We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nicely done” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Ella

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Ella to your Saves list
Hotel Ella
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1900 Rio Grande, Austin, TX 78705 (Formerly Mansion at Judges' Hill) (West Campus)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #10 of 187 Hotels in Austin
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Nicely done”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

I had to travel to Austin for business and spent 3 nights at this hotel. I was really impressed with the style of the room and the amenities. The staff were so friendly and the courtyard with the pool is very inviting. The restaurant served a great breakfast and the mansion itself has been redone with great taste. I had a room overlooking the pool, which I thought was great, until a group of guests decided to party out there for the last two nights I was there! My colleagues had rooms overlooking the UT housing in the back and they slept soundly in the peace and quiet. I hadn't planned on that, and was disappointed that the staff didn't actually monitor the noise level. I didn't actually call the front desk myself which I probably should have but beware that pool rooms can be noisy.

The location is good, although there was construction on both sides of new housing for the university it felt like an oasis. The street in front is a main drag with lots of traffic but the hotel itself with its large inviting front porch and comfy chairs seemed miles away. it was an easy walk to the Capitol and Congress Street and overall I thought the hotel gave you good value for the price. I'm not really sure about the tacky Chanel handbag sculpture in the front however... I think they ought to ditch that. Overall it is a nice boutique hotel and gave friendly, personal feel in the big, built up city of Austin. They are also really nice about driving you downtown in the Escalade!

Room Tip: Beware of rooms above the pool as you can never tell who is going to show up late at night. Call the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager_Ella, Manager at Hotel Ella, responded to this review, July 24, 2014
Dear swansea1blue:

Thank you for your detailed review of Hotel Ella. We are pleased to hear that you were really impressed with the style of the room and the amenities and that you found the staff to be friendly and the courtyard to be inviting. We are glad you had the opportunity to have breakfast at our restaurant as well. We apologize for the noise level by the pool during your stay. We are glad that the property location was convenient for you - good news, the construction should be finished in August! We would love to welcome you back to Hotel Ella soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

145 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    107
    21
    9
    6
    2
See reviews for
25
56
3
35
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, Georgia
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

Close (within walking distance to UT) to major amenities in Austin. An oasis in the city. Everything was perfect from the spa style pool to drinks on the verandah. This is the place to stay in Austin!

Room Tip: overlook the pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager_Ella, Manager at Hotel Ella, responded to this review, July 24, 2014
Dear CassieMom2013:

Thank you for your review of Hotel Ella. We are pleased to hear that you found Ella to be an oasis in the city and that you enjoyed the spa style pool and drinks on the veranda. We look forward to welcoming you back the next time you are in town!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2014

Unpretentious, yet efficient and relaxing. The staff is well-trained and really seems to understand the importance of customer satisfaction. Rooms large, clean, bright and well-appointed. Quiet. Great AC (you know how some hotel's don't always work right). Great food in the restaurant. Good, fairly priced wine list. Overall, great stay for the price and beats the heck out of that downtown Zoo.

Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager_Ella, Manager at Hotel Ella, responded to this review, July 24, 2014
Dear Robert M:

Thank you for your review of Hotel Ella. We are pleased to hear that you found our staff to be well-trained and tthe rooms large, clean, bright and well-appointed. We emphasize the importance of customer satisfaction and are glad to know this reflected on your stay. We look forward to welcoming you back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bella Vista, Arkansas
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2014

Great location. Wonderful rooms and very comfortable beds/pillows. Loved the quietness of the annex. We overlooked the pool area. We had breakfast and dinner in Goodall's. Excellent. My favorite was the Nutella Creme Brulee! Loved sitting on the veranda. Even though it was July we had a nice breeze that made it very pleasant to gather and visit out there.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager_Ella, Manager at Hotel Ella, responded to this review, July 24, 2014
Dear Linda B:

Thank you for your review of Hotel Ella! We are happy to have accommodated your family for the reunion. We are pleased to hear that you found the rooms to be wonderful and that you loved sitting on the veranda. The Nutella Creme Brulee is one of our favorites as well. We look forward to welcoming you back to Hotel Ella soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2014

Hotel Ella is great if you are from out of town or local. I used to live in Austin and went to hotel Ella quite often for after work cocktails. Now, I stay here when in town for work. Great space. amazing pool. friendly team. the stay is easy and good. the night time turn down service is sweet with a treat and a jug of water. love it. some people that don't know austin well may say the location is a bit outside of downtown but that's not true. it is a few blocks, but easy by cab and still in the heart of things- plus a bit more quiet. stay here when in austin.

Room Tip: Hotel Ella is gorgeous. now with a pool. people may say it is a bit outside some of the hipper place...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager_Ella, Manager at Hotel Ella, responded to this review, July 16, 2014
Dear jill r:

Thank you for your review and recommendation of Hotel Ella. We are glad to hear you have been coming back continually. We are also pleased to hear that you enjoy the pool, friendly team, and the turn down service. When visiting again, feel free to use our complimentary shuttle service in one of our Ella Cadillacs to take you the few blocks downtown. We look forward to having you back!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2014

This hotel was chosen for me by a company I interviewed with in Austin. It is elegant and whimsical in decor. Bed was very comfortable and the food at the restaurant was delicious. Above all the staff is very well trained and attentive. The only addition I recommend is to add dressers to the rooms. We had to live out of our suitcase for any items that we did not hang in the closet because there were no drawers in the room. It looked like the rooms were being redone with new tile and perhaps this will be a part of that improvement.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager_Ella, Manager at Hotel Ella, responded to this review, July 16, 2014
Dear Sara K:

Thank you for your review of Hotel Ell. We are pleased to hear you found the decor to be elegant and whimsical, and that your bed was comfortable and the food was delicious. We take great pride in on our well trained and attentive staff, so we appreciate the feedback. We are pleased to announce that we are currently going through a renovation that includes new room furnishings. We invite you to come experience the updates first hand!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mount Kisco, New York
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2014

I travel all the time for business, and this hotel is a real standout. I'd recommend it to anyone seeking a great time, realization, fabulous food, and wonderful, attentive staff. I ate at their on-site restaurant and the food was inventive/ local/ fabulous.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager_Ella, Manager at Hotel Ella, responded to this review, July 16, 2014
Dear jerryvdude:

Thank you for your review and recommendation of Hotel Ella. We are so pleased that you found our property to be a real standout. We are also thrilled to hear that you found the food at Goodall's Kitchen & Bar to be inventive, local, and fabulous. We will be sure to pass on the compliments to our chef. We look forward to having you back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Ella? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Ella

Address: 1900 Rio Grande, Austin, TX 78705 (Formerly Mansion at Judges' Hill)
Location: United States > Texas > Austin > West Campus
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Austin
#4 Business Hotel in Austin
#8 Family Hotel in Austin
#16 Romantic Hotel in Austin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Ella 4*
Number of rooms: 47
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located near the heart of downtown Austin and within walking distance of the University of Texas, Hotel Ella is a stylish boutique hotel housed in the historic Goodall Wooten House, one of Austin's original landmark estates. Constructed in 1900, the Greek revival-style mansion underwent an extensive renovation in 2013, and now offers a picture-perfect setting for vacations, staycations, weddings, meetings and more. With 47 guest rooms, a cabana-lined pool, and a wrap-around veranda overlooking our front lawn, Hotel Ella features beautifully designed outdoor and indoor spaces-including a recently renovated ballroom-that will add timelessness and simple elegance to any event. In true Texan style, guests will be treated to a superior level of personalized service and exceptional dining during their stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Ella reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mansion At Judges` Hill Hotel Austin
Mansion At Judges Hill Austin

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Ella, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.