beautifully designed outdoor and indoor spaces-including a recently renovated ballroom-that will add timelessness and simple elegance to any event. In true Texan style, guests will be treated to a superior level of personalized service and exceptional dining during their stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Ella reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mansion At Judges` Hill Hotel Austin
Mansion At Judges Hill Austin

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Ella, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.