We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charming Old Mansion” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Ella

Save Saved
You added Hotel Ella to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Ella
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1900 Rio Grande, Austin, TX 78705 (Formerly Mansion at Judges' Hill) (West Campus)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 184 hotels in Austin
Dallas, TX
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Charming Old Mansion”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

I was in town for a convention and picked this hotel based on the photos I found online and the special mobil rate.
The house is simply gorgeous and full of history, our room was ready early and we were greeted with a personal note.
The rooms are beautifully decorated although I felt the bathroom in our room was small it was hard for me and my companion to get ready to go out; the pool is also small but very enjoyable I highly recommend the Long Horn Margarita.
They have a car service that can take you anywhere in the downtown area at no cost, valet parking is 25.00 and I don't think there is an option to park yourself.
There is renovation going on around the hotel and the workers are there bright and early hammering away even on the weekend

Room Tip: State Capital is close by
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager_Ella, Manager at Hotel Ella, responded to this review, yesterday
Dear Sohuggeidy:

Thank you for your review of Hotel Ella. We are pleased to hear that you found our property to be gorgeous and full of history and that you had a chance to enjoy the Long Horn Margarita and car service. As for the construction, we are happy to let you know that the properties on both sides of us will be finished very soon. We look forward to welcoming you back to Hotel Ella!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

104 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    79
    17
    3
    4
    1
See reviews for
17
39
1
29
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Copperas Cove, Texas
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

Hotel Ella strives for elegance and is very close to reaching it. In spite of being located on a busy street in downtown Austin, our room was quiet and well appointed. However, there was no "sitting area" in our room, and only one chair on one side and one on the other which was required movement of furniture to achieve the feeling of intimacy that we were particularly looking for. Add that to the fact we had asked for a Garden Terrace Room and our "private" terrace turned out to be the verandah on the front of the hotel facing the street and disappointment reigned supreme. There was not a decent sized table for 2 people to use for eating inside the room. (Luckily for us we didn't ask for room service for breakfast). AND most importantly there was No information on how to reach the concierge or front desk to be found in the room. The A/C unit fan did not work well and being used to air moving and not having it made us uncomfortably warm. Our sleep was disturbed by having to turn down the thermostat.
Now to the good points of our stay. Our bed was very comfortable. There were pillows for those who like hard and those who like softer. We could not hear noise from the street (although in the morning we did hear construction work going on next door). The bathroom was luxurious and filled with plenty of towels, robes, toiletries and extra touches like cotton swabs and a magnifying mirror. When housekeeping stopped by our room we received bottled water, ice, and a mini-brownie for our sweet tooth. The staff was super efficient and eager to make our stay pleasant.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager_Ella, Manager at Hotel Ella, responded to this review, yesterday
Dear Charlene_Smith42:

We appreciate you taking the time to let us know about your experience at Hotel Ella. We are sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your room's sitting area or your private terrace. We also apologize for the subpar A/C unit. Thank you for recognizing the comfort of our beds, our bathroom luxuries, and extra touches. With regards to the construction, we are happy to let you know that both buildings next to us will be finished soon.

Please accept our thanks for your constructive feedback. We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back to Hotel Ella in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hansville, Washington, United States
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

My husband and I booked one night in this lovely place when we needed a stopping point before flying out the next day . We stayed in the old part of the hotel, on the third floor. The building has been beautifully renovated, with interesting art and lovely architectural details without feeling fussy or ' B&B' precious. Much more charming and interesting than a big chain hotel. From the moment we drove up, the staff were lovely. We had room 31, up under the eaves, which had a very comfortable queen bed, antique furnishings and crisp, white linens. There was a nice mini bar, and a Keurig. The bathroom was newly remodeled and quite lovely, with a great shower, magnifying mirror, and toiletries. Turndown service left bottled water and a sweet chocolate brownie, which was fabulous. We had some great cocktails in the bar and a chat with the very congenial bartender before going out to eat, but the restaurant looked great as it was being set for dinner. The hotel isn't in the heart of downtown but it is well situated and easy to get to all the action either via Uber or the hotel's car. This will be my new go-to spot in Austin. I like places with some history and charm, nice toiletries and a sense of place- which this hotel had in spades. The only slight negatives we experienced were some early AM noise from the back up alarms of some trucks working construction next door, which is both temporary, and not a reflection on the hotel but might bother some, and that the A/C was not controlled from inside the room. The room was cool enough for me , but not 'arctic' as my Husband prefers. Loved it and will be back.

