We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The good the bad & the ugly” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Ella

Save Saved
You added Hotel Ella to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Ella
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1900 Rio Grande, Austin, TX 78705 (Formerly Mansion at Judges' Hill) (West Campus)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 184 Hotels in Austin
London
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
“The good the bad & the ugly”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

This is a charming colonial style mansion with a modern annexe surrounding a pool. The hotel has fierce air conditioning and an excellent restaurant and an equally good bar.

My standout memory is the excellent and friendly care that all of the staff gave throughout the 3 day stay. They organised restaurants, advised on music venues, drove us everywhere in the hotel cars, gave me a bourbon tutorial and lent us a room for a business meeting. At least 10 separate staff did something above and beyond to make our stay enjoyable.

There is no reason not to stay here, except perhaps that it’s a 30 minute walk to the downtown music scene, which might not suit everyone.

The good:

• Large room and bathroom
• Big shower and proper full length tub
• Tables and lounger on balcony
• Contemporary design in sympathy with a traditional building
• Very comfortable bed

The bad:

• a few room details, no full length mirror and a table wood have been good
• Unattractive main road
• I could just hear the restaurant music below in my room

The ugly:

• Perhaps a bit remote for some being up by the University campus

Room Tip: Room 22 in the main building above the entrance is excellent. I was told that 21 adjacent is even be...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager_Ella, Manager at Hotel Ella, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Dear Chris Radford-J:

Thank you for your review of Hotel Ella. We pride ourselves on our customer service, so we are very pleased to hear that your standout memory is the excellent and friendly care that all of the staff gave throughout your 3 day stay. We will continue to go above and beyond to make your stay enjoyable, and we look forward to welcoming you back to our property very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

110 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    83
    18
    3
    5
    1
See reviews for
19
41
1
30
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Bedminster, New Jersey
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I am very reluctant to write this review, as I am fearful I will not be able to get a room when I need one for my visits! :) We did not book this room directly with the hotel, so I was reluctant as to how we would be treated. Well, they treated us as if we were their old friends returning from a long journey. Catherine couldn't have been more gracious and accommodating. The rooms were divine, the service was top notch and the other amenities (food, bar, gym, pool area, car service) were absolutely perfect. I just booked another stay and can't wait to return!

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager_Ella, Manager at Hotel Ella, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Dear Donna M:

Thank you so much for your rave review of Hotel Ella! We are so pleased to hear that you thought the rooms were divine, the service was top notch, and the other amenities were absolutely perfect. We are glad that we could make you feel like an old friend. We sincerely look forward to welcoming you back to Hotel Ella for your next stay!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

My wife and I stayed one night and cannot fault the hotel in any way. This is the best option in Austin ands we thoroughly recommend the hotel in all respects. It has recently undergone a multi million dollar refurbishment and combines old world charm with comfort. We were greeted at the front desk by Lauren and Kathryn, both of whom provided friendly, efficient and excellent service. We even received a complimentary up grade which was a welcome and very pleasant surprise !
5 stars !

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager_Ella, Manager at Hotel Ella, responded to this review, 2 weeks ago
Dear TimCass2014:

Thank you so much for your rave review and recommendation of Hotel Ella! We pride ourselves on our level of service, so we are so pleased to hear that Lauren and Kathryn provided such friendly, efficient and excellent service. We cannot wait to welcome you back to our property soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

This property is extremely convenient to the UT West Campus area. Easy access off MLK Blvd so you can skip the one way roads and parking problems. Hotel itself is nice, clean. The staff is very friendly and attentive. Complementary car service to restaurants in the area was a big plus. Good location even if you have no business at UT.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager_Ella, Manager at Hotel Ella, responded to this review, 2 weeks ago
Dear LMN711:

Thank you for your review of Hotel Ella. We are so happy to hear how convenient our property was for you to the UT West Campus area. We are also pleased that you found our staff to be very friendly and attentive. We hope to welcome you back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Hotel Ella is a fine hotel just north of the Austin Downtown area. the service and staff are excellent. a bit of an issue with the AC at night but the staff worked diligently to fix. would recommend for a getaway. best part was i never drove in Austin. as long as it was less the 3 miles, they took care of the driving.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager_Ella, Manager at Hotel Ella, responded to this review, 3 weeks ago
Dear Steve W:

Thank you for your review of Hotel Ella. We are pleased to hear that you found the service and the staff to be excellent and that you had the opportunity to use our complimentary driving service. We apologize for any inconvenience the AC caused, we are working hard to make sure the units are all up to par in this Texas summer heat. We look forward to welcoming you back to Hotel Ella soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tulsa, Oklahoma
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

if you ask for a mansion suite make sure you get one. Confirming the day before does not ensure you will get one ever if you are told so. The rooms we did get was nice and tastefully decorated, We tried their room service from the restaurant, not so great. We will not be booking a return trip. This is a shame because the mansion in beautiful and the staff tried to do all they could.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager_Ella, Manager at Hotel Ella, responded to this review, 3 weeks ago
Dear Mitchell G:

Thank you for taking the time to review Hotel Ella and to recognize the effort of our staff and the beauty of our property.

I apologize for failing to secure a mansion suite for your stay and that our room service did not exceed your expectations. I assure you we provide better service than what you experienced. I would love the opportunity to speak to you directly and apologize personally. Please contact me at luca@hotelella.com at your earliest convenience.

Sincerely,

Luca Reck
Director of Rooms
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, TX
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

I was in town for a convention and picked this hotel based on the photos I found online and the special mobil rate.
The house is simply gorgeous and full of history, our room was ready early and we were greeted with a personal note.
The rooms are beautifully decorated although I felt the bathroom in our room was small it was hard for me and my companion to get ready to go out; the pool is also small but very enjoyable I highly recommend the Long Horn Margarita.
They have a car service that can take you anywhere in the downtown area at no cost, valet parking is 25.00 and I don't think there is an option to park yourself.
There is renovation going on around the hotel and the workers are there bright and early hammering away even on the weekend

Room Tip: State Capital is close by
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager_Ella, Manager at Hotel Ella, responded to this review, 4 weeks ago
Dear Sohuggeidy:

Thank you for your review of Hotel Ella. We are pleased to hear that you found our property to be gorgeous and full of history and that you had a chance to enjoy the Long Horn Margarita and car service. As for the construction, we are happy to let you know that the properties on both sides of us will be finished very soon. We look forward to welcoming you back to Hotel Ella!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Ella? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Ella

Address: 1900 Rio Grande, Austin, TX 78705 (Formerly Mansion at Judges' Hill)
Location: United States > Texas > Austin > West Campus
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Austin
#3 Business Hotel in Austin
#3 Luxury Hotel in Austin
#8 Romantic Hotel in Austin
#14 Family Hotel in Austin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Ella 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Ella offers guests a truly world-class travel experience minutes away from all things Austin. Inhabiting the Goodall Wooten mansion, one of Austin’s original landmark estates, the refined property will feature 47 guestrooms, a cabana-lined lap pool and wrap-around veranda overlooking an expansive front lawn and fire pit. Beautifully designed indoor and outdoor spaces and stately meeting rooms will provide ideal backdrops for events, weddings and corporate gatherings. Guests will enjoy exceptional dining along with a superior level of personalized service wrapped in the relaxed hospitality for which Austin is known. Hotel Ella is the only Texas member of the Small Luxury Hotels of the World™ collection, The Southern Living Hotel Collection. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Tingo, Priceline, Reservation Counter, Odigeo, Venere and Otel so you can book your Hotel Ella reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mansion At Judges` Hill Hotel Austin
Mansion At Judges Hill Austin

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Ella, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.