We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“DO NOT STAY HERE!” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Atrium North Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Atrium North Hotel to your Saves list
Atrium North Hotel
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   7928 Gessner Drive, Austin, TX 78753-6506 (Formerly Best Western)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #108 of 187 Hotels in Austin
Frisco, Texas
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“DO NOT STAY HERE!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

WOW - what a nightmare. The reviews we read were not accurate. This hotel is old, run down and has an awful stench, especially in the lobby area. It was about 85' in the lobby/atrium area, there was ZERO water pressure in the shower/sinks. The first room we were in had only scalding hot water in the shower. The only positive we found was the free breakfast. When we complained about the shower, the attendant did not even apologize, just offered another room. This hotel was definitely not worth the $104 per night rate we paid.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anas J, Director of Sales at Atrium North Hotel, responded to this review, September 4, 2013
May I first thank you for your feedback and apologies for the inconvenience occurred during your stay. Our hotel is 25 year-old, yet we do keep maintaining and updating to provide an excellent stay to our guests. The defect of the water pressure was fixed the next morning, yet we had to move you to a new room because we do not have maintenance personal late at night.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

151 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    50
    31
    35
    17
    18
See reviews for
43
27
14
39
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Wharton, Texas
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013

Grandkids has a wonderful weekend playing in pool they loved it being an indoor pool and the dry suana, we viseted the Muesums and State Capitol and finished off the evening with swimming and the next morning after breakfast they played in the pool until check out time - they had a blast and want to come again

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anas J, Director of Sales at Atrium North Hotel, responded to this review, September 4, 2013
Thanks for your feedback and we are glad that you and your grandkids have enjoyed the hotel. We look forward to seeing you again in your next visit to Austin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moore
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2013

This motel was very nice, staff very nice. Room was large. Hot breakfast. Surrounding neighborhood not so nice. It's Austin, so a pain in the tail to get to even though it is right off the interstate.

Room Tip: This motel was very nice, staff very nice. Surrounding neighborhood not so nice. It's Austin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anas J, Director of Sales at Atrium North Hotel, responded to this review, September 4, 2013
Thanks for your feedback and we are glad you have enjoyed your stay at our hotel. We look forward to seeing you again in your next visit to Austin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta
Top Contributor
164 reviews 164 reviews
63 hotel reviews
Reviews in 72 cities Reviews in 72 cities
91 helpful votes 91 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2013

The hotel is a nicely maintained and, in its day, was probably extremely nice. Alas, over the years, age has started to take its course but the hotel is still a decent one. The beds were firm yet not hard. The sheets were white and clean. The bathroom was spacious. The work area was an actual desk with enough electrical outlets that I was not crawling around on the floor looking for them. The room had a nice size flat screen TV, a microwave and mini-fridge. The breakfast was cooked to order and pretty good overall. There is also a Red Lobster and a Texas Burger within a short walk. The down side is that on the second day, I simply couldn't get hot water. It ran for 10 minutes while I was trying to wait for some heat and ended up taking a cold shower. Not a good way to start the day. The Best Western Atrium is also on the far north side of the city and within a block or two of a pretty seedy area. /would I stay here again? Maybe... It's certainly not on my list of memorable stays, but it's not one that I would intentionally avoid either.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anas J, Director of Sales at Atrium North Hotel, responded to this review, August 15, 2013
Thanks for your feedback and we appreciate your detailed opinion about your experience at our hotel. We would like to see you back in your next visit to Austin to make offer you a memorable stay with no hesitation to be your home away from home
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2013

We booked this hotel as we needed a pet friendly hotel in this location. I'm sure there are more updated hotels near this one but not all of them were pet friendly. The lady at the front desk was really friendly and professional. We got a room on the 3rd floor and the room was pretty dated but kept as clean as they can and the room actually smelled fresh when I opened the door. Yes the whole hotel needs updating but for couple nights it was not so bad. The a/c worked and we got hot water. Breakfast was better than some other BW hotels.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anas J, Director of Sales at Atrium North Hotel, responded to this review, August 15, 2013
Thank you Tiia for your feedback, and hope to see you in Austin on your next visit. We are working on updating some areas in the hotel and that is a continuous work we do to better guest satisfaction with keeping our hotel clean and neat.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013 via mobile

1st noticed atrium was hot, then tried A/C in room, didn't work either, went down to front desk, they was going to give us another room but it turned out to really smell like a smokers room, we had a non smoking room, my wife said no way, so being in the A/C business I got the A/C to work only At low speed and low A/C. Then my son took a shower, comes out Pulls top blanket off bed, there was a dead roach on the bed, we all had a hard time sleeping, in the morning went down to have breakfast, all I can say is cold and needs more help. We would have stayed somewhere else but wife and son were doing a class there at that hotel, the room where they were doing the class was HOT, everyone was complaining, and there is no place to eat within walking distance. When I returned, we went out to eat, then back to hotel, we then found another roach, my wife said that's it, we just packed our bags and left, paid for 1 night. I think they should've paid us to stay there, never again will we stay there. That was a nightmare and the drive home felt like it took forever to get home, which is only a 3hr drive.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anas J, Director of Sales at Atrium North Hotel, responded to this review, August 15, 2013
We deeply apologies for the experience you have had in our hotel and we do understand the frustration you must have been through. I am not sure where all these roaches are coming from, as our weekly pest control never missed. We do our best to make sure offer our respected guests the comfortable and enjoyable experience and offer the requested room type. Please contact me if you are coming back to Austin as we would like to compensate your experience and prove to you that we care and work to exceed our guests’ expectations.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

The room at check in had no water for two hours. it was barely hot. The ac unit in the 4th floor meeting room did not work. The key cards were not properly swiping . It is in a bad part of the city. At 11:00pm a fight broke out at the apartment complex across the street. One police car arrived and ten later on. A drunk man kept walking around the parking lot confonting the police and refusing the order to go back inside. Then two men in there 20's who were intoxicated, got into a fistfight at 12:00am. They then in a drunk state of mind kept setting off the car alarm until 1:00am and I had a conference meeting i HAD TO BE UP FOR AT 5:00AM.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anas J, Director of Sales at Atrium North Hotel, responded to this review, August 15, 2013
Thanks Mark for your feedback and I do apologies for the inconvenience has been cause with several unusual events during your stay. The water was cut off for maintenance issue and it took longer than anticipated. Please contact me directly in your next visit to Austin, and we will make sure that you will have a comfortable stay that meet your expectations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Atrium North Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Atrium North Hotel

Address: 7928 Gessner Drive, Austin, TX 78753-6506 (Formerly Best Western)
Location: United States > Texas > Austin
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #108 of 187 Hotels in Austin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Atrium North Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 117
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, BookIt.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Atrium North Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Atrium North Hotel Austin
Best Western Hotel Austin
Best Western Austin
Austin Best Western

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Atrium North Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.