We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Magnificent” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Ella

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Ella to your Saves list
Hotel Ella
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1900 Rio Grande, Austin, TX 78705 (Formerly Mansion at Judges' Hill) (West Campus)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 187 Hotels in Austin
Oak Park, Illinois, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Magnificent”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2014

Everything your eye falls upon at the Hotel Ella is interesting and well designed. It's a beautiful mix of old and new. The staff was unbelievably friendly, but not pushy, and they DRIVE YOU WHEREVER YOU WANT TO GO. The bed was very comfortable, and the food in the restaurant is first rate. There was construction nearby, but it was only seen and not heard, somehow. (Old building and thick walls, I guess.) There was a wedding the weekend I was there and the families couldn't have been happier with their choice. The pool area is beautiful and is a natural gathering place. We had many things to do, but actually cancelled a couple of them in favor of hanging out at this little garden of Eden. This place is a must see / must stay!

Room Tip: Many first floor rooms have a private balcony with pool entrance - very handy, because the pool area...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager_Ella, Manager at Hotel Ella, responded to this review, July 3, 2014
Dear Robert M:

We really appreciate your review of Hotel Ella! What a compliment that you favored hanging out at our "little garden of Eden." We are so pleased to hear that you found the staff to be unbelievably friendly and that the construction did not bother you. We are glad the weather allowed for you to use the pool area. We are looking forward to your next stay at Hotel Ella!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

144 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    107
    21
    8
    6
    2
See reviews for
25
55
3
35
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Wichita Falls
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2014

Our daughter wanted a more intimate venue for her wedding reception rather than other large venues. We had lots of friends and family staying there also. It was so beautiful and convenient for all involved. The reception was rather large but the staff handled everything professionally and personally. The food was excellent and the bar was great. Everyone was so impressed with the rooms and the atmosphere of the entire place. A jewel in the middle of Austin!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager_Ella, Manager at Hotel Ella, responded to this review, July 3, 2014
Dear Anne B:

Thank you for taking the time to review Hotel Ella and for sharing your daughter's special day with us. We are so glad that our venue provided the intimate setting that your daughter wanted. We are also pleased to hear that our location was convenient for all involved and that the staff handled everything professionally and personally. We look forward to welcoming you back to Hotel Ella!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wichita Falls, Texas
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2014

We have stayed at a number of boutique hotels. Hotel Ella rates above the rest! They have a staff that goes over and beyond to make you feel welcome and to meet your needs. Goodall's Restaurant has yummy, yummy food. We ate their at breakfast, lunch and dinner and each meal was wonderful. We will be back!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager_Ella, Manager at Hotel Ella, responded to this review, July 3, 2014
Dear chzmarie:

Thank you for your rave review of Hotel Ella. We love hearing such great comments from a boutique hotel aficionado. We are very proud of our staff and glad to hear that they went over and beyond to make you feel welcome and to meet your needs. We look forward to your next stay!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2014

A colleague and I stayed at Hotel Ella during a business trip to Univ of Texas. Great location within a 5-10min walk to the Univ but also convenient to downtown. Their shuttle service was helpful to-from downtown restaurants. The hotel was great - small/intimate, clean, luxurious and everyone there was very courteous and nice. I will stay there again if I get back.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager_Ella, Manager at Hotel Ella, responded to this review, July 3, 2014
Dear Troy N:

Thank you for your review of Hotel Ella. We are glad that our location made it easy to walk to the University and convenient to get downtown. We are also pleased to hear that you found our staff to be courteous and nice. We look forward to having you stay with us again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2014

The hotel is lovely, but it was the service I received when I was there that will convince me to stay with them again. Each staff member I encountered went above and beyond, and met everyone with a smile.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager_Ella, Manager at Hotel Ella, responded to this review, July 2, 2014
Dear Kelly L:

Thank you for your great review of Hotel Ella. We are so happy to hear that each staff member went above and beyond - we expect nothing less! We will be sure to share the positive comments with our team. We look forward to welcoming you back to our property!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2014

What a fantastic experience! Everything about Hotel Ella made the stay relaxing. The bed and pillows were exceptional! The spacious room that lead out to the patio was so nice! Will stay there again!!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager_Ella, Manager at Hotel Ella, responded to this review, July 2, 2014
Dear Dominik K:

Thank you for your review of Hotel Ella. We are so pleased that you had a fantastic and relaxing experience. We look forward to welcoming you back!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Worth, Texas, United States
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2014

We recently visited for the first time a couple of weeks ago with our toy poodle. We had lunch on the porch as we arrived early and the waiter brought a water bowl for the dog. In the room they supplied him with a pet cushion (we just brought his blanket), food and water bowls and welcome biscuits. Everyone petting him and talked to him. He thought this was exactly as life should be.

The room was comfortable, quiet, and well appointed. The bar is exceptional - they make some of their own mixers. Goodall's restaurant is terrific. Food is excellent and the staff strike a balance between professional courtliness and relaxed welcoming. We are ready to return.

Room Tip: Ask for one in the original mansion. Didn't go into the new wing, but it is new construction and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager_Ella, Manager at Hotel Ella, responded to this review, July 2, 2014
Dear Tom C:

Thank you for taking the time to review our property. We are pleased to hear that you and your dog appreciated the pet cushion and welcome biscuits - we always love having dogs around! We also love hearing that you think Goodall's is terrific and our staff is professional as well as relaxing and welcoming. We are also ready for you to return, and we look forward to welcoming you back to Hotel Ella!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Ella? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Ella

Address: 1900 Rio Grande, Austin, TX 78705 (Formerly Mansion at Judges' Hill)
Location: United States > Texas > Austin > West Campus
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Austin
#4 Business Hotel in Austin
#8 Family Hotel in Austin
#10 Romantic Hotel in Austin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Ella 4*
Number of rooms: 47
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located near the heart of downtown Austin and within walking distance of the University of Texas, Hotel Ella is a stylish boutique hotel housed in the historic Goodall Wooten House, one of Austin's original landmark estates. Constructed in 1900, the Greek revival-style mansion underwent an extensive renovation in 2013, and now offers a picture-perfect setting for vacations, staycations, weddings, meetings and more. With 47 guest rooms, a cabana-lined pool, and a wrap-around veranda overlooking our front lawn, Hotel Ella features beautifully designed outdoor and indoor spaces-including a recently renovated ballroom-that will add timelessness and simple elegance to any event. In true Texan style, guests will be treated to a superior level of personalized service and exceptional dining during their stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Ella reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mansion At Judges` Hill Hotel Austin
Mansion At Judges Hill Austin

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Ella, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.