We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A terrible start to and a horrible customer service response by Marriott Courtyard.” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Courtyard by Marriott Austin Airport

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Courtyard by Marriott Austin Airport to your Saves list
Courtyard by Marriott Austin Airport
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   7809 E. Ben White Blvd, Austin, TX 78741 (South Austin)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Earn Rewards Points
Ranked #44 of 191 Hotels in Austin
Certificate of Excellence 2014
GreenLeadersSilver level
Harlingen
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“A terrible start to and a horrible customer service response by Marriott Courtyard.”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2013

Prior to August 2013 a block of rooms was reserved at this hotel for a wedding. On August 11, 2013 a king-suite was reserved and confirmed for use as a reception suite for the Brides family. Twice prior to September 27th check in, Courtyard sent emails confirming the reservation and clearly stating our requirements to notify them if we would not honor the reservation. Upon arriving we were informed that the Suite was not available as the previous party had requested to stay for another night. We were offered two king rooms (No space to receive guests) or having it the last two days of the reservation. After being told neither was acceptable, they offered a King-Suite at another facility (Now the reception meeting and guest rooms would not be located in one place) the response was they could not force the prior guest to vacate the room. Thank you Courtyard for ruining the biggest day a guest can expect.

Room Tip: If you want to be sure you have a confirmed reservation, do not plan to stay at the Courtyard.
See more room tips
Green Features: I have no idea of environmentally friendly practices are like, but guest friendly practices are totally lacking.
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrew H, Sales Coordinator at Courtyard by Marriott Austin Airport, responded to this review, October 17, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to post about your experience, and we're sorry we weren't able to provide the accomodations you wanted. Unfortunately, the guest who had stayed in the room the night prior to your arrival elected to stay an additional day, and we have a policy not to ask guests to change rooms once checked in. We understood how frustrating this would be for you and made every attempt to resolve this issue upon your arrival by having an elegant welcome gift ready for you, having connecting rooms ready at no extra cost to you, and eventually booking you a King Suite at one of our sister properties for the same rate since none of the rooms in your wedding block had been reserved at our hotel.

We hope you had a wonderful wedding weekend.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

335 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    180
    105
    35
    12
    3
See reviews for
53
39
29
160
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (58)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dallas, Texas
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2013

They are friendly and helpful. It's clean and close to the airport for business travelers. The staff look very professional and the whole look of the hotel I like. My room temp was great and easy to adjust. The other guess were nice and friendly too.
I will stay there again when in Austin.
Curtis

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrew H, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Austin Airport, responded to this review, October 14, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review about the Courtyard Austin Airport! We are glad to see that our goal of being the "cleanest and friendliest hotel in Austin" is being noticed by our guests. We look forward to hosting you during your next visit to Austin!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2013

When I am in Austin for business, the Courtyard - Marriott Airport is my first choice. I just got back from another trip, in Austin, spending 5 nights on this last visit. The location is perfect for me, the rooms are always excellent, and the staff always very helpful and friendly. A special note for Jen, she really is an outstanding individual and knows how to run a business. I have been to many hotel bars, but none really compare to the really great conversations I have had your hotel bar. Jen really knows her customers, makes the clientele feel great, and everyone has a good experience. No need to go out and look for anything else. Thanks, Scott (MN)

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrew H, Sales Coordinator at Courtyard by Marriott Austin Airport, responded to this review, September 27, 2013
Scott, Thank you for taking the time to write a review about our hotel! We appreciate the feedback from you as a guest who has stayed multiple nights! We agree that our location just 1.5 miles from Austin Bergstrom International Airport and 4 miles from downtown Austin is perfect for any out of town traveler! We are glad to see that our mission of being the "cleanest and friendliest hotel in Austin" is being noticed by our guests. As for Jenn, She is a tremendous asset to our team and creates a wonderful atmosphere in the bar!

We look forward to hosting you during your next stay in Austin!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2013

This is a very good hotel. We are Courtyard regulars and love staying at the chain. The staff is very helpful. There are a few eating/drinking establishments, if nothing special, are within walking distance.

