We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Calzone” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Mangieri's Pizza Cafe

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Mangieri's Pizza Cafe
5900 W. Slaughter Lane #490, Austin, TX 78749
(512) 301-0063
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #1,598 of 3,160 Restaurants in Austin
Price range: $21 - $30
Cuisines: Italian, Pizza, Café
Restaurant details
Austin, Texas
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
“Calzone”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2012

They make a good calzone here. The restaurant is clean and well located right at Slaughter and Escarpment, and service is always friendly. When the heat of summer subsides, the outdoor patio is very enjoyable.

Visited May 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

7 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    2
    1
    2
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Austin, Texas
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Best Lunch Place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2012

Pizza, Pasta, Stomboli, or Sandwich with Salad and drink for around $8 and fast service. Lasagna too. We love this place. They cut the pizza in squares. Eat inside or out.

  • Visited March 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Not up to supermarket frozen pizza standards”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2012

Mangieri's has two locations - this review is for the location in Lakeway.

The large "Sicilian" pizza had tasteless crust, no sauce that we could discern, a very thin layer of dry cheese, and vary sparse toppings; one could get a better pizza out of the frozen food aisle at the local grocery store. Seriously.

The restaurant itself seemed reasonably busy, but that was probably due to people imbibing the adult BEvERage of their choice; it sure wasn't for the pizza.

  • Visited March 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Never again!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2012

I had a to go order. Truly awful!! I asked when I ordered how many were in the order of polenta cheese balls. I was told 10. When I arrived at the restaurant I was told it is actually 6. Big difference. They were not willing to add the extra due to their mistake.

The italian beef sandwich was small. Very little cheese if any. The beef was bland and tasted like they had opened up a package of processed luncheon meat.

Definitely not worth the price and I will never go again. To many other good choices around the neighborhood.

  • Visited February 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mangieri's Pizza Cafe also viewed

 

Been to Mangieri's Pizza Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mangieri's Pizza Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.