Room Tip: Ask for a Mansion room for the character.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager_Ella, Manager at Hotel Ella, responded to this review, yesterday
Dear SusanHines:

Thank you for taking the time to review Hotel Ella - we love hearing that this will be your new go-to spot in Austin. We are glad that you had the opportunity to have some great cocktails in the bar and chat with one of our congenial bartenders. We are also glad to hear that you found our property to have some history and charm. We apologize for the inconvenience of the construction - they adjacent properties should be complete this fall. We invite you to come back and enjoy our property!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dunnellon, Florida
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We thoroughly enjoyed our two night stay at the Hotel Ella. Our room was comfortable, up to date, and very clean. The bath robes provided are super soft as is the bedding. The turndown service was great, providing bedside water as well as a sweet treat. We were also pleasantly surprised by the transportation that was provided by the valet drivers. I highly recommend Hotel Ella! My expectations were exceeded.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager_Ella, Manager at Hotel Ella, responded to this review, yesterday
Dear Todd & Dawn R:

Thank you for your review of Hotel Ella and the high recommendation! We are pleased that you thoroughly enjoyed your two night stay and that you found the rooms to be comfortable, up to date, and very clean. We are so glad to have exceeded your expectations are looking forward to doing it again when we welcome you back to Hotel Ella.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Georgetown, Texas
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Hotel room we had was nice, but certainly not extravagant. The staff was outstanding and very friendly and welcoming. We enjoyed the Sunday Brunch. The food and service were outstanding and the menu was interesting. We both tried a dish we had never tried before and it was delicious.

Room Tip: Lots of construction just west of hotel. However, didn't notice it until outside our room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager_Ella, Manager at Hotel Ella, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Dear Steve M:

Thank you for your review of Hotel Ella. We are so pleased to hear that you found the staff to be outstanding and very friendly and welcoming. We are also glad you had a chance to enjoy the Sunday brunch. We look forward to having you back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
norwich, vermont, usa
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Beautiful rooms, very sophisticated, quiet, small, historic hotel, with lovely pool. They will make you a cappuccino, and there is a wrap around Southern Balcony. The grounds are all gone, but the history can be felt. Fantastic service, we got a ride everywhere we wanted, from their car. Excellent personnel, very charming and helpful. Wish I could go again.

Room Tip: Well, I loved the old mansion myself. This hotel is near the University of Austin, and the art muse...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager_Ella, Manager at Hotel Ella, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Dear vcjf:

Thank you for your review of Hotel Ella. We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed fantastic service and that you found the personnel to be very charming and helpful. We look forward to welcoming you back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We attended a wedding in Austin, Tx and spent 2 nights at Hotel Ella. It was a beautiful venue for the wedding and reception + space for family and friends to gather between events. This hotel caters mainly to adults but the 2 children in our party were treated with special care. Since this hotel is very expensive, I would recommend it for an anniversary or couples get away weekend.

Room Tip: Valet parking only which can slow down coming and going from hotel plus extra expense. Rooms in the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager_Ella, Manager at Hotel Ella, responded to this review, 2 weeks ago
Dear Allie U:

Thank you for your review of Hotel Ella. We are pleased to hear that you found our property to be a beautiful venue of the wedding and reception you attended. Thank you for your recommendation, and we look forward to welcoming you back to Hotel Ella soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Ella? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Ella

Address: 1900 Rio Grande, Austin, TX 78705 (Formerly Mansion at Judges' Hill)
Location: United States > Texas > Austin > West Campus
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Austin
#3 Business Hotel in Austin
#3 Luxury Hotel in Austin
#7 Romantic Hotel in Austin
#15 Family Hotel in Austin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Ella 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Ella offers guests a truly world-class travel experience minutes away from all things Austin. Inhabiting the Goodall Wooten mansion, one of Austin’s original landmark estates, the refined property will feature 47 guestrooms, a cabana-lined lap pool and wrap-around veranda overlooking an expansive front lawn and fire pit. Beautifully designed indoor and outdoor spaces and stately meeting rooms will provide ideal backdrops for events, weddings and corporate gatherings. Guests will enjoy exceptional dining along with a superior level of personalized service wrapped in the relaxed hospitality for which Austin is known. Hotel Ella is the only Texas member of the Small Luxury Hotels of the World™ collection, The Southern Living Hotel Collection. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Amex, Tingo, Reservation Counter, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere, Priceline and Otel so you can book your Hotel Ella reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mansion At Judges` Hill Hotel Austin
Mansion At Judges Hill Austin

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Ella, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.