This rating could have been 4.5 stars, but I think depending on the time of year the rates can be lofty. I usually pay up to be downtown, but not to be near the airport. The highway surrounding the hotel is also under construction and that causes some delays. However, the hotel rates and the road construction seem to be common for Austin. Austin is one of the fastest growing cities in the country.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrew H, Sales Coordinator at Courtyard by Marriott Austin Airport, responded to this review, September 24, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review about our hotel! We are glad to hear from our loyal Courtyard regulars! I will be sure to let our staff know how helpful they have been to not only you, but all of our guests! We do have construction on highway 71 in front of the hotel, however there are 3 entrances into our property from highway 71 and Riverside to help aleviate any delays. We'd like to invite you back to stay with us during your next visit to Austin, TX!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sandy Springs, Georgia, USA
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2013 via mobile

Convenient for a quick getaway from AUS. Rooms are clean and comfortably appointed. Thankfully there is no Starbucks in the lobby, so there is no need to stand in line for a quick out the door coffee.
Lobby bar served a wide selection of salads and sandwiches.
Jen the barkeep is personable and skilled at her craft. I had the chicken quesadillas to complement the excellent margaritas.
All in all, a Courtyard that is priced competitively, suitably appointed, and an overall good choice.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrew H, Sales Coordinator at Courtyard by Marriott Austin Airport, responded to this review, September 24, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review about our hotel. We are happy to see that our mission of being the cleanest and the friendliest hotel in Austin is being recognized by our guests! Thank you for letting everyone know how wonderful and personable our bartender Jenn is! She does a fantastic job in both the bar and the restaurant. Thank you again for letting us know how we're doing! We look forward to seeing you during your next visit to the Live Music Capital of the World, Austin, TX!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

I chose this hotel due to its convenient location next to the airport and good reviews on Tripadvisor. The location was good; it was right on Ben White Blvd., which connects easily into other major roads and (barring traffic) gets you into downtown in 10-15 minutes, and other places easily as well. Free pickup from the airport, and they also drove me back over the next morning to pick up my rental car and a friend. Everyone at the hotel was extremely friendly and helpful. I didn't use the pool, but it looked fine, if small. The exercise room also looked very nice. The bar/restaurant is nothing to write home about in terms of atmosphere, and I didn't eat here so can't speak to the food. There's not much within walking distance of the hotel (Waffle House, Starbucks, and Jalepeno's - a Mexican restaurant that I did eat at and found to be decent), but tons of options are within an easy drive

Room Tip: My room was near the elevator, which "dings" every time it arrives. It wasn't a huge a...
See more room tips
Green Features: Signs were posted about leaving towels on the racks if you didn't want them laundered. For the most part, though, they were all changed daily.
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrew H, Sales Coordinator at Courtyard by Marriott Austin Airport, responded to this review, September 24, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review about our hotel! We appreciate you sharing the many amentities you were able to see and use during your stay with us! We do have our own onsite bar and restaurant. We also have Jenn that works in the bar and is a great asset that can create a very fun atmosphere as other TripAdvisor reviewers have written about in many other reviews. We are glad that you were able to use our complimentary shuttle service to and from the airport during your stay. We hope to see you during your next visit to Austin!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dnipropetrovsk, Ukraine
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2013

During a Texas heat wave a cool room is necessary. My room was incredibly cool, so cool in fact, that I turned it up! The bed was incredible and the room was comfy. Enjoyed the hotel. One negative: most hotels offer a free breakfast buffet, not here. For almost the same fare you can get at other hotels for free, they wanted a ten spot.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrew H, Sales Coordinator at Courtyard by Marriott Austin Airport, responded to this review, September 24, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review about our property! We appreciate your feedback as it allows us to keep the customer experience at a very high level. We are glad to hear that you enjoyed the bed and the room was comfy! We do not offer a free breakfast, however our breakfast is made to order with omelletes, eggs, bacon, and many other hot items that makes it a great value for under $10! We look forward to hosting you during your next trip to Austin, TX!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Courtyard by Marriott Austin Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard by Marriott Austin Airport

Address: 7809 E. Ben White Blvd, Austin, TX 78741
Location: United States > Texas > Austin > South Austin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#7 Green Hotel in Austin
#32 Business Hotel in Austin
#45 Family Hotel in Austin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard by Marriott Austin Airport 3*
Number of rooms: 147
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Courtyard Austin Airport hotel is located just 2 miles from Austin-Bergstrom Airport. We provide a free airport shuttle and reasonably-priced park and fly service making us a standout among Austin airport hotels. We are also the only hotel in the area that offers cook-to-order eggs and a large variety of healthier breakfast options at the Courtyard Cafe - plus we even have an evening bar serving cocktails, beer and wine (5pm-11pm Mon-Fri). Business travelers appreciate our close proximity to downtown Austin, the convention center and Department of Veterans Affairs. Enjoy a weekend getaway and visit nearby attractions like 6th Street, Zilker Park and Circuit of the Americas. Relax in your room equipped with flat-screen TVs, free WiFi and plush Marriott bedding, or hit the fitness center or indoor pool to stay active. Make the most of your next trip to the Lone Star State at Courtyard Austin Airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Marriott, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Courtyard by Marriott Austin Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard By Marriott Austin Airport Hotel Austin
Courtyard Austin Airport
Austin Courtyard
Austin Marriott

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Courtyard by Marriott Austin Airport, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.